We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Fantastic - will be back...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Verandah Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philip
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Just Fantastic - will be back...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2009

Loved it! The level of service at the Verandah is second to none. Nothing was too much bother. The friendliness of the staff and the eagerness to satisfy I don't think I have ever witnessed anything like it anywhere in the world. The Verandah had been open for under a year at the time, and although it showed as there were still some small villas being built, the guests were all away from the works' - didn't bother us in the slightest and could only be seen entering and leaving the hotel grounds. We were booked into a sea front villa, right on the beach and stunning views. very well maintained with lots of complimentary goodies everywhere. Had mosquito nets on all doors and windows which is a god send for a place like Antigua. In short, a very comfortable room.

The grounds itself is quite well designed. short walk to the main beach, central area with huge pool, bar and restaurants. Ice boxes scattered around the complex for that all important chilled drink at any time of day or night.

Several restaurants to choose from, main buffet restaurant, separate a la carte and a slightly higher class gourmet restaurant (not included in your AI board basis). tons of variety, never boring with different themes on various nights. Breakfast however did get a tad repetitive, although I couldn't think of anything else they could have really offered.

Guest relations organised my family 3 separate outings which were amazing. Its about 30mins into St john's itself, which is a must for satisfying your souvenir urge - although be sure to check the shipping schedules and go at a time a cruise ship is not docked as it can get extremely busy!

The hotel also has quite a large kid's club with huge activity areas and climbing frames and other things to keep the little ones occupied. This was the first time we had used a child minding service at a hotel and although slightly worrying at first, they really helped ease my mind and our 4 yr old couldn't have been happier.

Just to sum up, the Verandah is great and we will be going back there... hope this helps...

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barnaclejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,010
    1,145
    323
    123
    46
See reviews for
1,229
1,841
38
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2009

We have had several wonderful holidays at this Resort - the rooms are spacious and to very good standard with lovely views. There is good choice of public areas, e.g two beaches, two pools with one for adult only use, and all in beautiful exotic gardens. We have been with and without our family and have found a good range of facilites for kids and adults alike. As all inclusive (the food is extremely good and lots of it with choice of buffet or waitress service restaurants to suit all requirements ) we thought it very good value for money. Having had such a great time this year, we have decided to go again next Feb!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMeec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2009

Great customer service from all departments. You must remember the Caribbean way of life is a slower pace than in England so factor this into response times etc. Nothing was too much trouble.
Accommodation was very good, spacious, well laid out, his and her wash basins, powerful shower etc. Good sea views from each 'chalet'. No hotel accommodatin blocks just modern semi detached chalets that had a kitchen and a living area leading onto your furnished verandah. Large wall mounted TV , radio alarm ,safe, ironing board etc.
Two beaches -one water sports based- and a quieter small beach for total relaxation. Must mention the safety part of the water-very shallow for quite a way out and no breaking waves.There are beach bars available but only the one at the water sport 'lovers beach' provided food and was accessed by a large number of steps, so not for the elderly or infirm. The food here was reasonable for a lunch time snack with your spirits or beers (sodas only from the beach itself) but the view was great, watching Pelicans dive into the sea near the rocks.
Main restaurants were much better and the quality of the food was of a higher standard than we thought you would get on the all inclusive package. We ate a la carte on all but one evening and the choice of restaurant was up to you. (usually any two of three open each night-check the night before to book specific time) Lots of choice with glasses being topped up often without the need to ask. This included Champagne and wine from the bottle.
Buffet style breakfasts and lunches with sea views and lots of waiters on hand. It never got too busy whilst we were there, but obviously avoid the 'rush' hours and you will be OK.
Facilitues include a well equiped Gym. floodlit tennis courts, spa, pool, table tennis etc. As with the resort in genral these were all modern, very clean and always free to use at any time, day or night.
Two pools (one adults only with a little bar) and the main one in a central location had plenty of sun lounges and large bathing areas with shaded umbrellas, tables and chairs..
Golf carts provided transport around and they were very frequent and many times we got offered lifts to/from the tennis in gardeners trucks or maintenance vehicles if we were caught walking!
The resort location itself is very good, being on a sheltered cove away from the large sea swells, but apart from a few '15 minute walks' (to Devil's Bridge and Long Bay beach) there is little more to see nearbye. There was enough going on in the resort so this was not a problem.
We took a half day snorkel/sailing trip on the Verandah Catamaran (extra cost) which was a great trip out.
Evening entertainment was, however poor, usually a singer or man on an organ or the like. The one thing it lacked was a seating area where you could met and chat with a drink after your meal. The only area was adjacent to the bar and pool, which was OK during the day, but it just lacked the 'evening' atmosphere.
There is a small newsagents/shop in the reception area which was expensive but we didn't need to visit it often.
All in all this was a near perfect holiday for us. We did the sporty things and enjoyed the food, drink, beaches etc but it is not for the club 18-30 youngsters who want nighlife and lots of fun. It is more like a relaxing, child friendly holiday where you chill rather than thrill.
We will be returning here with friends next year.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
3 Thank StockportBlueboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashpee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2009

After reading some negative reviews, we had a wonderful week's vacation at the Verandah in late January. Rich in options, the resort was well maintained and designed. The absence of cars made walking the grounds a pleasant experience. If the main pool was too busy, we went to the adult one. If we were bored with Reggae beach, we went to Lover's Beach. Our room had a lovely view and our neighbors were quiet. The room itself was modest, but tidy and well equppied.

If we wanted a break from the resort, we walked over to Long Bay, but usually hurried back to The Verandah for some more peace and quiet.

For an all inclusive, the food was much better than we expected as was the quality of wine/drinks served. We ate well during our week there. I felt the chef really tried to be smart in his choices and presentation and, given the mass audience, he did very good.

One thing struck us was the warmth of the staff members who always said hello or asked us if we need a ride in their little golf carts. When I locked us out of our room, they got us back in swiftly and with a good attitude.

Entertainment was understated and pleasant which suited us fine.

All told, we had a tranquil, relaxing week in a lovely, modern resort.

Leaving was the hardest part.

Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mart52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

We have our honeymoon there and it was fantastic. Location is very nice, just near to Devil's Bride (a must see).
We did not have the all inclusive option as we did not wanted to stay there all day for 2 weeks.
We have bought it for some days and the food was good but nothing special. Go out and explore!
Long beach is just few steps away, and almost everywhere you can get nice food for 15-20EC (drinks are also cheap).
Everybody is so nice and friendly. I mean out of the hotel. Sometimes in the hotel we faced some rude and "I don't care" staff, but not everybody was like this!
I suggest to rent a car and look all the beaches, talk to the people!
Also I suggest a catamaran tour (tropical adventures is the company name) it was fantastic!
I did not want to come back home!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — some staff was rude
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Hakka0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

To get the negative points out of the way, the pool bar for evening relaxation was totally inadequate but all that was available it was uncomfortable, windy and cold. The resort needs a comfortable lounge bar. The other negative for us was we felt the food could have been served hotter which was a shame as the food was good.
On the positive side the staff were all friendly the resort was lovely and the small beach wonderful. The rooms were one of the best we have experienced in the caribbean. Would we go again, yes if they upgrade the bar for evening relaxation.
Richard & Lynne

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank BusterSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2009

We have just returned from our fourth stay at this property. The resort is beautiful, staff is friendly and welcoming. Exceptional management make you feel like you are a member of the famiy. The rooms are spacious and clean with great views. Food is plentiful and delicious. Any special requests are happily granted. The beaches and pools are beautiful. The adult only pool is a great oasis for those not traveling with children. The management staff is top notch and always accessible to the guests. We have shared this resort with family and friends and our next trip is already planned for Aug. This return trip will include yet another family member who can't wait to get there!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maypag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip
11.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
6.5 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
0.3 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
13.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,217 reviews
14.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Verandah Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Verandah Resort & Spa

Property: The Verandah Resort & Spa
Address: Indian Town Rd, Saint Philip, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Phillip Parish > Saint Philip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Verandah Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Verandah Resort & Spa is a world-class all-inclusive resort overlooking the crystal blue Caribbean waters of Antigua. Perfect for couples, friends, families, honeymoons, and weddings. Guests love the resort's friendly, romantic atmosphere, with lots of activities for adults, teens, and children--not to mention our Two White Sand Beaches!The Verandah's four restaurants, four bars, four swimming, including the largest freeform freshwater swimming pool in Antigua. Activities include hobie cat sailing, kayaking, swimming, snorkeling, pedal boats, supervised Kids Club, 18-hole miniature golf course, and much more.Indulge at our Spa Tranquility, featuring a wide array of massage and beauty treatments, or enjoy a workout in our air-conditioned fitness center.We look forward to having you as our guest, and thank for your choosing The Verandah Resort & Spa, Antigua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, West Indies, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Verandah Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandah Resort And Spa
Verandah Hotel Saint Philip
Verandah Hotel St Johns
Verandah Resort All Inclusive
The Verandah Resort & Spa Antigua/Saint Philip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing