We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally amazing! I PROMISE YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED! AMAZING!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Verandah Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philip
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Totally amazing! I PROMISE YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED! AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

Have just got back after a 10 day visit. The place was amazing! such a great resort. So well kept and looked after. Really amazing food and so so much variety every day! my brother is a chef and he was very very impressed with the quality of the food. I have 2 very fussy children and if they could not find anything they wanted to eat the staff would make them what they wanted! for example my son wanted bacon and chips morning noon and night and so they cooked him bacon!! The staff were fantastic especially Neil from the restaurant, what a great kind guy. He went more than out of his way to make sure all the customers were happy with everything in the restaurants. Could not have asked for better service really was 5 star! The bungalows were beautiful and spacy even with 4 people in them. The main pool was amazing we spent so much time in it. The beaches were stunning - the main beach had loads of free water sports to do always available too and the smaller beach was lovely and quiet and we always seemed to have the whole beach to ourselves with a bar full of a variety of free drinks! It really was fantastic. Guest services were so so helpful and again went the extra mile to make sure all was perfect for all the guests. I will be saving to go back for sure no doubt about it! I could not recommend this resort more highly, it is perfect for families, couples everyone really! the only thing I would say is if you are looking for very loud and lively evening entertainment then this would not be the right place for you. The entertainment is very tastfully done and not to much but very enjoyable and fun. We had a truly amazing time!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank natski76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,010
    1,145
    323
    123
    46
See reviews for
1,229
1,841
38
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

We arrived at the Veranda to a cool glass of punch and were immediately made to feel very welcome . As we were driven to our beautiful and very large suite on the golf buggy we passed two fabulous beaches and a two beautiful pools. Our 2 week holiday could not have been any more relaxing or fun and we simply could not complain or moan about anything. The food was 5 star in ALL restuarants, the staff were fantastic in every area of the resort and the kids were treated with respect and freindship especially by the beach staff. The cleanliness and maintenance all over is also worth a mention. Very impressive resort in a fabulous and safe country. Well done from Paul, Julia, Zack & Olivia.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulBeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

My husband and I spent a week this August at The Verandah. I have to say that it exceeded expectations. I didn't expect it to be as great looking as represented on their website, however what you see is what you get. You also get great value, wonderful scenery, comfortable accommodations, good food, as well as friendly and efficient service.

We had a bungalow close enough to the main pool, restaurants, gym and guest services to be easily accessible, yet far enough from any noise.

The bungalows each have two suites. We had neighbours, but they were pretty quiet.

The suites are essentially a large, long space with large bathroom, by the bungalow entrance, including double sinks; king bed, closet as a room divider, then living area with hide-a-bed couch, armchair and coffee table, with a view onto your own private verandah on one side of the room, and kitchenette area with fridge, nuker, sink, cupboards, and a desk on the other.

One quibble with the room has to do with the bathroom. The tub has a glass partition along the side of it, but it's not wide enough to keep water from splashing onto the floor when you take a shower. Over the week, we perfected our technique to minimize the water on the floor. This involved turning the shower head to face the opposite wall, and showering in the front right corner of the tub... Not a big deal if you don't mind water on the floor.

By the way, the resort has its own desalination plant for water production. The water is fine to drink out of the taps, and when we went on our daily drives to St. John's and other sites on the island, we would fill up our 1.5 litre bottle before heading out. We originally purchased the water bottle at the gift shop upon arrival for $5 U.S.

Every morning we would spend an hour or so reading, admiring the view of the bay, and spending time with the visiting finches before going to breakfast at the Seabreeze buffet restaurant.

The food was very good and fresh. Breakfast always had a variety of local and North American prepared dishes, fish, meat, eggs, fresh fruit, cheeses, breads, yogurt, juices and more. There was also a made-to-order omelet station.

Lunch was also varied: hot dishes of meat, fish and poultry, cool salads of all sorts, and fattening desserts. Ditto for dinner. Alcoholic beverages were always readily available and included in the plan.

Antigua is hot, but it's also always breezy. The Seabreeze restaurant overlooks the main pool, and we always chose to sit along that wall where the breeze was strongest. They have large shutters which are propped wide-open during business hours which makes for pleasant dining.

The two other restaurants are Buccaneer and Nicole's. Buccaneer is part of the all-inclusive package, but for Nicole's there is a $25 U.S. per person additional fee.

However, if you care to sit in on a brief presentation on the time-share opportunity, you can get a voucher for dinner for two at Nicole's. Which is what we did. Don't worry, there's no hard-sell, just a friendly conversation with the Sales Rep, a chatty friendly ex-pat Brit.

Nicole's is a bit more upscale than the other two restaurants, with a more sophisticated menu. The food and service were quite good.

This is a family resort where you'll find (at least when we were there) middle-aged couples with their teens and young kids. The majority of the guests seemed to be from the UK, the U.S. and Canada, with a smattering of Europeans and Aussies. The resort is fairly new, only two or three years old, and it shows.

The grounds are landscaped with all manner of local greenery and flowers. Watered daily, and trimmed almost as often. Gorgeous.

The wildlife on the resort is interesting too: we spotted several mongoose (weasels with attitude), wee lizards a few inches long, tiny lizards the size of small grasshoppers, and half-inch long hermit-type crabs, different types of finches, and pigeons.

The main pool is beautiful with a fountain in the centre, and overlooks the Atlantic. At check-in you'll receive cards for beach towels, one for each person checking in. You hand in your cards for towels, and vice versa. If you don't return your cards upon check-out, you'll be charged a hefty fee for each missing towel.

There's also a small quiet pool with waterfall further into the resort. Convenient for a tranquil dip and reading.

Other activities include kayaking and sailing at the two beaches. Billiards and shuffleboard are outdoors by the small pool. There's a little kid's park and daycare services also.

There's nightly musical entertainment, but this isn't a party place, so if you're keen on clubbing and partying, best to stay on the Northwest coast close to St. John's.

Speaking of St. John's, it's only 11 miles away. But not really. Every mile that you drive in Antigua, is like driving 10 miles on U.S. or Canadian roads. They're challenging, to say the least ! It takes at least 45 minutes to get to St. John's from the East coast. But if all you want to do is stay on the resort and vicinity, that's not an issue.

We wanted to avoid gaining weight from all the good food, so we just walked on the resort. The grounds are very hilly, just like the rest of Antigua, so walking from the bungalow to reception (about 7 minutes) in the humid heat was quite effective for burning calories.

There's always staff driving around in stretch golf carts ready to give you a ride if you don't feel like climbing hills.

A note to all ladies: Leave the high heels at home unless you're sure you won't be walking anywhere. The only heels I wore were to dinner and only two inches high. Another thing to remember - there is a dress code. For dinner, men are expected to wear collared shirts (polo or other) and long pants, at least Bermuda shorts. Ladies are expected to wear appropriate attire or a dress. No naked bits, flip flops, short shorts, etc.

We were very pleased with our stay at The Verandah, and have no qualms whatsoever recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AntiguaBarbudaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

My wife & I visited the Verandah after we found it on the Costco Travel site. It sounded like everything we were looking for in a couples vacation and it was that and more. Relaxing is the word that comes to mind when we remember the lovely week we spent at the Verandah. We checked out the snorkeling equipment and floated around both beaches where we could easily view the white sandy bottom and translucent pearl fish swimming along the shore. We got a bit more adventurous one morning and went kayaking in the bay. The food was different every day and very fresh and delicious, we each gained 5 lbs since we could not pass up anything offered at the seabreeze restaurant. We also visited the Buchaneer a'la carte restaurant a few nights and the food was beautifully presented and the service was top notch paying attention to every detail. Our wine glasses were never empty. All inclusive was the way to go as we didn't have to carry cash and had access to drinks and food anytime we wanted. The adults only pool offered a waterfall and plenty of space for adult fun. The staff was so delightful, we looked forward to eating or stopping in the bar for a new exciting blended cocktail in the afternoon. The room was huge and offered a large shower/tub and robes with a fully stocked kitchenette if you wanted to stay in your room. The deck was so private and we enjoyed coffee there every morning while relaxing with a book. We felt relaxed from the moment we arrived at the entrance and sad the day we had to leave. We hope they don't change a thing and continue offering the elite service we didn't expect but truly loved....we will return and soon!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fredwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

We recently visited the Verandah and all I can say is "Paradise". The photos online do not do it justice. It is beautiful!!! The staff members are excellent, they actually remembered who we were each time they saw us. The adult pool doesn't have a bar, but the walk to the bar is not far at all. Devils Bridge is a must see and is only a short walk through the resort. It was absolutely amazing! If your into snorkeling, which we were, then Long Bay is the place for you. It's about 2 blocks outside of the front gate to the resort. When you arrive you will be greeted with the best rum punch you have ever had. If you have a chance to go horseback riding, I strongly suggest it. It was fantastic and well worth the money. We will be back, think we found our home away from home!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IMAIslandLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

My boyfriend and I traveled to Antigua between the 8th and the 12th August 2009. Initially I was a little apprehensive about the weather as I had been told that we were going during the stormy season, but as it happens we were lucky enough to get 4 full days of perfect weather. It didn't rain once and we were able to enjoy the sunshine every day!

We arrived at Antigua airport and were welcomed with great live music and complimentary drinks. This was a first as me and my partner have travelled to many places and have never experienced this. It was a great start to our trip.

We arrived at the hotel after a short taxi ride and were welcomed and checked in immediately. We had previously asked for an upgrade as we were celebrating an anniverssary and sure enough our request was met and we were taken to a Ocean View room.

The room was spacious as was the bathroom. Most importantly it was clean and well looked after. As we were celebrating our anniverssary, we had been left a hand written card and another little surprise which was a very nice gesture by the hotel. The room also came with a small kitchen, fridge and microwave. As we were booked on an all inclusive though, we never really made use of these facilities.

The hotel is set over a large, beautifully well kept area and although the pools and beaches and restaurants may seem a little out of the way from some of the rooms, the staff are never to far away or too busy to make sure you get to your destination on there little mobile carts which they use to transport people from place to place.

We spent most of our time at the beach as the main pool was visited mainly by families each day. Even though the adults pool is small, if you want more space, the hotel's 2 beautiful beaches are a both wonderful to relax and enjoy yourself on. The main beach has beautiful white sand and offers an array of non-motorized water sports. My boyfriend and I took out a kayak which was a lot of fun. The snorkeling here is not great though. If you do want to snorkel I would definitely reccommend a visit to Bird Island which was incredible. This beach is below the "Beach Bar & Grill" restaurant which serves great simple food to suit everyone. It sits over the ocean and has a wonderful view where you can go and get a snack anytime or cool off with a cocktail while you enjoy the view.

As we were on an all inclusive basis, we ate mainly at the Beach Bar and the Seebreeze restaurant. The Seebreeze had great food for an all inclusive and as a vegetarian ther were plenty of things for me to eat.

Even though we did not eat there, the hotel's other restaurant called Nicole's (fine-dining), we heard was fantastic from 2 friends we made whilst we were there. My boyfriend and I didn't go only because the night we wanted to book for, the restaurant was closed.

Along with the gorgeous location, the most impressive thing about this hotel is its staff. They were all extremely kind and were never too busy to help you in any way. Everyone was polite and happy all the time. The evening entertainment varied each night and there was always something to suit everyone, adults and children.

If you do travel to Antigua, my advice to you would also be to hire a car one day and drive around the island. It is small enough for you to make your way round in a day but if you have more time you could spread it over 2. We were able to go and explore some stunning beaches which were more then idilic. My reccommendations would be Runnaway Bay for sure and from Shirley Heights which provides some spectacular views.

All in all.....a great trip and thank you to the Verandah for making our trip an unforgettable one!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyKat001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

What a great place. On arrival, we were greeted by friendly staff and served some rum punch. Jerry loaded up our bags and drove us to room 151, which had a beautiful view. Since we were getting married on the trip we also had a bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room.

Rooms:
Pretty large, each with its own balcony. King size bed, a fold out couch, flat panel TV, dressers, a closet, and a safe. Each room is actually equipped with a small kitchenette with a fridge and a microwave as well. The bathroom is huge. Maids came every day and cleaned up. A couple of times they took our body towels and we didn't get them back for a few hours but no big deal. There are a couple of negatives, namely the shower. It does leak, it is a pain, but it's not the end of the world. Some of the other people complained that they had to use their towels to mop the floor after a shower, which can be the case, but maybe they didn't know that you can pick up as many hand towels as you need at the gym. The walls of the room are also slightly thin so you can sometimes hear the people staying next to you but it's not noticeable for the most part.

Grounds:
Absolutely beautiful. Whomever designed this place did an incredible job. The plant life is beautiful, and walking through is a vacation in and of itself. It is also very well maintained; sprinklers throughout ensure a lush green environment, and gardeners were constantly tending to everything. People should be warned, though, that walking is involved when you stay here. It's about a ten minute walk from the main pool area to reception. You can ride the trolleys, but this isn't really a place for people who want everything to be within 50 ft.

Service:
The staff is very friendly and helpful. Andrea was especially helpful with our wedding. Jerry took our bags to the room and showed us around the resort and was extremely friendly. Some of the bartenders can come off as surly, but a smile and a polite "please" and "thank you" will go a long way.

Restaurants/Food:
Food was all around spectacular. I'm now hooked on fried plantains! We ate at Seabreeze most of the time and was never disappointed, and we never saw any repeats. We ate at Nicole's one night and Bucaneers the next. Both require reservations, and Nicole's is an extra $25pp for all inclusive plans. Both of these restaurants were very nice, and it is worth it to check them both out at least once. All inclusive is simply a must here, as the Verandah is very much removed from St. Johns and other restaurants. The Beach Bar / Grill had pretty standard burgers/hot dogs, etc, nothing to write home about. The beach bar can also get overwhelmed pretty quickly during midday when everyone wants a snack/lunch, so the wait time for our food was also a bit longer than at the other restaurants. Also, coconut rum & coke is awesome!

Beaches:
The small beach is amazing. Beautiful view, a bar right on the beach for refreshments, and it's always quiet. We were there one afternoon for four hours and only saw two other people the entire time. We got married in the gazebo right next to the beach. The only problem with this beach is that there is a lot of seaweed if you want to swim. The larger beach has a lot clearer water, but it's obviously more busy. Still, it's also a beautiful beach.

Activities:
Watersports include paddleboats, kayaks, snorkeling, rafts, windsurfing, etc. We tried everything but the catamaran and windsufing, and it was all a blast. The resort itself has a gym which we didn't use, so I can't comment. There's a huge main pool and a smaller adult pool which were both very nice. Also a kid's pool but again, we didn't look into that. At guest services you can sign up for tours and other activities outside the resort but they all cost extra. Devil's bridge is a short walk from the path on the large beach, and it is definitely worth checking out. There's not much shopping in the resort except for the gift shop, but they are extremely expensive. We went to English Harbor one day and the same bottle of rum at a liquor store there was only $10 but $30 at the gift shop.

Entertainment:
Hit or miss. One night there was a steel band which was very good. During dinner another night a guitar duo serenaded us at our table and this wasn't bad either. We didn't really come here for the lively entertainment though, so it wasn't a big deal enough. When you're drunk enough it doesn't matter. :) One thing about the music inside the restaurants though, it does get a little repetitive. I must have heard the Norah Jones album like 5 times over the course of a week. Not a huge complaint, but a few more albums would go a long way.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tonalvoltage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip
11.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
6.5 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
0.3 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
13.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,218 reviews
14.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Verandah Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Verandah Resort & Spa

Property: The Verandah Resort & Spa
Address: Indian Town Rd, Saint Philip, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Phillip Parish > Saint Philip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Verandah Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Verandah Resort & Spa is a world-class all-inclusive resort overlooking the crystal blue Caribbean waters of Antigua. Perfect for couples, friends, families, honeymoons, and weddings. Guests love the resort's friendly, romantic atmosphere, with lots of activities for adults, teens, and children--not to mention our Two White Sand Beaches!The Verandah's four restaurants, four bars, four swimming, including the largest freeform freshwater swimming pool in Antigua. Activities include hobie cat sailing, kayaking, swimming, snorkeling, pedal boats, supervised Kids Club, 18-hole miniature golf course, and much more.Indulge at our Spa Tranquility, featuring a wide array of massage and beauty treatments, or enjoy a workout in our air-conditioned fitness center.We look forward to having you as our guest, and thank for your choosing The Verandah Resort & Spa, Antigua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, West Indies, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Verandah Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandah Resort And Spa
Verandah Hotel Saint Philip
Verandah Hotel St Johns
Verandah Resort All Inclusive
The Verandah Resort & Spa Antigua/Saint Philip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing