We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,056)
Filter reviews
1,056 results
Traveler rating
748
196
58
31
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
748
196
58
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean suite kids club tennis courts east restaurant indigo restaurant coffee machine jetty bar beach service second bedroom fruit kebabs water sports spa treatments main bedroom day bed lunch and dinner beautiful bay ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
517 - 522 of 1,056 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at Carlisle Bay in October 2013 for a family holiday with our 4-year old son. Although we chose a super-busy week, with plenty of other families from the UK holidaying, the resort never felt too crowded - we always found space on the beach or in the restaurants.
The location of the hotel is superb - a wonderful crescent bay with a lovely, sandy beach. We had a room on the second floor and the view was fabulous! We also liked the fact that our room consisted of two separate bedrooms - ideal when travelling with children. The decor of the rooms is modern and linear, but starting to feel a little tired and not terribly inspired.
The facilities were very good - the kids' club was great, and the staff very friendly. My husband had great tennis lessons - coacg Gloucester was amazing! The spa, on the other hand, did not live up to the standard of other luxury resorts, lacking in facilities and with average quality treatments. The food was delicious, both in the main restaurant as well as in the asian one as well as the informal one by the pool. Overall a lovely stay...but the hotel could do with a little "facelift" and the spa definitely needs upgrading.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank F_Pinto_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We went the week of Thanksgiving and stayed in a beach front family suit which was large, clean 2 bedroom suite - more importantly right on the beach. In fact we were so close that we could sit on our couch and watch our kids swim in the perfectly clam warm ocean. Our 2 girls (9&6) met a bunch of other kids and they spent some time in the kids club which is really set up for younger children but the wonderful staff set up some fun activities for them such as jewelry making, cookie decorating and their favorite tubing in the water - oh, they also set up a tennis lesson with the pro all free of charge. This is a lovely small resort and it was very simple to get around. They have amazing beach service especially for the Caribbean I was very impressed. The afternoon tea was one of the highlights of the day so don't skip that. The management really went out of the way to cater to us and make sure we were happy they even set up a wonderful kids dinner every night at 5:30 with a nice selection of items to choose from. We loved playing tennis and basketball which all the courts are well taken care of. The pool is not one of those amazing huge Caribbean pools that we have seen elsewhere but with a perfect beach you really don't miss that. They do have a movie theater set up next to the pool and they will gladly put on a movie if asked at any time of the day the location next to the pool was brilliant as you could be on the plush lounge chairs and your kids are safely inside watching a movie.

We did the free snorkel cruise which was a bit scary since the water was very rough and the current strong so we got the attention of our guide and he made sure to take us back to the boat. We also did water skiing and the boat operator was very patient with my 9 year old who had never tried it before. They have a fun zip line course about 15 mins away from the property that was very fun too.

The only slight negative was not the fault of Carlisle Bay but some grumpy old people that did not like kids and belittle them from making too much noise. One night in the restaurant they were is a section which is outside that we did not know thay had 2 couples having dinner - once we were made aware of this we quickly removed them and apologized but the grumpy old couple were irate and wanted them skinned and hung out to dry. Clearly they had a few too many drinks but other than that experience we had an amazing vacation and we look forward to going back next year! We did the all-inclusive and it was worth it.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spaghetti1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Carlisle Bay manages to cater to adults and children and we spent a full day there on Sunday with 6 adults and 6 children under 6.

We were pampered by the attentive staff on the beach, looked after at lunch and had great fun with the water sports guys doing kayaking, hobby cats and paddle boarding. My sister in law and I both has spa treatments which were fabulous. As the sun went down we wished we could stay. The manager Elza was exceptionally helpful and organised everything. I highly recommend their day passes or staying at Carlisle Bay. We will be back!

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunnyAntigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I must admit, I had my doubts when booking this hotel only due to the child friendly nature of the hotel, but I was very pleasantly surprised and this was not an issue at all, in fact this was one of the best holidays I had and the fact that the hotel had guests of 3 generations in some cases added to the warmth of the place. What made our stay at Carlisle Bay memorable, however, was the warmth of the staff and their wonderful level of service, it is difficult to single out indivduals as everyone was great, but a big thank you goes to Barrymore on the beach and executive chefs Daniel and Sebastian for accommodating my wife's special diet and producing such wonderful, varied, delicious meals.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Baseloski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Having been to Antigua in 2011 and unable to experience Carlisle Bay Hotel, we arranged a day out for our daughter's 18th birthday. We had confirmation from the concierge that they were expecting us, booking in June, and giving six months notice for our December visit.
All was good on arrival. We checked in, got shown where to change for swimming and a member of staff settled us on the beach with towels, sun beds and an ice cooler. After one and a half hours we were asked by a gentleman to remove ourselves from HIS sun beds. Naturally we were apologetic to him but explained that we were given the position by a member of beach staff. The chap kindly tried to find us alternative sun beds but were told it could take up to an hour to find us a place, as the beach was now full. We were left standing there with no staff member trying to accommodate us in any way or apologise for the embarrassment it caused. We had a table booked in Indigo, however, even the reception didn't try to persuade us to stay. We therefore decided to leave Carlisle Bay. A huge disappointment for us all. We had been recommended to book the visit by numerous friends and family. Sadly, for us, Carlisle Bay didn't live up to it's expected high standard. We sent an email to the manager highlighting our disappointment and as yet have not received any acknowledgment from himself or his concierge who confirmed our booking.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Service
7  Thank Cara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews