We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cottages, hosts and island in the Caribbean!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stoneyhill Studio Apartments
De Forest, WI
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best cottages, hosts and island in the Caribbean!!!!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We loved Stoneyhill cottages, the island & beaches of Antigua and the warmest hosts ever!!
We couldn't have asked for a better two weeks in Antigua!! We have traveled to many islands in the Caribbean, but this was our first time to Antigua. We were so impressed with the many unbelievably beautiful beaches!! Then to have the privilege of enjoying Karol & Merv's company and staying in their little piece of paradise- was all just so perfect for us in every way!! We explored every corner of the island and did not find any other places we would rather stay than at Stoneyhill. Merv & Karol are great people and make you feel like family the minute you meet them. We highly recommend Stoneyhill cottages to anyone traveling to Antigua.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SandyGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
46
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
HIllburn NY
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Forrest Gump said " Life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you're gunna get." but read this and you will know that you will get the best hosts, view, bed, jeep, advice, music, food, and drinks when you stay with Karol and Merv! They welcome you like they have not seen you in years and are so happy you're "home". Treat you like you're family for the duration of your stay. The bungalow/ apartment... it's all to yourself. The view is amazing from any of the 3 apts you may have. You're on your own with food ( unless you timed your arrival just right and Karol and Merv are cooking dinner, soooo tasty, filling and delicious.) You can cook in the apartment, get directions to the Epicurian in Jolly Harbor from your hosts. Go for dinner at the many restaurants that Karol, Merv and friends will suggest.
Not only does your apartment have a great view but walk down to the pool/ bar area, and it feels as if you're swimming on the edge of paradise. We have only amazing stories and comments on StoneyHill, Merv, Karol, Jann, Nick and Stacey. We look forward to visiting with you all again, soon.
(The pictures on their website are true. You get exactly what you see AND MORE! I will post others than what is shown. )

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Brigida3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Just got back from a 3 day stay at Stoneyhill.

As a seasoned traveller I have to state that this is THE most beautiful, romantic place I have ever stayed.

Stoneyhill consists of 3 large self contained studios, with a shared swimming pool, bar and BBQ area.
Studio was clean, beautifully decorated and so peaceful, all you hear are the sounds of nature.
My favourite part of our holiday was lying on the veranda in the hammock, cool rum punch in hand, feeling the tropical breeze, and looking out at the lush green hills, Darkwood beach and in the distance the smoking volcano of Monserrat.

Jolly Harbour is a mere 5 minute drive, there is a large supermarket there, also restaurants, and the lively Jolly Beach.
If you prefer a quieter beach Darkfood and Ffryers are also just 5 minutes away.

You definately need a 4x4 to get up the steep, stoney hill - but this was arranged by Carol and Merv for a very reasonable price.
Driving up was fun everytime and felt like a real adventure.

Nothing was too much trouble, you are treated like an old friend, but given complete privacy too.
On the last night we were even invited to a BBQ party down at the pool which was lovely.

Am booking my next stay as soon as possible !

Would highly recommend Stoneyhill as THE place to stay in Antigua.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeccaDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We've stayed in Stoneyhill for a week and it was by far the most relaxing vacation we had in years (and we do travel every Christmas to an ''exotic location"). Each apartment is a private studio (its is not attached to any other apt), very spacious, clean with a very romantic, warm decoration. It has plenty of room for storing clothes, etc, and a kitchen with all the cooking/eating stuff you'll need. There's a huge balcony with sofas, a hammock and a table for having your breakfast,etc. The studios are up the hill so you need to rent a jeep but Carol and Merve (the owners) can help you get it in a very good price. The view from any of the three apts it's spectacular. If you are not the type that likes big impersonal resorts and is looking for something unique this is the place to be in Antigua!

The place has a swimming pool and a bar -very cool area to relax.
Carol and Merve are great in giving you tips about where to go for swimming, dinner etc in the island. Super friendly and great hosts! They can help you book boat trips around the island (they can even try to get you better prices).

If you want to relax, this is the place to come.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank opapaemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

I've just returned from my caribbean vacation while i was staying at Stoneyhill for 5 days. I desided to have a short trip to Antigua from Barbados where i was staying mainly.

I was lucky to choose this place since i had the most relaxing time that i've ever had!
It became clear for me that i should go exeptionaly there from the very first time i've contacted Karol (the owner) and required her for the accomodation. She was very helpfull to me and my friend from Barbados who decided to join me there at every moment of our staying with her and her husband Merv.
The first impression about the place and the apartment itself can simply be described in few words - Exclusive, Gorgeous and beyond any expectations!
The stunning views of island Montserrat and unbelivable sunsets of west cost will definitely make you believe that your're on the top of the world!!! Stoneyhill is located at a very quite and peacefull hilltop countryside overlooking beautiful Darkwood beach which can be reached easily by car in 3 minutes. There is another nice and quite beach in that area which can be reached in 3 mins as well (Ffryes beach).
It wont be a bad idea to rent a car and to explore the island since there are very many place worth visiting. Karol and her husband could arrange it for you (by the way at very attractive rate).
You should obviously visit Jolly harbor where you will find everything you needed - a big supermarket, banks, beaty salon, restaurants, travell agency and many more. Then go to the capital, St John's and visit market place with great variety of tropical fruits. Don't forget to stay for a day at Half Moon bay, very romantic and idylilc beach!
There is no sence to describe the whole atmosphere of Stoneyhill place, it's so peacefull and quite that you would be reluctantly leaving this place when you holiday is over...
I'll definitely return to Antigua and have no hesitations at all about to place to stay. Stoneyhill only will make your vacation very likely the most relaxing, romantic and unforgetable!!! Simply dont bother to find any other accomodation to stay in Antigua if you realy want to have an exclusive hideaway with family atmosphere!!!

Please, go to there web-site and see everything with your own eyes
http://www.stoneyhillstudioapartments.com/index.html

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksenya82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We just returned from 10 days at the Stoneyhill Apartments and had a wonderful time. Merv & Karol were excellent hosts- Always willing to make us feel right at home, bringing us Mangos, and making car reservations and day trips. They live on the property and someone is usually around if you need them. Karol was able to save us money by booking our car rental for us as well as booking our day trips. She gets the ‘book direct rate’ and does not take a commission.

The apartments are located on a beautiful hillside with great ocean views. Stoneyhill is situated on the southwest side of the island which was a great location. Jolly Harbor is about 5-7 minutes door to door and is convenient for picking up boat excursions as well as a very well stocked, well priced grocery store with everything you could need.

The beaches are also very close to the house- Darkwood Beach, Ffryes Beach, and Turner’s Beach are all within 5-7 minutes door to door. These beaches are among the most secluded on the island and they are very clean and offer some snorkeling as well.

For the price, Stoneyhill is an excellent value with great views, clean accommodations, tastefully decorated, a full kitchenette, and great hosts. Karol also came in halfway through our stay and cleaned the apartment which was a nice surprise. Also each apartment has it’s own veranda with plenty of seating. We spent a couple afternoons at the pool area after the beach. We also ate our breakfast every morning on the peaceful veranda taking in the ocean view.

The website is very well done and gives you most of the information you could need but what is not on the website is the pool and bar/ lounge area. Just below the apartments there is a nice pool with plenty of seating as well as a bar with more seating under the shade. There is a sound system as well and the area is there for use by the guests. There is also a nice grill and barbeque area.

In conclusion, if you are looking for a great authentic Antiguan vacation without the hustle and bustle of a big resort, Stoneyhill Apartments offers a great spot to base your trip from and an excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snorkeler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2009

We stayed here from Feb 19-26, and had a great time. The rooms were clean and perfect for what we were looking for. There is a hammock on the large porch that overlooks the ocean.

Note however that the cottages are set far back from the main road up in the hills, you will definitely need to rent a jeep or RAV4 or something similar to get up the hill, and also to get around the island. However this was in our opinion, a plus. We had already rented a 4X4, and as a result of being up in the hills, we had a great view of the ocean (see photo) and it was quiet and safe up there.

The cottages are a short drive to Jolly Harbour, where there are a number of restaurants to eat out at. We also took a highly recommended day tour that picked us up at Jolly Harbour called Adventure Antigua Eco Tour.

Darkwood Beach is the beach that you can see in the distance from the porch, and it is a fantastic beach. Make sure however, that you plan a day trip to Half-moon Bay, on the other side of the island - it is the most beautiful beach I have ever seen! (see photo)

Karol and Merv were great hosts and friendly people, we will definitely go back next time we visit Antigua!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bmthede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mary's
3.9 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,846 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,002 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#9 of 15 in St. John's
1,171 reviews
3.1 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
1.8 mi away
Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoneyhill Studio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoneyhill Studio Apartments

Property: Stoneyhill Studio Apartments
Address: Ffryes Estate | Antigua, Saint Mary's 00000, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Saint Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stoneyhill Studio Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoneyhill Studio Apartments are situated on the SW side of the island, nestled in the hills, overlooking the turquoise seas of the Caribbean, where you can capture the most amazing sunsets from your very own balcony. The fully furnished studio apartments are equipped with all the necessaries you would need for a perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Stoneyhill Studio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoneyhill Studio Apartments Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing