We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing time in Antigua”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Verandah Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philips
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
7Oaks
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Relaxing time in Antigua”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent a fortnight here in mid June and eally enjoyed the relaxing time.

The hotel is spread out over a large area with large numbers of trees shubs and plants all around us, so there was a comfortable feeling of space and calm.

The main pool is not particularly large but more than adequate, we could always find sun beds.The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and for the most part well maintained. One item of equipment broke when we tried to use it and they replaced it with a brand new item without question.
All the staff went out of their way to be friendly courteous and helpful, even the behind the scenes staff.
The hotel cleaned the two beaches everyday even though they are public, as are all beaches on Antigua.
The food was good quality and freshly cooked. There are four restaurants, not all open at the same time. Nicole's. a fine dining experience so you had to pay a supplement, was well worth a visit.
The bar stocked a variety of brands, not just local and cheap stuff you get in so many all-inclusives.

The large distances and some slopes across the site, the hotel being built around the sides of a peninsular, were offset by golf carts running around all the time. Many rooms had steps but some didn't so anyone with a mobility issue would need to make it clear they needed a room with easy access.

The hotel was not large at 180 rooms, so on any one night the food choice in the main restaurant may not be as extensive as some of the much larger AI complexes we have stayed in the past but the selection changed each day so we were quite happy. The Buccaneer, an al la carte restaurant at no supplement, was a good choice for us and was very popular

The rooms were large, well equiped chalets in pairs, the one we had was a waterview room where we had a very good view of the bay, over the roof of the waterfront room one tier in front of us. So if you dont mind seeing a roof in front of you save the money by not booking one on the waterfront.The only bad point and probably true of many similar hotels, when it rained the tin roof really made a tremendous noise. The staff cleaned the rooms very well daily although sometimes quite late in the day.

The best beach for snorkelling was out of the hotel front gate and 300 yards down the road to the right where a small reef had a large variety and volume of fish, some not so small.

Evening entertainment was OK, but we are not massive fans of music and are not night owls so we are probably not best to judge.

We had one member of bar staff who was rude to us, a significant exception to the rule, but that was sorted out.

The hotel could do with a hot tub /whirlpool and the spa treatments seemed very expensive at about three times what we pay in the UK. Otherwise no real negative comments.

Overall a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm5823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,060
    1,172
    329
    125
    46
See reviews for
1,261
1,878
39
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I am writing this review from on the last night of our honeymoon.

Here is heat you need to know about the Verandah:

The good first.
-the water sports
-the layout of the resort
-it's an island, very beautiful
-the AC worked in our room

The bad.
-The food. It's mediocre at best. We struggled to find a meal we enjoyed; actually we never found one for the 8 days we spent here. We learned to not eat any type of meat the hard way. More than one piece of beef or chicken smelled like fish. My wife spent one night in the bathroom.
-the employees, some were helpful, but most treated us poorly. Despite our overly friendly attitude we felt we were a giant inconvenience
-the bed, it's very hard and uncomfortable
-the details- soda was flat, beer was rarely cool (never cold), sit down dinner took over 2 hours to get the sub par food, nightly entertainment was poor (except for the Tuesday night steel drum band, they were great), the refrigerator didn't cool very well, the grounds crew routinely ran their power equipment in the early AM, the only two ice machines we could find didn't work, I could go on.

If you are shopping for an Antigua resort, look elsewhere. If you already booked a trip here, bring your patience, some food and lower your expectations.

We still enjoyed our honeymoon, but the Verandah tried pretty hard to ruin it. We are a fun loving, easy going couple. I am confident that most of these reviews were written by the Verandah.

Room Tip: Go to a different resort, or bring a blow up mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at The Verandah Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We appreicate the feedback we receive from all of our guests and thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.

The Verandah offers a range of dining experiences in three distinct restaurants well as four bars sparkled throughout the resort.

We have reviewed our guest comment cards and customer service reports, and we have received very high marks for our dining and bar service this year. We understand that dining is subjective, and everyone has their preferences, which is why we work so hard to provide excellent menu selections, varied dining venues, and terrific service. Our restaurant staff does the utmost to accomodate all requests and ensure that our guests throughouly enjoy the cuisine.

The resort offers mattress toppers for those guests who desire a softer mattress. These are available to all guests.

Please take the time to read the other very positive reviews left by recent guests, and know that we are always working to maintain our usual high levels of guest satisfaction. This includes constantly improving and monitoring all aspects of The Verandah Resort & Spa experience for consistent quality assurance.

Antigua is a fantastic island for a very full, authentic Caribbean holiday experience…and The Verandah Resort & Spa Bay provides the perfect setting for your island retreat.

Again, we greatly appreciate your business, and the fact that you took the time to provide us with your thoughts. We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future, and to meeting and exceeding all of your expectations going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here in May 2012 for two weeks. Whilst we concur with many of the favourable comments and did enjoy some aspects of the resort, it was disappointing in other ways. In short, it was very expensive for what it is…

The resort is on a steep hillside with beautiful views enjoyed by many rooms but we could only see trees and the back of the beach bar. There was a concrete pathway around the complex, which is obviously necessary but staff transferring guests and cleaning equipment were constantly running up and down in golf carts. The stunning hillside views promised in the brochure were not there for us unless we went to other viewpoints of the resort.

The rooms were spacious but dated. The furniture is dark rattan type wood and the bed was quite comfortable. The safe was fastened to the floor in the darkest corner of the sliding door wardrobe and it was awkward to see in, even on hands and knees. The biggest issue was that the rooms are all in pairs. We had different neighbours throughout our stay and one couple was incredibly noising, with doors and drawers being banged. Others we spoke with, shared similar experiences especially with children next door. There were lots of noisy frogs at night too which is interesting but some might find it distracting.

The food in the restaurant was of a good standard and the staff were very friendly. The managers at the entrance always made a point of chatting to us to have a bit of great banter. The issue for me that seriously lets this restaurant down is all the birds flying through, landing on tables and chairs. Yes, they left something in return for helping themselves to food and drink. Many chairs were left with tell-tale signs of birds visiting.

The two beaches on this resort were small and not impressive but popular enough. There were a few things to use/hire and bars at both. Whilst the sand was fine, one beach had a lot of fire-ants (the type that ‘bite’) and the other had a muddy/swampy area at the side, which is obviously necessary to support wildlife but looks unsightly. (Cut through this way if you want to walk down to Devil’s Bridge)

There are several pools here. One is the main one by the main bar and restaurant building. This got a bit busy at times and we saw some silly behaviour here with people jumping off the water feature. The adult pool was back along the path to reception but this wasn’t private or quite with those golf cards going up and down. There was a quite isolated pool a short distance from the adult pool, sort of going along the path to reception but then turning left, back up the hill. Yes, you guessed, the golf carts used this bit too.

The evening entertainment was ok with a couple of live bands and the bar served reasonable quality drinks too. The bar seating area was a bit limited and when it rained there wasn’t much room under the bar roof.

We hired a car for a couple of days and drove about the island with no trouble at all. We met a lot of friendly people and found some great little places. Some were tourist attractions such as Shirley Heights, Betty’s Hope or Nelson’s Dockyard but we found some beautiful beaches too. There are said to be over 360 here. Many are insignificant or not accessible but others we discovered such as Half Moon Bay, Runaway beach or Valley Church Bay were just how you imagine the Caribbean to be.

There are other places in the world that offer much better value. Some people love this place and go back and I can understand some of their reasons. We won’t be going back but enjoyed some things about the place. Getting out to see the island was definately the highlight. In our humble opinion, it was expensive for what it is...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merseyblue-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I went with a friend to Antigua on June 22-June 29 and stayed at the Verandah Resort and Spa.
The hotel was beautiful, the staff was super friendly, the rooms were spotless and the food was yummy!!!!
If I had to write anything somewhat negative, it would be that entertainment on the resort is lacking.
Otherwise, would go back in a heartbeat.
An extra special thanks to everyone at the Verandah from our friends at the front desk, to our housekeepers, to our chefs/wait staff and all the other lovely works throughout the resort.
This resort is wonderful for families, couples, friends and even for people wanting to travel alone.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 177 which was a water view suite. If you have the means to pay a little more for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Whether you just want to sit by the azure waters with your favorite drink in your hand, or you might want to lie by one of the many pools. Or go sailing, canoeing, play tennis, table tennis, shuffleboard, mini golf, or tone up your muscles in the gym. It's all here at the Verandah, Antigua.
The restaurants cater for every kind of diet, whether it be a nice fresh salad, lovely cooked meats, accompanied by various vegetables, and all washed down with a complimentary drink, and then finish it all off with one of the exquisite desserts.
The accommodation has everything you require, a comfortable bed, with a large bath in the bathroom. Each apartment has it's own kitchen, that's if you need to use it. There is television with numerous channels for all the family. Or sit outside on your own balcony. Come to the Verandah for a memorable holiday.

Room Tip: If you want a spectacular view, pick a waterfront bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank polakHorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have had a superb week at the Verandah resort & spa & I highly recommend it.
The staff are extremely polite and the management team have been excellent especially when the phone chip I bought went astray & the management replaced it at no cost.
Philippe & Arleen & the management team have been superb and I would recommend it as one of my best trips.
The resort is nestled around several inlets with beautiful beaches and brilliant water sports available.
Food & the restaurants in the resort are of a high standard.
The climate is perfect and there is everything to recommend about the Verandah resort.
Antigua is a wonderful,interesting and friendly island and all seasoned travellers should make it a date in their travel diary.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

1st Trip to the Caribbean, and wow it was great. We stayed at the Verandah so I wanted to share my experience in a few short paragraphs.

Firstly, this place is beautiful. The resort complex is beautifully landscaped and the beaches on the resort property are some of the best I have ever been on, if not THE best. The water is gorgeous and the whole place is clean and well taken care of. If you are looking for beauty, then this is definitely the place to go.

Secondly, the place is busy, but not too busy. If you want to take part in some fun activities with groups of people then the option is there. However, if you want some peace and quiet then there are many places on the property including the Rasta Beach and the Adult pool where it can feel like you are the only people there.

There are plenty of activities on site. There is an excellent mini golf course, as well as a number of pools. There is also a decent fitness center, ping pong, tennis, volleyball, shuttleboard and many other things to do.

The food was very good throughout my stay. There are some items in the buffet that did not tickle my fancy, but that's more personal preference and there were more than enough good items for it not to be an issue. The fine dining in Bucaneers and the Beach Grill (evenings) served some luxury items, and even the snacks all tasted great.

The rooms we stayed in were very nice and spacious. They had all the amenities that I would expect and offered a nice view. The maids cleaned up nicely every day and we couldn't have asked for anymore.

To add, there were a couple of negative points that didn't bother me, but just to add them as they may be an issue for others. Firstly, there was not a hot tub. I didn't need one, but others may find this to be important. Secondly, the bar was often missing some drinks for cocktails. I'm easy and was happy to have something else, but others may not be. Finally, one day the golf course was closed from 12-3 while the sprinkler was on. We just waited, but others may find it an issue if planning out in advance. All in all, three very minor points that were in no way important to me and had no effect on the 5 star rating that I will be giving this hotel.

To conclude, this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking at Antigua. I came away thinking this was one of the best vacations I have had and would like to thank the Verandah Resort for making the vacation one to remember.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topharry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philips
11.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,845 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
565 reviews
6.5 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
13.5 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
14.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Verandah Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Verandah Resort & Spa

Property: The Verandah Resort & Spa
Address: Indian Town Rd, Saint Philips, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Philip Parish > Saint Philips
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philips
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Verandah Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Verandah Resort & Spa is a world-class all-inclusive resort overlooking the crystal blue Caribbean waters of Antigua. Perfect for couples, friends, families, honeymoons, and weddings. Guests love the resort's friendly, romantic atmosphere, with lots of activities for adults, teens, and children--not to mention our Two White Sand Beaches!The Verandah's four restaurants, four bars, four swimming, including the largest freeform freshwater swimming pool in Antigua. Activities include hobie cat sailing, kayaking, swimming, snorkeling, pedal boats, supervised Kids Club, 18-hole miniature golf course, and much more.Indulge at our Spa Tranquility, featuring a wide array of massage and beauty treatments, or enjoy a workout in our air-conditioned fitness center.We look forward to having you as our guest, and thank for your choosing The Verandah Resort & Spa, Antigua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Verandah Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandah Hotel Saint Philip
Verandah Resort And Spa
Verandah Hotel St Johns
Verandah Resort All Inclusive
The Verandah Resort & Spa Antigua/Saint Philips

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing