We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place for lunch by the sea + you won't leave hungry!”
Review of Taravie Hotel

Taravie Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Courtown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taravie Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Courtown B&B and Inns
Mael Pestivien
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely place for lunch by the sea + you won't leave hungry!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Provides really good fresh food, with ample choices and very reasonable prices. The bar/restaurant is very friendly as you would expect in Ireland, and it is open 7 days a week. You get nice large portions, or if you don't want too much, they will do a small portion of almost every dish at a reduced price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gazabal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    13
    6
    7
    9
See reviews for
20
19
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was a lovely hotel right in the harbour. It was close to everything and had the best food in the area. Friendly, helpful staff who treated us like family. Breakfast was in a sunny room and was delightful. It had a fun bar right in the hotel, but was very quiet at night. (Closed at 11:00)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helpfultraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Ignorant service in the bar when an issue with credit cards arose. The staff do not take the view that the customer is always right and informed us that we were delaying them when we were trying to pay for drinks.
Steer clear of this ancient place of musty history.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Occasionaldiner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Courtown hotels

Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Taravie hotel is excellently located in the centre of Courtown village overlooking the beautiful harbour. Unfortunately thats probably the only good news to report about this tired and neglected hotel. The rooms are small, damp and smelly. The carpeting throughout is very old, stained and and in dire need of replacement. The staff are friendly and efficient however do expect to be asked to pay for meals and drinks before they are served! (This is obviously a response to people leaving without paying so in fairness not really the hotels fault.) This hotel has been a traditional favourite of weekenders from Dublin for many many years but in this modern age of brand spanking new hotels with every facility imaginable to compete with the poor old Taravie needs a major overhaul. Maybe best to let this poor dinosaur fade into history. :(

Room Tip: The Seafield Hotel is 5mins drive away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 401MichaelF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We have stayed in the Taravie many times, it is my most favourite place to stay, the atmosphere is so homely and welcoming anywhere. Its the place where everyone knows your name. The food is second to none, great taste, quality, portions and service! We stay as often as we can, hope to stay next month.Like a home away from home

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Siobhan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

stayed for a weekend - family run hotel - bedrooms need a revamp but the food,bar and hospitality were second to none. A real treat asyou kinda feel like on of the family.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We were in Courtown for 4 nights, and were staying someplace else but ate every night at Tara Vie, great service, food and atmosphere!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtown
0.1 mi away
Courtown Hotel
Courtown Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gorey
106 reviews
2.1 mi away
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort
3.2 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa
2.5 mi away
Marlfield House Hotel
22.9 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taravie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taravie Hotel

Property: Taravie Hotel
Address: Courtown Harbour, Courtown, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Courtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Courtown
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing