We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's all about the views at sunset” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castaways

Castaways
Ranked #12 of 19 Restaurants in Saint Mary's
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Castaways Glows, an iconic Beach Bar and Restaurant nestled on the white creamy sands of Jolly Beach, Antigua and Barbuda. The azure Caribbean sea is just steps away, it beckons you.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It's all about the views at sunset”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

The food can only be described as adequate. Nothing offensive, but also nothing inspirational. We ate here 3 times because of its location, right on the beach. A perfect place to watch the sun go down.
The cocktails on the other hand are a winner and we came for a drink many afternoons on the way back to our Villa (A good place for happy hour). Highly recommended is the pirates punch. It certainly has one.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beaker139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    109
    81
    35
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Marlow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lunchtime beerios & burger snacks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Having an afternoon to laze away before we flew back to England, we settled into Castaways for a light lunch and a few beers. Great little beach bar/restaurant, friendly service and lots of smiles. Ice cold Carib's and a wickedly strong Caribbean Breeze rum punch certainly made my lunchtime more enjoyable!

I ordered a Castaway's burger and fries and couldn't find fault with it (not that I was looking mind!). Great views from the table, island style service and laid back attitude, no worries man, enjoy the Carib .....

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thanks Castaways for being part of our holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

We went to Castaways nearly every day of our 2 week holiday at Jolly Harbour, be it for lunch, a sunset drink, Karoake or caribbean band night.

We found the good to be consistently good actually, usually ordering some starters to share rather than a main meal. The prices were reasonable for a beach side location.

The Karoake night was genuinely brilliant. The host was absolutely charming and very entertaining and really did keep the crowd going without ever pressurising us into singing (we weren't singers but enjoyed the entertainment of the evening). I think the whole bar got up to attempt the Cha Cha slide which was a really entertaining experience!

Thank you to Marvin for keeping is entertained with a wide range of televised sports during our visits.p, although note this isn't a sports bar! I did not expect to see so much of the Indian cricket league but it did keep the men entertained and quiet for a while which had its benefits.

Thank you to Daisy for being charming and apologies for missing your birthday party. We genuinely were there but I really didn't feel well that night so I think we may have only missed you by minutes.

To the girl who's name I didn't catch but remembered each week that I don't eat/drink orange - thank you! You were really lovely and fully responsible for getting us hooked on rum punch (with double rum - the off menu version without orange).

To everyone else who works at Castaways who were all really nice and greeted us with smiling faces each day - thank you for helping make our holiday even better!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGrumbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“The most Fun you can have with your clothes on...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Right at the entrance to Jolly Beach on the South Finger, Castaways has good food and a lot of fun. Stop by on a Friday night and karaoke (also known as Carry-Your-Own-Key) will have you dancing, smiling, and recognizing that having this much fun might be illegal. If you're lucky Daisy will sing you a tune between serving you and entertaining guests. If you're really lucky she'll go into a pole dancing routine that is very entertaining. Keron and Clarisa will mix up the tunes while Katt Jason Lewis will do his best Shaggy impression. Keebaby will be your MC and she's always got something up her sleeve. Wayne the owner is an awesome, down-to-earth fellow from Canada living the dream. Friday nights this is the place to be. But really it's good every day and night. It's right on the beach so you really don't need to dress up. Your shorts and Hawaiian Flower shirt will fit right in.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great beach location with only average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Spent several hours at the Castaways restaurant and bar when we went to the beach at Jolly Harbor for the day. The food was merely adequate at lunch...not bad, but certainly not outstanding. The pumpkin fritters were soggy, but tasted okay. The chicken quesadilla was also standard issue fare and the ribs were chewy. The drinks were good and the staff didn't have problem when we requested glasses of ice with limes for our Banks beer. Moved over to the bar for drinks after lunch and set up umbrellas on the beach. The locale is great and the inlet next to the bar made for fun crab watching. Service was polite and prompt, but not overly friendly. Go for the beach and drinks, but only eat if you are in the mood for average quality food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eknitsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castaways also viewed

Saint Mary's, Antigua
 

Been to Castaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing