We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous food!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Flannerys Bistro

Flannerys Bistro
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Ballinrobe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European, International, Contemporary, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Westport
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous food!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Visited Flannerys on Thursday evening last and had the most amazing meal. The menu is huge and really hard to pick. There is also a huge range of specials. I had the duck spring rolls and boy were they fab, still talking about them!!! We all had beautiful main courses and desserts also, just mouth watering every single mouthful!!! Definitely worth the trip from westport!! Also our waitress was so nice and helpful, which makes such a difference, she couldn't do enough for us!! Thank you and keep up the good work. We will all be back and have told loads already!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BreegeWestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    33
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic coast
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Had made no booking for Mothers day n the Lough Inn Partry had been filled beyond bursting and unable to accommodate us so we landed at Flannerys. Would they be full - well yes - but if we didn't mind the bar we could squash in. It was that or Supermacs! We sat at the bar and had a wonderful four course Mothers Day meal for under 25 euro each. Thank you Flannerys. Much appreciated! Highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlantic8866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food is outstanding! Don't pass up the chance of eating here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Down visiting friends in Shrule and decided to go to Ballinrobe for evening meal. Friends recommended Flannerys. I had been there years ago but told it was now under new management. There was 5 of us for dinner and we tried everything on the menu.The food was so good we were even eating of each others plates. I have eaten in top class restaurants and have high standards but this surpassed all my expectations. The service was perfect. We had a waitress who explained the food perfectly and without been too intrusive continued to check everything was ok. I would highly recommend this restaurant and cant wait for our own return visit very soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GalwayGirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ooooh la la”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Having gone in with a few friends to have a few drinks, we decided to have a meal as our stomachs were rumbling! What we got was far from average. With a friendly waitress, our food was brought out with bells on and to state the word 'delicious' is a masterpiece of understatement. I had the seafood chowder to start, followed by the juiciest, most tender steak my lips have ever tasted. The chocolate cake with cream was to die for and I was very tempted to order more!

We sat down by the open fire with a whiskey in our hands, the atmosphere very warming and welcoming. The barman, Trevor I think his name was, made us feel very welcome, telling the history of the restaurant and the town itself.

Definitely a place I will be returning to.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Foodlover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An unexpected pleasure..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Just passing through didn't expect fine dining.
En route to Galway, & what a food experience.
This one is exceptional.
Prawn Starter was one of the best I ever ate. To follow this I had Pan fried Scallops, Risotto Cream....My God.

The Chocolate Fondant is cooked to order and most definitely worth the it..fantastic!

The entire experience was thoroughly enjoyable.
Cannot recommend highly enough.

A deserving 5 stars,,,,,

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank irishman43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flannerys Bistro also viewed

 
Ballinrobe, County Mayo
Ballinrobe, County Mayo
 

Been to Flannerys Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing