We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Verandah Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philips
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our trip was by far the most relaxing and wonderful experience. The grounds are just beautiful and the accommodations were great. We would like to send a special thank you to General Manager Philippe and Chef John Samuel for their kindness. Can you imagine a General Manager of a resort of that magnitude making sure we were able to find a tee shirt for my great-nephew? Chef John is most considerate and was truly concerned as to the guests dietary needs. He actually took the time to speak to us and his culinary skills are amazing. We cannot remember having a more delicious lobster dinner. The employees of The Verandah Resort and Spa were pleasant and always willing to make our vacation special. I will return to this resort and look forward to seeing the many kind people that made our vacation so memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,074 - 2,080 of 3,863 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

The staff were wonderful.
Kind and accommodating.
Relaxed yet professional.
Our thanks for their kind attentiveness.
The sprawling, rolling property is quite lovely, manicured yet lush.
A pleasure to stroll, especially given the number of gorgeous views and constant breezes.
The powder white sand beach and turquoise water is clear and clean (a bit of seaweed is natural people. It's not a swimming pool!)
BUT...
Other than the views, the rooms are forgettable and in need of a facelift.
They feel merely functional, lacking any warmth or character.
Where is all that beautiful colour that we saw on a drive through the island.
Paint those dreary cupboards.
The restaurants are equally in need of a update.
Menus and offerings seem out of touch with contemporary taste buds.
Where are the healthy alternatives to all that meat?
Double the size and variety of vegetable offerings, especially the salad bar which was meager at best.
And fresh fruit should be available at every restaurant, at every meal.
The resort's own vegetable garden, run by Papa, was a delight to see and suggests that improvements to the salad bar are coming...we hope.
And the resort could definitely use another restaurant.
Even something simple and funky like a BBQ/seafood shack next to the Rasta beach.
With a bit of attention to updating Verandah's offerings, this could be a 5-star resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ritajeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We arrived at the resort on 28 December for a planned family vacation until January 3rd, but then our flight was canceled due to severe cold weather in the NE United States and we could not get a flight out for another 6 days. The staff at the Verandah were wonderful, especially Myriam the resort’s room manager who went above and beyond trying to find lodging for us for an extra 5 nights . They are all very friendly and accommodating. Don't expect things to move quickly, we're on island time (something to be appreciated).The grounds of the Verandah are beautifully landscaped and well maintained, and give you the impression that you are in a private park. We enjoyed walking the grounds, although there is a shuttle. I recommend spending the extra money for a waterfront room, definitely worth it. They have two beaches, the main beach (for all non-motorized water sports) and the Rasta beach. Both have ample lounge chairs, and the Rasta beach has a bar. For the main beach you walk up the stairs to the Beach Bar, where you can enjoy a drink and have a great view of the ocean. Do walk to Devil's Bridge for an added attraction, or Long Bay (great beach).
Guest Services, and Tour Desk are very helpful in arranging trips. The main pool is also great for lounging, and there is an adult pool with great wifi. The main bar is the place to go in the morning for a cup of coffee, and in the evening to have a drink before or after dinner. As for food, I haven't been to any all-inclusive that serves gourmet food. The food is adequate, considering you have to appeal to such a broad section of individual tastes. The Verandah is great for families with school aged children. There are many activities for the children and we met several families that have been vacationing here for many years. If you're looking for all night binge drinking and craziness, this is not the place for you. If you're looking for a retreat from the busy work world, then consider the Verandah, it is the perfect place to relax.

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms closer to the Main Beach have great views of the ocean. Well worth the extra ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helgad28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We have just returned from the Verandah today, and loved our week here, only wish we had booked for ten nights, although a full two weeks would probably have been a bit too long for us personally.
Most things have been covered by other people in great detail in other reviews. Everybody has different tastes and expectations and I guarantee that every single hotel on here has excellent AND poor reviews depending on the authors personal tastes and expectations. From our personal opinion we were sitting around the pool two nights ago with friends laughing out loud as I read out some of the recent bad reviews that have been written on the Verandah! That being said I respect that for those people who wrote the bad reviews, things weren't up to their expectations and that's fair enough, but we loved it here.

In brief, the different theme nights in the buffet restaurant ranged from above average to satisfactory. The nights that we didn't like I certainly wouldn't say that the food was appalling, it just wasn't to our taste. We loved the French, Mexican, and Oriental nights, but didn't like the Caribbean or international nights, just down to our personal taste though. I can't understand why people have said the beach bar food is awful, we ate here most lunchtimes if we weren't out of the hotel and found the service quick by Caribbean standards, and like all other areas the individual staff varied in standard but I would say are overall above standard compared to other hotels I have stayed at across the Caribbean. Nobody was rude to us, but a small number of staff across the resort could be fairly indifferent in their attitude.

We thought our waterfront suite (room 164) was fantastic, everything was in working order, we found the bed hard but comfortable and it was cleaned to a high standard. The rooms aren't luxurious, but I have never stayed in a room in any hotel in the region that I would have described as luxurious so on that basis I would say our room was again above average standard for the Caribbean. We loved the layout of the resort with the pairs of rooms rather than staying in a hotel block style resort, and my three year old loved the rides around on the golf carts and the fact that the drivers always waved back at him as they drove past or even stopped to say hello.

Drinks wise I tend to agree with some people saying that some drinks were a little bit weak, but whenever I asked for another dash of rum on top of my daiquiris the request was met without any fuss. A few items ran out here and there, but were always back in stock by the next day and we never had to wait too long at any bar for our drinks. I would personally have liked a stocked mini bar in the room which I have had even in lower standard resorts elsewhere, but it's absence wasn't the end of the world as we would take a drink back to our room when going to get changed for dinner or when going back to the room at night.

To sum up I would say that this very good resort could be made excellent without having to change too much. The things that some people don't like seem to have a common theme so these could easily be changed if as the owner states on his own guest survey he wants to make the resort the best in the Caribbean, he really could make it towards the top end without having to change a massive amount in our opinion, and the little things that weren't perfect were still far too trivial to put us off from visiting again.

I would love to visit again and see that the changes needed have been out in place to really make this the special resort that it so easily could be.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank minglo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The location is lovely, the grounds are very well kept but the hotel itself is mediocre. The beaches look nothing like the photographs in the brochure, the main beach is small and all the loungers squashed in, it was sitting in a row at the cinema. no beach service it was a case of up the flights of steps and get it yourself. For anyone with young children in buggies it must be a nightmare to go to and from the beach.The rooms were clean and the views of the bay gorgeous
We spent five days here after spending seven days at the St James Club. I know where I prefer and it is not the Verandah. I just found the whole experience very disappointing, poor service, poor beaches and the night life was not great either, the best evening was the steel band , they were fabulous but as for the other nights well .....

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nannyfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at The Verandah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Verandah Resort and Spa. We value our guests' feedback as a way to continuously improve the vacation experience.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. The Verandah is located on 30 spectacular acres of beachfront with activities for guests of all ages.

We pride ourselves on providing guests with accommodation in a genuine, unpretentious environment where they can enjoy a one of a kind Caribbean experience. The goal of our resort is to provide dependable service to all of our guests, and we have been able to achieve this over the years. Because our success is measured by how our guests, evaluate our service and facilities, we want you to know that your comments have been taken seriously.

We do hope that when considering another fun-filled Caribbean vacation that we may host you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We have just returned from a much needed winter break in Antigua. The resort is in beautiful, spacious and well maintained grounds. There are two lovely, safe and sandy beaches with a variety of water sports and plentiful sun beds and shade.
Rooms are spacious, well maintained and stocked with toiletries.
The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, always ready to assist with a smile, very unlike previous comments.
We had some very well cooked food in the grill bar (the pastry chef deserves a special mention). a meal in Nicoles restaurant was well worth paying a supplementary charge.
We felt Buccaners restaurant needed some attention, possibly specialising in true Caribbean cuisine rather than 'International' to differ from the buffet. Specialist nights in the main restaurant were fine as was the buffet breakfast. All in all a lovely week.
We also recommend Elmo's personal escorted tour around the island, a very good service.

Room Tip: Water view to see the brown pelicans diving for fish. Either phone guest services to book restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank penguin64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Wow reading some of the bad reviews and wondering how experiences can be so different for some people who stayed at the resort at the same time.

We loved the resort start to finish - beautiful spot with plenty of options

Resort: easy check in and our room was ready. Staff were really warm and friendly - very happy group. We were offered a glass of bubbly as we checked. This is a great place if you have kids - one beach has water gear you can sign out complimentary (kayaks, sailboats, snorkel gear, baskits of sand and water toys for young ones). Of note they had a little powerboat on site so if anyone ran into trouble they would hop in the boat and go sort them out pretty quickly. On road 3 is a full outdoor games area with pool table, ping pong, shuffle board, etc... they also have a kids club on road 3 as well looks nice and safe and well cared for. This resort felt very safe.

A couple of mornings we were woken up to noise outside the room - gardeners start early here!!! could be a pain if you were a late sleeper, and it appears they are extending the water sport beach so there was some noise and construction there too.

The beaches are small but we always got a chair and they had plenty of towels to exchange - no issues with needing to reserve (thats a first). The water sport beach is seaweeding - and they try and remove some of the seaweed every other day (but hey thats nature folks!!) You can also go to Long Bay to swim in the waves and it has a longer beach. Go to the main drive of the resort and turn right its a 2 to 3 minute walk to the public beach. Note sometimes the cruise ships will come and let people off for swimming so it can get really busy - we did not experience this but others told us they did. You can also rent a chair for $5 dollars to put your stuff down, and you can also buy food there - dont bring valuables to the beach.

Devils bridge is also close to this property - it is located to the right of the sports beach about a 10 minute hike up a road - the fellas at the water sport area will show you the road. its easy to get too and a real experience - bring your cameras

This resort is hilly on roads 1 and road 2 which may be hard for smaller kids and those with mobility issues. However great excerise for those who do not have mobility issues - to get to the water sport beach there are stairs but the other beach is a flat walk with no stairs. I also hear the gym was good and they had some good classes.

Room: Bed was hard as indicated in other reviews but not unbearable. We had an unexpected water view room right off of our balcony - loved it! You can drink the water in Antigua - we did all week and no issues (we purchased a bottle of water on arrival and filled it with water all week and chilled it overnight in the fridge. There is a small kitchenette in each room (bar fridge,sink and microwave)

Food:Food was good lots of options at the buffet (its not a huge resort so its not a huge buffet). The Bucaneer restaurant was ok and I heard some people had reservation issues (we did not). Nicole's was good we had surf and turf. The service was really great at the buffett as soon as you walk in you are seated and given a tea or coffee pop as per your preference with enough for 2 people to have a few cups each.

Because its an Eco resort the music stops at 11PM but its a nice outdoor space to sit and have a drink after dinner. So if you are looking for wild and crazy nightlife this will not suite you but we met some great people and had a great time each night.

The spa is also good too

Off property trips - we did a day Trip Eli's Eco Tour and booked through our Tour rep, it was a good day out.

Room Tip: room 310 is a good room - close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lesliesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philips
11.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,927 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
643 reviews
6.5 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
13.7 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 8 in Saint Mary's
1,065 reviews
14 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Verandah Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Verandah Resort & Spa

Address: Indian Town Rd, Saint Philips, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Philip Parish > Saint Philips
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philips
Price Range: $326 - $1,312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Verandah Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Verandah Resort & Spa is a world-class all-inclusive resort overlooking the crystal blue Caribbean waters of Antigua. Perfect for couples, friends, families, honeymoons, and weddings. Guests love the resort's friendly, romantic atmosphere, with lots of activities for adults, teens, and children--not to mention our Two White Sand Beaches!The Verandah's four restaurants, four bars, four swimming, including the largest freeform freshwater swimming pool in Antigua. Activities include hobie cat sailing, kayaking, swimming, snorkeling, pedal boats, supervised Kids Club, 18-hole miniature golf course, and much more.Indulge at our Spa Tranquility, featuring a wide array of massage and beauty treatments, or enjoy a workout in our air-conditioned fitness center.We look forward to having you as our guest, and thank for your choosing The Verandah Resort & Spa, Antigua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, West Indies, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Verandah Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandah Hotel Saint Philip
Verandah Resort And Spa
Verandah Hotel St Johns
Verandah Resort All Inclusive
The Verandah Resort & Spa Antigua/Saint Philips

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing