We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Keel Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Myself and my two sons stayed for one night, our stay was brief as we had places to go early next morning, but I can say our stay was comfortable, Rachel was very hospitable and the food was fine. If you want somewhere to relax whilst away from the hustle and bustle of life for a day or two, I can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    2
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

The Keel Lodge really should be classified as 'budget' accommodation. We stayed in the deluxe double room and the mattress was a touch old and the towels threadbare. Overall the room had the feel of a storage facility : among the mix of old furniture was a large filing cabinet. There were no extras, not even soap or a water glass. The prices though are average for good b&b in Ireland but you really only get budget accommodation which can be found much cheaper elsewhere.
Although the owner is very friendly, I wouldn't recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittyathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelLodge, Manager at Keel Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Keel Lodge is not a 4 star rated hotel nor B&B. The double deluxe room at Keel Lodge offers a very large airy bedroom with 3 windows all offering a beautiful view of the countryside. The bed is a four poster bed fitted with an orthopedic mattress, that I can re-assure other guests is not old. The room also contains a beautiful antique fireplace and feature limestone wall. Many feel this room has the wow factor and it certainly has never been described as budget. It is priced very reasonably and the photos will give the true picture. The ensuite comes with an electric shower and a bath, where there is a cabinet with guest Shampoos and liquid soap dispenser. I leave bottled water and glasses/tea/coffee for guests in the dinning area which I state on the website. I don't leave it in bedrooms. At any point management is there to assist with guest's needs with wine glasses etc.

This B&B is on Aghinish Peninsula and is surrounded by Lough Mask. During the summer months the lake retreats back a little, it is a 5 minute walk to the lake edge. September onwards the lake rises and is directly infront of the house offering lake views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We got a great, friendly welcome from the owner who was very knowledgable about the local area. Our room was very basic, however we didnt expect the bed to collapse with the mattress falling through the base. My friend had to move her mattress onto the floor and sleep on it.Breakfast the following morning was very poor with a very limited choice of cereals. Orange juice was in very short supply. My friend's breakfast contained a hair in it. The previous reviewer complimentated the fact that this b&b is pet friendly however it is very disconcertating when pets are allowed into guest bedroom. The guests in the adjoining room had a large doberman in their room which barked on our return at 1am.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mobroro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelLodge, Owner at Keel Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Customer,

I wished to publically apologise for the accident that happened with the bed while you were staying at my guesthouse. Unfortunately I was only informed the next morning, and I did offer the customer a refund which was not accepted. It is unfortunate that this had to happen and I was unaware of the problem, and this bed had to be replaced.

In terms of cereal choice I always put out a choice of 5, and normally offer customers extra tea/coffee/juice/toast etc. during service to make sure customer's have everything.

regards,

Keel Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Our welcome at keel lodge by Raychel the owner and all round lovely person was more than we expected, we booked it through Keel Lodge website as the place looked so picturesque,however the website pics did not do it justice, we got there at sunset and wow did we get a sunset, magic.. We were shown to our gorgeous room and it was as warm and welcoming as our host..We both slept so well we woke refreshed and ready for the day, with only the sound of the birds outside our window, a sound that is very rare in city centre Dublin. After the most amazing of breakfasts, I would go so far as to say, the best ever, a range and choice second to none. Wow! We headed for a stroll around the beautiful lough Mask, just such a lovely day out in nature, boats bobbed on the water and as keen photographers we got some great shots..I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to unwind and relax and be treated to such hospitality that we have already booked our return trip, except next time we are bringing our dogs, as Raychel is a keen dog lover and her gorgeous dog Oscar welcomed us as much as she did, there are not many places we can take our dogs which has prevented us from weekends away before this, now that we have discovered Keel lodge, we will be basing our selves there and discovering the rest of magical Mayo. Well done Raychel and keep up the good work. Thank you so much again for such a memorable experience.
Rehana & Sean Dublin

Room Tip: All of them..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamhoo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballinrobe hotels
0.8 mi away
Woodview House B&B
Woodview House B&B
#2 of 3 in Ballinrobe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.1 mi away
Friars Quarter House
Friars Quarter House
#1 of 3 in Ballinrobe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Valkenburg
The Valkenburg
#2 of 4 in Ballinrobe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Devenish Lodge B&B
Devenish Lodge B&B
#1 of 4 in Ballinrobe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Keel Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keel Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Keel Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: Castlebar Road | Aghinish Peninsula, Ballinrobe, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballinrobe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Ballinrobe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keel Lodge is a restored fishing and hunting lodge located on the shores of Lough Mask. Their resident chef not only offers an extensive menu for breakfast but also offers an excellent 3 course dinner menu to guests using all locally sourced products and vegetables from their garden. They can organise on-site cookery workshop, fishing, hiking, golfing, horse riding, all within close distance. They accommodate individuals, couples, families and pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Keel Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing