We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,089)
Filter reviews
1,089 results
Traveler rating
767
202
63
32
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
767
202
63
32
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean suite kids club tennis courts east restaurant indigo restaurant jetty bar coffee machine beach service water sports second bedroom spa treatments four seasons lunch and dinner guest services all inclusive option ground floor management team
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 1,089 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2016

We visited Carlisle Bay for a week with our teenagers in early July. From start to finish of our special holiday was excellent. The hotel is set on the most beautiful, calm and peaceful bay and everyday was gorgeous. Most morning on my sea swim I saw starfish and turtles and the beach is immaculate with comfy sunbeds and cool boxes for water. Every meal was superb with staff and management doing everything possible to make sure we were looked after and nothing was every too much trouble. The gym and spa was first class too. We shall definitely return to CB soon!

Room tip: All rooms are stunning!
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SusieF233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlisleBay, General Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Dear Susie F,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review on your recent experience staying at Carlisle Bay.

I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your family had a lovely time while on vacation especially your husband who celebrated his 50th Birthday.

It was a pleasure having all of you here, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Carlisle Bay in the future.

Kind regards,

John Rogers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2016 via mobile

I have to say I have been back numerous times to this hotel worth and without my 3 boys. I like the fact it's low key, has a stunning beach, the staff are friendly and helpful. I would suggest if you do stay to venture out and go into English Harbour, go into the dockyard there, visit Shirley heights, go sailing with Ondeck it grab lunch at cloggys. Def worth a day out.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlisleBay, General Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2016

Dear Kay A,

On behalf of our staff and management team, thank you so much for returning to Carlisle Bay and for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor.

Antigua has a lot to offer and we are pleased that you were able to experience some of it.

We are glad to learn that our friendly and attentive staff made a lasting impression and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

John Rogers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2016 via mobile

Carlisle bay has a wonderful setting, it virtually has the beach to itself, and all the rooms are near the beach. As the beach is sheltered by headlands on both sides the sea is completely calm. The beach is also very large for the low number of guests, and there are turtles in the bay.

We are a family of 7 and stayed in one of the Carlisle suites, the week of 15th August. We hadn't realised before going that the hotel closes for hurricane season the following week. This meant that the hotel emptied out during the week of both guests and staff. The service did seem to deteriorate during the week perhaps for this reason.

A few things that we felt let the hotel down are:

- There are lots of flies, which bite, on the beach before about 10am and from about 4pm. I think this is due to there being a mangrove behind the hotel and it made sitting on the beach uncomfortable.

- Prices in the restaurants were excessive. After tax and service, a bottle of water $11, a cheeseburger at lunch $44, rice side dish $25. The food was fine but nothing special.

- We thought the service did not match the prices, and the staff weren't very amicable. Some examples are; at breakfast when we arrived we often had to wait 10 minutes to order coffee and juice (which isn't at the buffet), despite the restaurant being almost empty. We often seemed to receive a standard amount despite being a group of 7, eg 2 bottles of water in the room, 4 rolls at dinner, whilst they would bring more if you asked, they should get this right first time in a 5 star resort, and we had to ring reception almost everyday to ask for our minibar to be stocked with water.

Overall it was a great week, but its a shame the hotel lets itself down in a few ways that could be easily rectified.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank timp813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlisleBay, General Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2016

Dear Mr. Tim P

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate the feedback that you have given to the resort which we will review as a team and ensure the necessary corrective measures in place where possible to prevent recurrence.

We are delighted that you overall you had a great week at Carlisle Bay and would love to welcome you and your family back to our beautiful resort.

Kind Regards,
John Rogers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

On my second visit to the hotel, it did not disappoint. Great attentive service. Food excellent as was the whole experience. Most be one of the finest beach resorts anywhere. The staff cannot do enough for you. Whilst all were good the hard working and ever attentive Camion and the ever present Tony on the front desk deserve special mention.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlisleBay, General Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2016

Dear Bob P,

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased that you were once again able to experience the beautiful beach, great attentive service and 'relaxation of the highest level'. Your kind words to our hardworking, engaging employees Camion & Tony will be truly appreciated.

Thank you for returning to Carlisle Bay, we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
John Rogers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016

We stayed at Carlisle Bay at the start of June. We stayed in an Ocean View Suite which we were really impressed with, the suite was a great size and design with a lovely lounge area down a couple of steps from the bedroom area. His and hers sinks in the bathroom with a separate toilet and shower.

The hotel was only 45% full for our one week stay so everywhere was quiet and sleepy, which was perfect if you like a peaceful holiday. Always plenty of good quality rattan sunbeds on the beach, with coolboxes left underneath the umbrellas which were topped up with bottled water, I thought this was a great idea and many Hotels could benefit from this idea throughout the world. Fruit kebabs and smoothies were bought round in the mornings and lunch could also be served on the beach if you wanted to stay relaxing on your sunlounger, courtesy afternoon Tea were offered on the beach too.

We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast each morning I can honestly say it was one of the best full English Breakfasts I have ever had abroad! I loved the fact that you ordered from a Menu which included lovely fresh smoothies every day, and also gorgeous Eggs Benedict which you could also have with smoked Salmon (delicious). The only buffet items were continental breakfast, cereals, fruit and pastries (exactly as it should be in a 5* hotel). We absolutely loved watching the Humming Birds at Breakfast and the butterflies which were everywhere on the beach, not sure if this was the time of the year, but so lovely to see.

We really enjoyed our evening meals at Indigo, the restaurant would so benefit from some light background music on the evenings where there is no live music, especially with the hotel being only ½ full it would have made all the difference to the atmosphere. The singers we did see throughout our stay though were excellent. Jason who manned the Bar area in the evenings was a huge plus to Carlisle Bay, very engaging, professional and always interested in your day and recommending things to do throughout your stay in Antigua.

We were really disappointed with our Meal at East, we had it recommended before we went, whether the Chef had an off night I don’t know, but it certainly wasn’t a good representation of Thai food that I have had, more hot than flavoursome, I suspect we might have just been spoilt by holidaying in Thailand and Vietnam and good quality Thai restaurants in the UK. Again like Indigo the restaurant would very much benefit from some light background music.

We went to Sheer Rock for two evening Meals, the food and cocktails were amazing.
Also we enjoyed at day at Jacqui O’s on the Beach, I highly recommend it for a change of scenery, gorgeous food and cocktails too.

All in all a wonderful Hotel, which would benefit from some very small minor tweaks, I would definitely recommend Carlisle Bay to family and friends who enjoy a relaxing holiday. I went to Antigua years ago and it certainly hasn’t been ruined and still feels very authentic.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tinaarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlisleBay, General Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2016

Dear Tinaarena,

Thank you for your thorough review on Trip Advisor.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us that you are able to share with family and friends. We will communicate your kind words with our star bartender Jason, I'm sure he will be delighted to hear this.

We look forward to welcoming you back and your friends and family to Carlisle Bay Resort.

John Rogers,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews