We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Nearby Hotels
Hermitage Bay(Saint Mary's)
$1,200
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$144
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Curtain Bluff Resort(Saint Mary's)
$832
$700
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$456
$442
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Ridge Resort(Jolly Harbour)
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$236
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Galley Bay Resort & Spa(Five Islands Village)
$477
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Tamarind Hills(Saint Mary's)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,016)
Filter reviews
1,016 results
Traveler rating
718
191
57
30
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
718
191
57
30
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean suitekids clubtennis courtsindigo restauranteast restaurantcoffee machinejetty barbeach servicethe general managersecond bedroomfruit kebabsspa treatmentswater sportsday bedmain bedroomfamilies with young childrenlunch and dinner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
478 - 483 of 1,016 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We went the week of Thanksgiving and stayed in a beach front family suit which was large, clean 2 bedroom suite - more importantly right on the beach. In fact we were so close that we could sit on our couch and watch our kids swim in the perfectly clam warm ocean. Our 2 girls (9&6) met a bunch of other kids and they spent some time in the kids club which is really set up for younger children but the wonderful staff set up some fun activities for them such as jewelry making, cookie decorating and their favorite tubing in the water - oh, they also set up a tennis lesson with the pro all free of charge. This is a lovely small resort and it was very simple to get around. They have amazing beach service especially for the Caribbean I was very impressed. The afternoon tea was one of the highlights of the day so don't skip that. The management really went out of the way to cater to us and make sure we were happy they even set up a wonderful kids dinner every night at 5:30 with a nice selection of items to choose from. We loved playing tennis and basketball which all the courts are well taken care of. The pool is not one of those amazing huge Caribbean pools that we have seen elsewhere but with a perfect beach you really don't miss that. They do have a movie theater set up next to the pool and they will gladly put on a movie if asked at any time of the day the location next to the pool was brilliant as you could be on the plush lounge chairs and your kids are safely inside watching a movie.

We did the free snorkel cruise which was a bit scary since the water was very rough and the current strong so we got the attention of our guide and he made sure to take us back to the boat. We also did water skiing and the boat operator was very patient with my 9 year old who had never tried it before. They have a fun zip line course about 15 mins away from the property that was very fun too.

The only slight negative was not the fault of Carlisle Bay but some grumpy old people that did not like kids and belittle them from making too much noise. One night in the restaurant they were is a section which is outside that we did not know thay had 2 couples having dinner - once we were made aware of this we quickly removed them and apologized but the grumpy old couple were irate and wanted them skinned and hung out to dry. Clearly they had a few too many drinks but other than that experience we had an amazing vacation and we look forward to going back next year! We did the all-inclusive and it was worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spaghetti1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Carlisle Bay manages to cater to adults and children and we spent a full day there on Sunday with 6 adults and 6 children under 6.

We were pampered by the attentive staff on the beach, looked after at lunch and had great fun with the water sports guys doing kayaking, hobby cats and paddle boarding. My sister in law and I both has spa treatments which were fabulous. As the sun went down we wished we could stay. The manager Elza was exceptionally helpful and organised everything. I highly recommend their day passes or staying at Carlisle Bay. We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunnyAntigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I must admit, I had my doubts when booking this hotel only due to the child friendly nature of the hotel, but I was very pleasantly surprised and this was not an issue at all, in fact this was one of the best holidays I had and the fact that the hotel had guests of 3 generations in some cases added to the warmth of the place. What made our stay at Carlisle Bay memorable, however, was the warmth of the staff and their wonderful level of service, it is difficult to single out indivduals as everyone was great, but a big thank you goes to Barrymore on the beach and executive chefs Daniel and Sebastian for accommodating my wife's special diet and producing such wonderful, varied, delicious meals.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Baseloski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Having been to Antigua in 2011 and unable to experience Carlisle Bay Hotel, we arranged a day out for our daughter's 18th birthday. We had confirmation from the concierge that they were expecting us, booking in June, and giving six months notice for our December visit.
All was good on arrival. We checked in, got shown where to change for swimming and a member of staff settled us on the beach with towels, sun beds and an ice cooler. After one and a half hours we were asked by a gentleman to remove ourselves from HIS sun beds. Naturally we were apologetic to him but explained that we were given the position by a member of beach staff. The chap kindly tried to find us alternative sun beds but were told it could take up to an hour to find us a place, as the beach was now full. We were left standing there with no staff member trying to accommodate us in any way or apologise for the embarrassment it caused. We had a table booked in Indigo, however, even the reception didn't try to persuade us to stay. We therefore decided to leave Carlisle Bay. A huge disappointment for us all. We had been recommended to book the visit by numerous friends and family. Sadly, for us, Carlisle Bay didn't live up to it's expected high standard. We sent an email to the manager highlighting our disappointment and as yet have not received any acknowledgment from himself or his concierge who confirmed our booking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
7  Thank Cara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was a vacation to be remembered. Not just for the beautiful property, in a very discrete and discerning oceanside location; nor for the first-rate service and food in the main restaurant; nor for the sunset hatha yoga on the famous jetty; nor for the scuba-diving just a few minutes off the coast; but most importantly, for the PEOPLE. Omarie & Winston greeted our arrival with big broad unending smiles, and seemed to keep it on throughout our entire stay. We didn't feel like we were in a hotel, but in someone's large home, as invited guests. They took better care of us than even our own families (LOL!). And Elza, what can I say, she's the manager, but you couldn't tell - and she was FABULOUS! To my wife, it seemed like a "sister" from another mother. We bumped into her a lot, and she gave us great tips on where to shop, where to explore, and just what to do. We were different from some of the other guests - adventurers if you will. We rented a car, that was dropped off and picked up directly at the hotel. We explored parts of the island and met several other Omarie's and Winston's wherever we went. To us, a vacation is not only about relaxing in a wonderfully welcoming environment, but it's about meeting new people, in THEIR environment, and getting to know a place that is beautiful not only on the outside but on the inside as well. The Carlisle Bay Resort was the perfect place for us to get that balance of deep relaxation and adventurous exploration. It was only 5 days, but it accomplished what we had hoped - it felt like 2 weeks! We will most certainly be back no doubt, and we look forward in earnest to the BIG SMILES and hospitality of everyone at the resort. But of course, Omarie, Winston, and Elza will forever be remembered. We LOVE you guys! :)

Room Tip: If you're like us, and traveling as a couple, the resort will place you in an area far way from the family accommodations. This way, you get peace and quiet, and the opportunity to relax in the way you'd like. That's also right next to the jetty and the watersports center, which makes it convenient as well. The breakfast is OUTSTANDING. The dinner in the main restaurant was EXCELLENT as well.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patanjalic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews