We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$422
$373
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$366
$170
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$90
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoneyhill Studio Apartments(Saint Mary's)(Great Value!)
$120
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victory Villas Antigua(Bolans)(Great Value!)
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Sugar Ridge Resort(Jolly Harbour)
$188
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
COCOS Hotel Antigua(Jolly Harbour)
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$317
$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HBK Villas(Saint Mary's)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,043)
Filter reviews
1,043 results
Traveler rating
739
193
58
31
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
739
193
58
31
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean suitekids clubtennis courtseast restaurantindigo restaurantjetty barbeach servicethe general managersecond bedroomfruit kebabsspa treatmentswater sportsasian foodday bedmain bedroombeautiful bayfamilies with young children
Filter
Updating list...
517 - 522 of 1,043 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Just returned from 8 nights at Carlisle Bay having been three times previousand have to say it never disappoints. Super setting with the friendliest of staff who make the stay absolutely first class.
If we were to be picky the pastry chef needs to up his or her game a notch and have to say too many guest now try and reserve the sunbeds which has never happened before and hope both little flaws get ironed out by the truly super team they have there. A wonderful time and a truly super experience had once again. We will be going back in the future I'm sure.

Room Tip: Ocean Suite at First or Second Floor level is a must to appreciate the view every morning.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinJacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We loved this hotel the location on the beach in heavenly and the rooms are spacious and well equipped. The staff are friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is very relaxed. the hotel is great for families or couples. The food is very good indeed although expensive. $8 for a bottle of water at every meal adds up. and our meals never came to less than $80 for 2 of us however little we ate, but we were on a bed and breakfast deal.

There was a little touching up that the room could have used in certain areas for instance around light switches, and the glass doors in the bathroom were not clean and had rather unsightly hand prints on them.

The hotel has a great dvd collection and every day we borrowed a movie and the dvd player and large flat screen tv in the room were easy to use and good quality. The air conditioning worked well in the room and it was often too cold. the terrace with a daybed were lovely and we used it every day.

We were recommended to go the 'jump up' and we went and had a great time, every visitor should go to this. We also went on the complimentary 3 hour hike up to Signal Point with a hotel guide and this was a great chance to experience the rainforest and ask questions, and get the best view on the island.

The hotel lends bikes for free which we used, and the spa is lovely but expensive.

The free water sports are great and I strongly recommend the complimentary snorkelling trip that the hotel offers at a nearby reef. We saw two stingray and an octopus as well as many fish and the sea is the warmest you will experience.

The hotel gives a complimentary afternoon tea every day which is lovely too, in the room or on the beach, wherever you like.

The pizza restaurant by the pool was nice but service was very slow although we were offered free cocktails to make up for the delay.

The hotel gave us fresh coconuts which was a nice touch.

difficult to find fault overall this place is great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielSMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We found exactly what we were looking for - stunning, unspoiled setting, warm, turqouise waters with calm surf for young kids, easy access to beach and services through a lush, tropical setting, As an architect and parent I appreciated the stunning main buildings which were so inviting and serene, framing the views and landscape. There were so many special spots to sit, read, play with kids, have a drink, converse. The layout works so well in putting families together with closer beach and restaurant access, while couples had a bit more distance and space. Equally the pool had much needed shade if the beach became too hot, and was centrally placed but nicely hidden behind the foliage. It never felt crowded and the clientele was well-balanced, you could dress up or down and easily find your place. The spa had one of the nicest treatment rooms I've ever seen and the massage I had was perfect for me. The tennis courts too, were lush and tucked away while still being in the middle of everything. The staff was courteous and always seemed to remember our name and even room number. When my daughter got sick they worked quickly to help us get what we needed from a local pharmacy. The water sports kept us entertained, we took a boat tour that was fantastic, hiked into the hills, took acouple of driving excursions, but mostly found ourselves enjoying being on the beach at any hour of the day, getting to know our neighbors from around the world.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is our second visit to Carlisle Bay. We like modern architecture and design so we really like the resort's looks. Some would say this is a better fit for New York City then the Caribbean but we don't mind it. We usually stay at Curtain Bluff and it is an amazing resort but also more expensive so I am trying not to judge it by that standard. I am comparing it more with resorts like Beaches, Club Med, Malliouhana and Spice Island.

The dinner menu at the beach restaurant is the biggest downfall of this resort. The food is average and the menu uninspired. The Thai/Japanese restaurant is very good so it keeps the overall rating of the resort at very good. The pizza at the pool side restaurant and salads are as good as being in Italy so another huge plus. The staff are slow as molasses so order early and don't be in a rush. A pizza lunch will take 90 minutes to 2 hours from start to finish. Expect to wait 20-30 minutes for any drink order even if you go up to the bar and order it yourself.

We really enjoyed the water sports staff. The bay is a lot of fun for sailing. Great wind but not too big surf. Didn't really care for some of the extra charges, like yoga classes. Seems like a small thing since we were there on the all inclusive pricing. At least they don't charge for the snorkel trip anymore.

This is a very popular resort for guests with small children and babies. So if you are a couple and trying to get away this may not be the resort for you, at least not in November. We had our 8 and 13 year old with us so lots of well behaved kids don't bother us in the least.

The all inclusive rate is a very good value for a resort of this calibre. If they fix up the dinner menu and speed up the service then it will be hard to beat this place.

Room Tip: We were in the second floor family suites. Great rooms. Large with a couch and separate bedroom for the kids.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foodseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We came to Carlisle Bay for a comfortable and relaxed vacation and found what we were looking for. The location is ideal for a resort: the beautiful beach, lush green tropical vegetation in the background and a calm bay for good swimming. Our room was certainly large enough for two with a nice and generous balcony. It had all the amenities one needs for a vacation, we particularily liked the daily fresh fruit, the espresso machine and its good coffee. WiFi was available in the room, but there were occasional issues with speed and bandwidth. The resort activities were good, already the complimentary tours were impressive. We loved the snorkeling tour to the reef and found the visit to the gardens and the greenhouse a nice idea. Our impression of the kitchen in all restaurants was good standard and the breakfast was definitely rich. At the prices we would have welcomed still more variety although the daily specials were interesting. The afternoon tea was a nice touch. Most important for us was the very friendly and competent service. It was just as personal as one would expect in such an excellent resort and was clearly trained to be practised by all the staff. If we are again in need of a break in a really comfortable and peaceful place, we'll come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews