We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Verandah Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philip
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Would definitely go again. No complaints. Food good and the Staff were so kind and friendly.
I cannot walk too far, but that wasn't a problem as they use golf buggies to collect you and take you anywhere on site. Even if you are not disabled they have 'Bus Stops' everywhere.
A lovely island too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cruise61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,029
    1,157
    325
    124
    46
See reviews for
1,238
1,858
38
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Have just returned from another wonderful week in paradise... the Verandah Resort and Spa. The staff are so friendly and obliging. The food and accommodation is of a very high standard. We ate a steak in Nicoles which was better than we had in the Waldorf Astoria New York in January. We have returned sun tanned, relaxed and recharged and looking forward to another visit next year.

Room Tip: The Sea View rooms are a little more expensive but we thought well worth it. We had a direct view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our family had a wonderful time in Antigua at the Verandah Resort. We went in July and were fortunate to have great weather except for some light rain twice during the day (it rained several times at night whlle we were sleeping, but that never affected our plans). We definitetely recommend a waterfront room... the view is amazing! The grounds were gorgeous and we loved that they grow their own bananas and tamarin, as well as some other produce. The main beach was our favorite with plenty of loungers, paddle boards, hobie cats, etc. We swam, snorkeled, and lounged in the turquoise water for hours. It is important to remember that you are in the Caribbean and on vacation and thus a relaxed mental attitude is a pre-requisite. I was surprised how uptight some people still were. We were definitely not THOSE people. We had fun! The food was decent, ranging from good to okay, depending on the restaurant and/or situation. However, this seems to be the case with all-inclusives. The drinks were definitely a highlight, and a big part of why we didn't care if the food wasn't perfect! :) The service was good, ranging from excellent and friendly to slow and less-than-friendly. Again, please refer to previous comments about relaxed attitude and good drinks, which really helped us to keep things in perspective. What really could we complain about?..... we were in paradise! This island is gorgeous with a lot of fun activities during the day (try the sting-ray and rain forest excursions). This is not a prime spot for night time entertainment, however we found the company of other guests entertaining and one band good enough to get everyone dancing. Bring your swimsuit, SUNSCREEN, and smile....you'll love it!

Room Tip: Waterfront if you like a good view and close proximity to beach. Noise wasn't an issue for us at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cofah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I came here at the end of April, the people were wonderful, Antigua is a beautiful island and the hotel is lovely,Only a couple of gripes for us really. Nicoles was raved about in many reviews (the a la carte restaurant you pay extra for) we were fortunate to have been given this complimentary, ( we would have been disappointed to have paid) my lobster was so awful I hid it under the rice, my hubby had never had it before and when he asked if I enjoyed my meal I couldnt lie,,,, it was awful!!! he said thank goodness you said the same!!! I thought Lobster was supposed to taste like rubber!!! Our main gripe was that .... an american t v crew were staying and filming at the resort - we feel like we should have been informed of this at booking because in truth we would have changed resorts!!! they were loud, rude took over every area they were at!!! areas of the hotel were closed for filming as were local attractions. The staff were lovely but the crew took preference when service was required, I do feel disappointed that we wrote personally to the manager and havent had any sort of a response. I would recommend the Verandah!!! but definitely not if they are going to have some sort of event there!!! regards Carolyn Andrews

Room Tip: Request a sea front room for beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

First time here, and its ideal for a chilled out & recharge holiday!
Lovely setting with well looked after plants and vegetation, we were taken to our villa via a golf cart with the driver explaining & showing all we needed to know. You can also catch these carts anytime of the day to go anywhere on the resort. The whole resort is very quite, no motorised vehicles other than the electric carts. Our villa was a great layout and size with a big balcony, the only let down was the bathroom which was a shame because it could be fantastic, the shower head was old and dirty, the floor flooded after using it, which was a design fault with the glass partition more than anything, and the bath (which was big enough for 2) had cracks down the sides. Other than the bathroom let down the villa was lovely.
Food was good in the buffet, not fantastic, different themes every night, we also eat in Buccaneers and the Beach grill which was very nice. The service in all the restaurants and bars are second to none, they really do look after you, always very polite and happy.
The entertainment at night as some have said is not the greatest, a group or solo singer , but it fits in well with the resort and probably is about right, and everyone when we were there joined in and seem to enjoy it.
The beaches and pools are great, 3 pools, one for adults, main beach & a smaller quieter one, which we used most, they were never full, no scrambling for loungers or finding them covered in towels!! The only problem we found during the day was there wasn't anything to do when it rained, which we had for 2 afternoons and went on into the night, as this resort really seems to depend on the sun. The spa as most people we talked to seemed to be well over priced...just cut the price and a lot more will use it !!...
Overall we really did enjoy it, we would go back there again, and would have no problem in recommending it to family or friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garivat42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, South Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

 The resort has a relaxing feeling soon as you get out of your transfer and step up to front desk. The front desk area is open air surrounded by lush vegetation.  The front desk personnel are extremely kind and the glass of champagne at check in starts your vacation out perfect.  

While being driven to your room on a golf cart, your driver explains the layout of the resort from the Shhh beach to the main bar.  The entire resort is surrounded by lush vegetation and beautiful scenery.  

The rooms are huge compared to any other resort or hotel we have stayed at. We had a waterfront room at the main beach which provided a stunning view of the bay and ocean.  It was absolutely breath taking for us.  

The service at the bars, restaurants, excursion desk, and customer service was excellent. Mrs. Sandra, Vera, and Monique are excellent bartenders.  Don't forget to ask them for the V-Par special drink.  If you eat at Nicole's or Buccaneer's ask for Tyrone or Charles. Tyrone provides excellent service and is extremely proficient. Although Charles wasn't our server at either of our meals, he went out his way to ensure everything was good and was super friendly with the tables he served.  

The nightly entertainment wasn't the greatest but it didn't really matter after a few vPar specials and traditional rum punches. 

Don't forget to stop at the spa for a massage.  My wife and I both had the hot stone massage.  WOW! It's a must do.  

The only things that could make it better would be room service for breakfast and a softer bed. Other than these, this was our best vacation and favorite resort yet. 

Room Tip: Waterfront Rooms 176-186 are on the main beach and right next to the main beach bar. Perfect locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parishve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We picked the Verandah Resort & Spa because we stayed there approximately 3 years ago and really enjoyed it then but it's true that nothing stays the same, in this case it JUST got worse. Entertainment in the evening was just awful but the major disappointment was the food once great but what a disappointment now!
Previously you could get wonderful dishes but now the food is very low quality, repetitive & boring. Also, there were not so many Premium drinks on offer but lots of generic copies. Staff indicated that management decided to cut costs in the food & drink area.
Come-on improve your food quality or loss your customers as we will never return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travelexpert186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at The Verandah Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us at The Verandah Resort & Spa. We greatly appreciate your comments, and your business, and we were happy to have you as our guests once again.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with the food. The Verandah Resort & Spa offers a range of dining experiences in three distinct mouth-watering restaurants

Seabreeze, the resort's main restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet style. It offers a wide range of choices that are sure to please guests of all ages. The Seabreeze evening buffets offer a variety of themes to meet everyone's taste. Nicole's, the fine-dining restaurant offers a blend of stylishly presented, Caribbean-inflected cuisine. Casual and fun, the Buccaneer serves lighter, family-friendly fare with an alternative a la carte menu, as well as afternoon tea

A total of four bars keep Verandah guests cool with a wide range of signature cocktails, top-shelf liquor, wine, beer and nonalcoholic beverages by the glass.

We have reviewed our guest comment cards and customer service reports, and we received very high marks for our dining and bar service this year. We understand that dining is subjective, and everyone has their preferences, which is why we work so hard to provide excellent menu selections, varied dining venues, and terrific service.

Please take the time to read the other very positive reviews left by recent guests, and know that we are always working to maintain our usual high levels of guest satisfaction. This includes constantly improving and monitoring all aspects of The Verandah experience for consistent quality assurance.

Again, we greatly appreciate your business, and the fact that you took the time to provide us with your thoughts. We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future, and to meeting and exceeding all of your expectations going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip
11.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
6.5 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
0.3 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
13.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,257 reviews
14.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Verandah Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Verandah Resort & Spa

Property: The Verandah Resort & Spa
Address: Indian Town Rd, Saint Philip, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Phillip Parish > Saint Philip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Verandah Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Verandah Resort & Spa is a world-class all-inclusive resort overlooking the crystal blue Caribbean waters of Antigua. Perfect for couples, friends, families, honeymoons, and weddings. Guests love the resort's friendly, romantic atmosphere, with lots of activities for adults, teens, and children--not to mention our Two White Sand Beaches!The Verandah's four restaurants, four bars, four swimming, including the largest freeform freshwater swimming pool in Antigua. Activities include hobie cat sailing, kayaking, swimming, snorkeling, pedal boats, supervised Kids Club, 18-hole miniature golf course, and much more.Indulge at our Spa Tranquility, featuring a wide array of massage and beauty treatments, or enjoy a workout in our air-conditioned fitness center.We look forward to having you as our guest, and thank for your choosing The Verandah Resort & Spa, Antigua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, West Indies, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Verandah Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandah Hotel Saint Philip
Verandah Resort And Spa
Verandah Hotel St Johns
Verandah Resort All Inclusive
The Verandah Resort & Spa Antigua/Saint Philip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing