We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing Vacation”
Review of Agave Landings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Mary's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agave Landings
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing Vacation”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

After a hectic Christmas season which included a four day power outage due to an ice storm on December 21, we were looking forward to a relaxing and peaceful time away and we found it at Agave Landings. We had a one bedroom suite on the lower level which was easy to access. The suite was very clean and well stocked with the essentials. When we arrived our taxi driver from the airport (JR) waited for us and took us back into Jolly Harbour to pick up groceries. We spent most of our time at Ffreyes Beach ("Best beach on the island") which was as short walk away. We did make the trip to Nelson's Dockyards and Shirley Heights on Sunday where there was food and a live band playing with a fabulous view of English Harbour and the sunset over Montserrat. Thanks to Margot for looking after everything. It was great holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kram53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
51
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West New York, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was our first time staying in a "non-hotel" and it was definitely unique. Not a lot of people around even on Freyes Beach which was really pretty and a short walk away. Many nice beaches on the island including Half Moon Bay - a trek but worth it.
We stayed in the cottage which had a patio with a great view to enjoy over a cup of coffee each morning. Nearby was Jolly Harbor with restaurants, a supermarket and other activities. We went with Indigo Divers for a fantastic day of diving. Other trips included Stingray City and an island circumnavigation tour on the Wadadli Cats Catamaran.
Make sure you know what is provided - we brought beach towels but plenty were provided.
Bugs seemed to be worse on Antigua than other islands so have some insect repellant on hand.
Excellent nearby restaurants included Jacqui O's and Dennis's (walking distance). Many are only open for lunch so call ahead.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hwinsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was our second stay at Agave and both times we stayed for three months (escaping the snow in Canada). And we'll be back next year. Needless to say, we love the place. It has everything we want, peaceful surroundings (except for Sundays when the locals use the beach and the music gets loud), access to nature (the birds are beautiful and abundant and very accessible), and close to the beach, which is absolutely gorgeous, mostly deserted and great for swimming. Margo and Amy look after your every concern, though there were very few of those. The bus system is very good and we have yet to rent a car; it just isn't needed unless you plan to do a lot of touring. The weather is simply sublime, especially when compared to home and you can walk to the beach in only a few minutes. The grounds are gorgeous, with plenty of exotic flowers and the attendant hummingbirds. On the upper floor, the view from the balcony is magnificent and you can watch the sun go down every evening, while sipping on your favourite libation. What more can we ask?

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor enjoy a wonderful view of the Caribbean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArleneM1816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Beautiful setting very close to a lovely quiet beach. We spent two weeks trying other beaches but ours was best all round, the kids loved it. Apartment was clean and well appointed. Margot looks after you at arrival and arranges as much or as little as you need. Loads of good restaurants nearby, Dennis's on the beach is excellent and only a few minutes walk away. There is a bit of building going on on a nearby hill but this did not disturb us at all. Sundays the beach was busier with locals, with music into the evening but this was no problem.

Room Tip: Top floor gives better views from the balcony of the apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Cottage recently which as awesome! It was spotless clean, and Margot was very helpful and kind. Freyes Beach is beautiful, and it seemed that we had it to ourselves except for a few others at the beach. Agave Landings is the "anti-Sandals" type resort. No crowds, it is peaceful and quiet, and no problems finding a spot at the beach (sometimes we were the only ones there). The location was very good with Jolly Harbour nearby for shopping, and several very good restaurants within minutes. We had dinner at Sheer Rocks Restaurant at Cocobay Resort next door which was incredible (not cheap)! Open-air restaurant built on a cliff overlooking the water ... breathtaking views, and the water splashing just below. Loved Agave Landings and highly recommend the cottage (did not see other rooms though).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I just spent 4 nights at Agave and enjoyed every minute. Is is clean, well-arranged, beautiful and comfortable. There is a very nice front balcony that sits just above a small yard with loads of flowers and hummingbirds; looking just beyond perhaps 200 yards you can see the sea. Sailboats go past and are in view and beautiful. Ffreyes Beach is within view and while you could easily walk there's ample parking even closer in case you're taking beach chairs (provided at the unit) and/or other items. The beach is not crowded at all. However, party boat tours may pull in and spend an hour then leave.
The Epicurean by Jolly Harbour is a nice little grocery for needs and is only 3 or 4 miles away. There are good restaurants nearby--The Nest, OJ's, and Dennis' is within view. The property managers are Amy and Margot who are very helpful with any questions or needs. There are 5 units in the main building and a studio in the back. There are some folks who stay there months at a time and I can certainly see why. Only drawback for some would be no pool. But that sure didn't bother us.

Room Tip: I preferred the first floor so as not to have to carry luggage, groceries up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WannaGoKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I went to Antigua on November and stayed in Agave Landings Cottage.
The cottage is wonderful, the balcony with a great view of Freyies Beach is superb and Emy and Margot are very kind and helpful!!!
The best place to stay!!

Room Tip: Cottage is a single building higher than the building with apartments, but the apartments are bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cristian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mary's
1.3 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
444 reviews
9.3 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,829 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
804 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agave Landings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agave Landings

Property: Agave Landings
Address: Ffreyes Beach, Saint Mary's W1215, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Saint Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Tranquil Place to Relax and Enjoy the Best of Antigua.....Self-catering apartments and cottage nestled in the shadow of an old sugar mill less than 500 feet from Ffreyes Beach on Antigua's Southwest coast. Nearby restaurants, shopping, marina, golf, biking, horseback riding and many other activities make this an ideal location to enjoy your Caribbean vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agave Landings Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing