We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,076)
Filter reviews
1,076 results
Traveler rating
762
199
60
31
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
762
199
60
31
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean suite kids club tennis courts east restaurant indigo restaurant jetty bar coffee machine beach service water sports second bedroom spa treatments lunch and dinner all inclusive option ground floor guest services management team little touches
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,076 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2019 via mobile

Almost without exception The Carlisle Bay is a truly great hotel. The setting is lovely. The views correspondingly spectacular. The sunsets delightful. Service is good too.

The suites are spacious, well equipped and attractive - plus RIGHT on the beach. We eat in three restaurants and the food was good, particularly in East.

When we were there a Russian oligarch came to visit with his six staff. A novel experience to watch their interaction.

We would happily go back; enough said.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank alanc949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamillaSukumaran, Executive Assistant Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2019

Dear alanc949,

What a pleasure to read your review, thank you! We, as a team, are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and delighted that you think you may come back one day.

We certainly hope we are able to welcome you back at some point - we cant promise oligarchs but we do promise our warm and sincere service.

With best wishes,
Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2019

We had a wonderful holiday at the Carlisle Bay in Antigua. The room was beautiful, the staff kindly remembered us from the previous year's visit and made us very welcome. The lobby and bar are beautiful and the kids club is excellent. The food is delicious although sometimes the breakfast can take a little while as the restaurant got pretty busy at 9am. They take great care about dietary requirements. The beach is beautiful and you can rent kayaks and paddleboards, and when it is working, a pedalo. It wasn't when we were there unfortunately. The only irritation came when we went to the watersports hut to hire kayaks. The guys there were an exception to the usual standard of interested and committed staff. It took a while for them to acknowledge our presence and there was a distinct lack of the charm and politeness that we had experienced elsewhere in the resort. They did help us but it wasn't a pleasure to interact with them. This was the only disappointment in an otherwise lovely stay.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misbournelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamillaSukumaran, Executive Assistant Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2019

Dear misbournelady,

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at Carlisle Bay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the resort and particularly the service from the team. I have noted that the watersports team did not provide our normal levels of service and of course will address this with them, I do apologise.

We do hope that we are able to welcome you back to Carlisle Bay again at some point, and will certainly ensure that we have a warm and welcoming watersports team, equipped with a working pedalo!

With best wishes and appreciation for your feedback,
Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2019 via mobile

Our overwhelming reflection from our holiday was just how friendly everyone was. Always time for a quick chat even when serving. Big call outs for William and Navin in the restaurants - we thought management serving was great leadership but both were just so amiable even when busy. We loved Latisha, Colleen and Denathlee - lovely ladies. Jason in the bar (we called him Jason.com as he was full of knowledge) couldn’t have been more pleasant. Always remembering our order and having it ready. Jerome always brought us a coffee on the beach and afternoon tea spot on time. Overall we felt everyone was ahead of the game. It made us feel special.

The beach is beautiful as are the gardens. Well tended and pristine every day. We loved using the beach every day. I went snorkelling too which is worth it but we’re not talking Indian Ocean here - Cades reef is rather a sad place.

We enjoyed our room, we took a top floor and had a beach view at the front and mountain view at the back and we loved being able to leave the curtains and shutters open. The room was clean and well fitted. We occasionally missed out on supplies but it’s easy to call housekeeping.

We found the dining excellent. At the end of the day this is a hotel - albeit far from cheap. The quality of food was consistently good - we loved East- I’ve reviewed East separately. We treated ourselves to running through the wine list which is good / expensive but good!

We used the Spa twice and had excellent treatments- my only comment is that the Spa is starting to look a little tired. If you’re looking for swish this isn’t. It has that (apologies to my American cousins) rather American feel - it’s about the treatments but not about The Experience.

So what didn’t we like. Our first ten days were tranquil and calm but sadly we missed that it was children’s holiday in the US for our last days. In the first week we relaxed by the pool every day. In the second it was a hell hole of screaming kids.

We physically noticed that service whilst still friendly slowed when the hotel was full plus we had one night where only one restaurant was open and it was crammed and noisy.

So overall a wonderful stay but choose your time carefully. The whole place transformed when there were kids everywhere! Certainly I wouldn’t ever want to go back during school holidays but we’d love to return when it’s quieter.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank R399FGpeterh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamillaSukumaran, Executive Assistant Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2019

Dear R399FGpeterh,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your time at Carlisle Bay, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. And a special thank you for mentioning the team members who really made a great difference to your holiday, I will be sure to thank them personally for their super service.

We do appreciate your comments and understand that it can seem different during the school holidays - if you do consider coming back again one day please do let us know and we can recommend the best dates to avoid the busier school holiday weeks.

We do hope we are able to welcome you back soon.

With thanks again and best wishes,
Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2019 via mobile



The view, the beach, and the food are the strongest assets for the Carlisle. There several other things we enjoyed during our 3 night stay. The staff will go out of their way to assist you. All you have to do is stand still and look confused or uncertain and someone will not only help you but guide you to what you are looking for.

Okay, then on to the a few minor problems. When receiving a tour of the facilities, our host pointed out the several places where food is served, but forgot to tell us it is best to make reservations and to point out not all food serving places were open every day. We ended up not being able to eat where we wanted to as a result. And although the food was excellent, the beef was over tenderized.

The Carlisle does not offer transportation to and from the airport as do most other resorts on the island. They will provide a taxi at an additional cost of $47.

We were there during Valentine’s Day and trying to make reservations was maddening as we were told conflicting information depending on who spoke to us last.

After receiving a complimentary tennis lesson I was so impressed that I made arrangement for a private lesson. I had to re-schedule due to a severe case of diarrhea, but no one showed up. (The gift shop that supplied some drugs was not opened as scheduled.) I pass this off lightly though due to the excellent instruction given previously. In fact it was one of the highlights of our stay.

Date of stay: February 2019
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamillaSukumaran, Executive Assistant Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2019

Dear Thor13,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience at Carlisle Bay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Further to your comments, we are reviewing the operating hours of the restaurants to make it easier for all guests to dine where they wish and I am sorry that this was an inconvenience for you, my apologies. I am also sorry about the tennis pro not coming as scheduled and I will certainly investigate what happened.

We hope we are able to welcome you back one day soon.

Kind regards,
Camilla



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019 via mobile

Carlisle bay is the perfect bay on Antigua. Sand and water there are a 10 plus. Great restaurant on the beach. The resort is right on the beach and you are steps away from the sea. The resort is first rate.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank gg-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamillaSukumaran, Executive Assistant Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2019

Dear gg-7,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Carlisle Bay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the resort and the beautiful bay.

We hope that you are able to come back to Carlisle Bay again soon.

With best wishes,
Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews