We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further. Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stoneyhill Studio Apartments
Oakland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Look no further. Fantastic!”
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Staying here was a delight in every way, from booking to leaving. Before booking, Karol was very helpful in answering questions and coordinating car rentals. She even called me long distance to the US to help me out. Upon arriving to the property (along a steep unpaved road: 4x4 necessary!), we were greeted by Merve who was just as friendly. He showed us our unit, which included ensuite bathroom, A/C, full kitchen, and patio. The outdoor space included a hammock, lounge chairs, and dining area which all overlooked the hills and ocean. They even included a mobile phone which was very handy. The rest of the complex included a pool, bar area, bbq, outdoor bathroom and shower. We were the only guests there at the time so space wasn’t an issue. Even if all 3 units were booked, there would still be plenty of space for everyone at the pool/bar area.

While we stayed there, Karol and Merve made themselves available to answer our questions, whether it be about tours or the local food. They even invited us to dinner one night and introduced us to traditional Jamaican food. It was quite a feast and much appreciated. It’s not often that the owners invite their guests into their homes, let alone for a meal together.

All in all, the accommodations were fantastic; second only to Karol and Merve’s hospitality. The only regret is not finding this earlier and booking/cancelling other hotels first.

Room Tip: Need a 4x4
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

To think about a drawback about Karol and Merv´s place takes time, since is they offer all we can ask for, a Clean place, a nice view, they are warm and willing to help, there is a nice pool, etc etc. So, just to be fair i can mention that is not beach-side, but ... you can rent a car (witch i recommend and encourage) to visit all the beaches...
To be short, a clean and nice place, away from all the noises, with a warm couple to help you in anything you want, without being intrusive.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ezekiel_morales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We can totally recommend these appartements. The descritions of our predecessors are acurate, so no point in repeating.
As we stayed there in early season, we had the place to our selves.
There are so many little things on top of the usual stuff that made the stay so wonderfull. The cell phone, all the rum&cokes at the pool, the musik, very laid back atmosphere, as much privacy as you want, help wiht everything like organizing the scuba diving and the rental 4x4... to much to mention. All you needet to was ask and help was provided.
Its not a 5 star suite thing ith privat butler etc. but who would want that anyway.
We higly recommend a 4x4 not just for the road up to the appartments but also for the island cruises.

Thanks again Karol & Merv!!! If we come back to Antigua we will certaily try to stay with you again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desi_and_Boris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed here for 16 nights in Aug 2010. This place is good value for money. Me and hubby tend to go away to spend time by ourselves. Karol and Merv have the knack of being very friendly but also leaving you alone!
The apartment was great, nice and peaceful with fantastic views. A lovely quiet and beautiful beach was only a couple of minutes drive away.
We were unfortunate to be around when hurricane Earl hit but Merv and Karol did everything to ensure the apartments were ready. Hatches were shut, balcony items cleared and torches supplied! I can confirm that although a frightening experience these apartments can survive a category 2! The place has an emergency generator so despite power being down we were not without electricity for too long. Merv and Karol soon had things tidied up and the garden back to its tidy state. They certainly looked after us!
I would definately recommend this as a good place to stay. The local supermarket isn't too far away either and there are plenty of things to go and see. Only one word of caution. There are a few restaurants around but many are shut in August with owners goinng on holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmaSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Forest, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We loved Stoneyhill cottages, the island & beaches of Antigua and the warmest hosts ever!!
We couldn't have asked for a better two weeks in Antigua!! We have traveled to many islands in the Caribbean, but this was our first time to Antigua. We were so impressed with the many unbelievably beautiful beaches!! Then to have the privilege of enjoying Karol & Merv's company and staying in their little piece of paradise- was all just so perfect for us in every way!! We explored every corner of the island and did not find any other places we would rather stay than at Stoneyhill. Merv & Karol are great people and make you feel like family the minute you meet them. We highly recommend Stoneyhill cottages to anyone traveling to Antigua.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SandyGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIllburn NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Forrest Gump said " Life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you're gunna get." but read this and you will know that you will get the best hosts, view, bed, jeep, advice, music, food, and drinks when you stay with Karol and Merv! They welcome you like they have not seen you in years and are so happy you're "home". Treat you like you're family for the duration of your stay. The bungalow/ apartment... it's all to yourself. The view is amazing from any of the 3 apts you may have. You're on your own with food ( unless you timed your arrival just right and Karol and Merv are cooking dinner, soooo tasty, filling and delicious.) You can cook in the apartment, get directions to the Epicurian in Jolly Harbor from your hosts. Go for dinner at the many restaurants that Karol, Merv and friends will suggest.
Not only does your apartment have a great view but walk down to the pool/ bar area, and it feels as if you're swimming on the edge of paradise. We have only amazing stories and comments on StoneyHill, Merv, Karol, Jann, Nick and Stacey. We look forward to visiting with you all again, soon.
(The pictures on their website are true. You get exactly what you see AND MORE! I will post others than what is shown. )

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Brigida3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Just got back from a 3 day stay at Stoneyhill.

As a seasoned traveller I have to state that this is THE most beautiful, romantic place I have ever stayed.

Stoneyhill consists of 3 large self contained studios, with a shared swimming pool, bar and BBQ area.
Studio was clean, beautifully decorated and so peaceful, all you hear are the sounds of nature.
My favourite part of our holiday was lying on the veranda in the hammock, cool rum punch in hand, feeling the tropical breeze, and looking out at the lush green hills, Darkwood beach and in the distance the smoking volcano of Monserrat.

Jolly Harbour is a mere 5 minute drive, there is a large supermarket there, also restaurants, and the lively Jolly Beach.
If you prefer a quieter beach Darkfood and Ffryers are also just 5 minutes away.

You definately need a 4x4 to get up the steep, stoney hill - but this was arranged by Carol and Merv for a very reasonable price.
Driving up was fun everytime and felt like a real adventure.

Nothing was too much trouble, you are treated like an old friend, but given complete privacy too.
On the last night we were even invited to a BBQ party down at the pool which was lovely.

Am booking my next stay as soon as possible !

Would highly recommend Stoneyhill as THE place to stay in Antigua.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeccaDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mary's
3.9 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,829 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,289 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#7 of 15 in St. John's
341 reviews
1.8 mi away
Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages
3.1 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#10 of 15 in St. John's
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoneyhill Studio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoneyhill Studio Apartments

Property: Stoneyhill Studio Apartments
Address: Ffryes Estate | Antigua, Saint Mary's 00000, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Saint Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stoneyhill Studio Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoneyhill Studio Apartments are situated on the SW side of the island, nestled in the hills, overlooking the turquoise seas of the Caribbean, where you can capture the most amazing sunsets from your very own balcony. The fully furnished studio apartments are equipped with all the necessaries you would need for a perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Stoneyhill Studio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoneyhill Studio Apartments Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing