We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Verandah Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philips
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 31, 2009

First off- if you are thinking of booking here you MUST get the all-inclusive plan. The resort is so remote, you really don't have any other options for dining. Overall the resort was quiet and very relaxing. Nightly entertainment. We stayed for 10 days. The food got a bit redundant. We went to Nicole's twice and loved it! Toyline, the server, was the best!!! The beach was great but small. We visited Long Bay near the resort a couple of times. A lot more activities there. The pool was fantastic but no swim-up bar. The bar was close to the pool and would make you anything you wanted. The guest services people were very nice and informative. We went into St. Johns for the day and had dinner. A walk to Devil's Bridge is a must. Donkeys came down onto the beach area almost daily. The beachside bar and grill was very good. Our villa was very clean and comfortable. The view is fantastic. People were friendly enough. Overall a great place to stay but do not go here if you are looking to party. Quiet and relaxing! Oh, and for the men, be sure and bring long pants and collared shirts. This is a must for dining in the evening.

Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
3  Thank SunSeekers35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,530 - 3,536 of 3,830 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2009

We have just returned from a 7 night stay. It is really geared up for families with young children. We have an 8 year old and he had a blast. The beach is very safe and the water shallow for quite a way so you can relax a bit while they are playing. The floats and toys provided by the hotel are great because you don't have to bring your own. We have 2 older children who didn't come with us and I would say that there would not have been enough to occupy them if they had.
The kids club is a bit hit and miss. Not very well supervised at times and staff seem more intent on keeping the kids inside - the club has its own pool and a mega climbing frame so it's a shame.
Food excellent, we ate far too much. Not sure Nicole's is worth the $25 per head charge.
We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2009

The Verandah resort & spa is a great value and lovely location. The rooms are a good size and properly cleaned everyday--a good job is done, The time for meals is convient and all meals were very good. There is food and drink available at the beach all day. The food there was also good. The resort is all inclusive, if you wish. The beach is lovely and there is shady areas if desire. The beach is cleaned every morning. Non-powered equipment is available at no charge. An employee driven cart is available to travel around the property. Wecannot find anything wrong with resort.
Rita & John Flannery
MOCO4@JUNO.COM

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

Went for one week with my husband, 1 year old, 3 year old, and my mother. We rented an entire villa (which is two rooms that adjoin via the balcony) - gramma and the kids in one side, my husband and I in the other side. This worked out perfectly as we had privacy and got to sleep in. While the kids went to bed in the evening, gramma listened to them in our room using our baby monitor. Meanwhile we strolled around the property. It was so peaceful and quiet and you could have the entire beach to yourself after dark! The bar was not very busy, so it's not a party place, but we liked that. We also went to play ping pong with drinks in hand and just had a fun time together, with no one else in sight.

During the day, we would all hang out at the pool (beautiful, and again not busy), or the beach (nice sand, not busy, fun to watch the pelicans), or occasionally at the Kids Zone. The Kids Zone: outside there is a big wooden climbing thing which both kids loved. The inside was a little more lame, but this may have been better if there were more kids around.

The staff: overall they WILL get you what you want or need, but they don't seem to be gregarious or overly friendly people. It's not that the service is bad - it really was fine - but they don't look like they're having a lot of fun doing it.

The food: We are foodies, and we thought that for an all-inclusive, the food was actually quite decent. Who cares that the three restaurants are not always open - they're all the same kitchen. Nicole's for the extra $25 is maybe not really worth it for the food (not hugely better), but the ambiance was nice - and there weren't any kids in there! Oh, and they have all the best liquors and the wine was nice too. They don't have a list of cocktails so figure out what you want ahead of time! I liked the margaritas and the mudslides!

The view: FABULOUS!

One point to watch out for: at the airport, the baggage guys were aggressive, and did not "accept" our tip - he made us pay him more (after the fact). Then, he tried to get me to change the $20 bill that he said I gave him - I'm certain he was trying to change for a counterfeit one. BE CAREFUL! Overall, do your own bags if you can!

If you are travelling with little ones, be aware that you won't be able to get car seats in the taxis. I'm not sure this is uncommon in developing countries though. However, the Verandah was well-equipped for the little ones. The rooms were safe, they had lots of high chairs etc. Things to watch for: There seemed to be jellyfish and fire ants at the lesser used beach (small one near the reception). It is probably best to request a room nearer to the restaurants. A small stroller was invaluable. If you get both sides of a villa, have the maintenance guy come and fasten the adjoining door open (otherwise wind will blow it forcefully shut). Bring your own lifejackets for the kids. Bring your own sippy cups and bibs if needed. They do have a selection of beach toys for the kids, and other water toys that the kids can use.

Overall, the resort has everything you could want, and it was an excellent choice for people like us - small kids and a preference toward solitude.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

We had an amazing 5 days at the Verandah resort in our beach view apartment. The room is spacious and elegant with a nice terrance with beautiful view down to the main beach. Food service is great,recommend Nicole's restaurant for $25 extra.We had a lovely Lobster in a nice romantic setting.
The resort was fully booked during our stay but it never felt over crowded. Despite this we never had any problems booking a table in either the three restaurant nor the pool or the beach.
We'd definately go back to the Verandah again as we had the perfect holiday....

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

From the moment we arrived at the Verandah to the moment we left we were treated like Royalty.

The resort is nice and compact and although it had quite high occupancy levels, you would not know this as it never seems to be crowded.

The rooms were excellent and we had a room overlooking the water with fantastic views. Each room is extremely well fitted out and well decorated and kept clean

The Restaurants were excellent and one night we visited Nicol's Restaurant where the food/service was superb. The other 2 restaurants were excellent and provided a variety of high quality food and drinks. It was one of our groups birthdays during our stay and the restaurant helped us to celebrate in style. The service in all restaurants was excellent and our glasses never went empty.

The beach is excellent and has plenty of boats, kayaks etc to keep everyone occupied.
The main swimming pool is very nice and big and is kept very clean.

One of our party visited the Spa and had an excellent treatment at a very reasonable price.

Thank you to all the staff at the Verandah especially Mr Cedric Henry and Damien, Neil & Judian from the bar/restaurant who made the holiday for us. We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GHJ1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

We had a wonderful time, we had one week of easy sun, quiet beaches, gentle trade winds blowing and new friends. The room was large and comfy, the grounds were lush, cared for and relaxing. We enjoyed strolling about, viewing the aloe, magnolia, hibiscus, bananna trees and all the lush life.
The staff were easy going and open to any needs or questions we had.
The food was fine, not extraordinary, simple and healthy. I enjoyed the morning omletes made to my particular desires.The fuit was always plentiful and fresh.
I have to say the best part of the stay had to be the sports beach, the windsurfing and kayaking, was always a joy. I found many other guests to be easy going and friendly. I must say that it seemed to be a wonderful stay for families, the young children were very happy on the beach digging and playing...Overall, a quiet, lush, relaxing healthy time..We would love to go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amzpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philips
11.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,913 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
633 reviews
6.5 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
13.7 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,048 reviews
13.5 mi away
Starfish Jolly Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Verandah Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Verandah Resort & Spa

Address: Indian Town Rd, Saint Philips, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Philip Parish > Saint Philips
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philips
Price Range: $313 - $1,168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Verandah Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Verandah Resort & Spa is a world-class all-inclusive resort overlooking the crystal blue Caribbean waters of Antigua. Perfect for couples, friends, families, honeymoons, and weddings. Guests love the resort's friendly, romantic atmosphere, with lots of activities for adults, teens, and children--not to mention our Two White Sand Beaches!The Verandah's four restaurants, four bars, four swimming, including the largest freeform freshwater swimming pool in Antigua. Activities include hobie cat sailing, kayaking, swimming, snorkeling, pedal boats, supervised Kids Club, 18-hole miniature golf course, and much more.Indulge at our Spa Tranquility, featuring a wide array of massage and beauty treatments, or enjoy a workout in our air-conditioned fitness center.We look forward to having you as our guest, and thank for your choosing The Verandah Resort & Spa, Antigua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, West Indies, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Verandah Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandah Hotel Saint Philip
Verandah Resort And Spa
Verandah Hotel St Johns
Verandah Resort All Inclusive
The Verandah Resort & Spa Antigua/Saint Philips

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing