We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As great as ever!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Saint Mary's
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“As great as ever!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was our third trip to Carlisle Bay with our three children. We were upgraded to a three-bedroom, three bath beach suite (amazing) and greeted by a staff that not only seems to know us well, but actually likes us. The staff from top to bottom couldn't do enough for us and they all treat our children like they are their own. What we also enjoy about this hotel is that they are always looking to improve, even on the little things. Once again, the resort was full, but it never seems that way and the personal service is reaching new heights. Ottimo is now open for dinner and has expanded it's menu. Everything still works -- the beach is divine, the pool perfect, the restaurants get better and better, the spa is divine and the rooms are soothing and comfortable. Yet, what truly makes the difference for us is the staff. They deeply care about their guests as individuals and have that rare ability to provide professional service with caring and nurturing approach that makes you feel HAPPY! We love the place. Finally, the "Chill Out" packages (inclusive of all meals from a la carte menu, cocktails, wine and other beverages) makes this one of the great bargains under the sun.

Room Tip: We love the beach suites which are literally five steps from the beach. I would advise that you take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilipNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    178
    46
    28
    20
See reviews for
367
372
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

this is the second time in 6 months we stayed here and once again we had a fabulous relaxing time. Don't expect loads of nightlife, this hotel to us is all about quality relaxation.

The staff are what sets this place apart from others, from the managment all the way down the staff are the friendliest most helpful staff we ahev come across.

The food is excellent, i noticed a reviewer mentioned the East Restaurant didnt serve food as authentic as Thai food that you get in Thailand, well i think thats stating the obvious. making allowances for the fact we werent in Thailand we found the food in East, and indeed all of the restuatants excellent. To be fair we were only here for a week, perhaps if you do a fortnight you may look for a bit more variety.

The rooms are excellent, the beach is great, the watersports and tennis are all good and the afternoon tea is a great idea, served on the beach while you relax. I used the gym each day which has a good variety of equipment and is lovely and cool.

All in all we again thouroughly enjoyed our stay, we will be back.

As i said all of the staff were great, special mention to Willet who brought us drinks on the beach and Georgier in the restaurant, although highlighting these seems harsh on the others who were all exceptional

Helpful?
2 Thank LondonClive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel has two types of suites, Ocean and Beach, the Ocean ones are far better but ensure you have a high room number as sea view can be obscured by some beach villas. Beach villas are more suited to families as have two bedrooms but are smaller. The beach is well maintained and all sun beds have towel laid out. The swimming pool is more suited to children and because of the fancy shape no good for doing laps.

The facilities are good with very good health centre and gym, and more tennis courts than most tennis clubs. There is complementary sailing, diving from the hotel is OK but water visibility is moderate on the reefs and for snorkeling is poor to non existent.

The staff were very helpful polite and friendly, can't speak highly enough about service, well done. The only thing that let the hotel down was the poor evening meals, the Thai-Indonesian restaurant was pathetic, as a frequent traveller to Thailand and a shareholder of a chain of thai restaurants I feel qualified to comment that it is as close to authentic Thai food as McDonalds is to getting 3 Michelin stars. The other restaurant which has lovely sea views has a very limited menu that did not change for the whole of our 16 night stay, so very boring, and only moderate quality with very small portions. The ambiance of the restaurants was also spoilt by the insistence of having loud but less than tuneful bands playing so it was hard to hold a conversation.
The positives on the food is the breakfast.
Behind the hotel is an area of mangrove swamp, and though we only suffered a bit with the insects, I beleive later in the year it can be an issue.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms top floor and higher room number, may be a little further to walk to the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daab B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjonathanreynolds, General Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear daab B

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

We were all delighted that you enjoyed the service. I was concerned to read however that the dinner menus did not meet your expectations. East restaurant focuses on Thai, Japanese and especially Balinese cuisine, as East’s Head Chef is from Indonesia. The concept is very much Pan-Asian, listing regional favorites. Regardless, I very much regret that these did not appeal.

Indigo on the Beach has a menu which changes from lunch to dinner, in addition to a selection of daily specials. It is also our approach to have our Executive Chef meet all guests who are with us for extended periods. This allows us to ensure that the menu variety continues to delight throughout the stay. Regretfully it appears that this did not happen on this occasion, for which I apologise most sincerely.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to Carlisle Bay at some point and have the opportunity to showcase our dinner menus properly. In the meantime however should you wish to discuss any aspect of your recent stay further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Reynolds
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful break at Carlisle Bay. It fully lived up to the recommendation from friends who had stayed on several occasions and from the moment we arrived, we felt relaxed and welcomed.
Our room (top floor Ocean Suite with balcony) was spacious, stylish and wonderfully cool after a hot morning on the beach.
The restaurants were very good with great food and daily specials, although weekly main menu changes would be appreciated. Staff were friendly and helpful; couldn't fault them.
As Antigua doesn't have the restaurant/bar experience of some other islands, more evening entertainment at the resort would have been enjoyable.
The whole experience was of calm and charming hospitality . We have stayed in many excellent 5* hotels and this certainly rates in our top 3.
Very many thanks again for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Our room was really quiet and restful. Families with young children may prefer beach suites for ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamelaW990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

The staff at Carlisle Bay are great. When I only had a small window to fit in a SCUBA dive they made a call and got me on a boat the next morning... they focus on the small details to make your vacation feel like a vacation. Cheers to everyone. _S

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachC0mr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had just spent a wonderful 10 days with friends in Tortola and booked to stay at The Carlisle Resort as a chill-out before heading home. From the moment we landed in Antigua we were looked after amazingly. When we arrived at the Hotel, we knew we had reached......PARADISE. Everything about the place was fabulous and we were made to feel so welcome by the numerous polite, courteous and helpful staff we met (every single person remembered our name for the time were were there). Nothing was too much trouble. We found the landscaping of the entire resort fantastic and felt totally chilled after a few hours of being there. The food and facilities were great and we did try everything. To top it all, we were given the use of a 3 bedroom suite for our last day as our flight was not until 9pm, which meant we spent a whole day chilling, which really ended the holiday in a great way. We will be back!

Room Tip: We had a Garden Suite, which was great as it also had a view of the beach, which took all of 30 seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The rooms are large and gorgeous, amenities all there, spa nice, tennis courts well maintained, beach pretty. Nonetheless, there is something just slightly boring about Carlisle Bay. Staying there is like borrowing the soulless beach home of a rich guy who never uses it. There is an absence of any feeling of uniqueness, specialness, or place. The food, service, and standards are all absolutely top notch, but that little something extra is missing.

Room Tip: Beachfront, but not all the way down by the beach bar, is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FourSeasonsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mary's
10.8 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
10.8 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Curtain Bluff Resort
Curtain Bluff Resort
#2 of 7 in Saint Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
8.4 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,217 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlisle Bay Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlisle Bay Antigua

Property: Carlisle Bay Antigua
Address: Old Rd, Saint Mary's 00000, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Mary's
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Mary's
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Mary's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Mary's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlisle Bay Antigua 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlisle Bay on Antigua is one of the leading luxury Caribbean resorts, its accommodation designed to allow for both families and couples to holiday in peace. Both kinds of traveler have a dedicated end of the resort, which allows for everyone the tranquility of the spectacular beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlisle Bay Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle Bay Antigua Hotel Saint Mary`s
Carlisle Bay Hotel Antigua
Carlisle Bay Resort Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing