We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good But Not That Good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Verandah Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Verandah Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philip
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good But Not That Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a very good resort but the staff arent that good ppl like Vera, Noel, Kyle Etc are excellent but other arent after youve been to the resorts facilty of watersports three times they get tired and justget annoyed and there on their phone but other times were nice but dont go kyaking to far down thats where devils bridge is its rocky and we nearly got washed up.

Everything else OK.

Room Tip: Go To The Middle If You Have Family
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCABBHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EIR123, Public Relations Manager at The Verandah Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you left with such a poor impression of our customer service. Delivering a positive customer service experience is very important to us. Staff are not meant to use mobile telephones whilst working, this will be brought up with Management. We are pleased you enjoyed the resort overall, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,987
    1,130
    317
    121
    46
See reviews for
1,213
1,820
38
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

At the beginning of October
My wife and I stayed at the Verandah for 1 week despite a relaxing break we left with mixed views about the hotel itself. I would agree with other comments.

From the promotional material I understood it was 4* resort, not in my experience more a good 3*, as such the price should reflect it.

On arrival the reception is just ok nothing special or feel of a higher class hotel, there is no porter to help with luggage and staff are not quick, we arrived by taxi; however it must be worse If you arrive on shared transport from airport.

The rooms are spacious but underwhelming great. The decor is very basic, there is no mini bar or daily water in the room. The quality of the daily clean has a lot to desire, in our stay our room was never cleaned before 16:30.

The quality of the bedding and towels are tatty and grubby.

The resort is so big. If you have a room away from the main pool, good luck you will have a long walk to get anywhere.

Free WIFI, don’t make me laugh. (Connectivity is exceptionally poor).

The Hotel shop is a rip off; fortunately it is so far away you are not tempted to use it.

Tip: - Take a walk up to Devils Bridge and buy there, these are nice genuine people.

The main restaurant has Buffett breakfast/lunch/dinner on daily basis the food is ok but not great, One of them called Nichols is a bit better which you have to pay a supplement (All inclusive?).

All in all a good holiday and if you book with the above in mind you will have a great time. If you are looking for a 4* luxury you will not find it here and should spend the extra and upgrade to one of the 5* on the island.

Hope you will find the review helpful and if you have any questions contact me and I am happy to answer.

Biggest disappointment was nothing to do with the Hotel. I had a phone stolen going through customs on my way home.

Will I be going back to Antigua: - No.

Room Tip: Near the Main pool and the resturants (away from the shop)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _whyley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EIR123, Public Relations Manager at The Verandah Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We are sorry that the resort did not live up to expectation. We do not supply bottled water as the water is safe to drink as it comes from our own desalination plant. By not supplying plastic bottles we are cutting down on our carbon footprint, which is very important to us. With regards to your room we are sorry that you were disappointed, linen replacement is an ongoing process. The quality of the wifi is dependent on the service provider, if they are having technical issues this will of course impact on the service. It is generally a very good service. We are sorry you were disappointed with the quality of the food. We try to offer a range which appeals to all palates. Thank you for sharing your comments, if you wish to discuss any of the issues raised please contact us directly at pm.verandah@candwa.g
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

This property is full of young english couples with young children. Many also brought grandma and grandpa as well to babysit. Nice large pool but overrun by little kids all the time. Bartenders mostly slow and tired and grumpy at the pool bar. Property had 2 small beaches that were crowded and noisy. Food at the beach bar was mostly good to very good. The beach bar is 40 steps up from the beach. Food at main restaurants was mostly good. We found a very nice quiet long beach 2 minutes walk outside the front entrance (long bay beach). For $20us we rented 2 nice chairs and an umbrella for the day and plunked down on this wonderful beach. The rasta bar directly behind us served ice cold beer ( 2 for $5us ) and Mamas Pasta served authentic italian food at rustic tables overlooking the beach. We enjoyed this much better that the resort beaches.
Overall, this resort is wonderful for families but it is at best a 3star property. Couples may find many resorts all over Antigua better suited to their needs.

Room Tip: best rooms are overlooking the beach. ask for rooms in 168-184 range . They are also close to everyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EIR123, Public Relations Manager at The Verandah Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We are sorry you felt that the resort did not live up to expectation. Many of our guests enjoy all the facilities on offer and that we cater for both families and couples. Your review of the bar staff is disappointing as customer service is very important to us and all our staff receive extensive training. Your comments will be shared with Management. Thank you for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I were looking for a holiday where we could get away from it all, not have to worry about a single thing and r-e-l-a-x. There it little more to say other than it ticked all our boxes.
Our room was ideally located (number 184), within a stone's throw of the Beach Bar and Grill and steps down to the main beach, and only a two minute stroll from the main pool and restaurants. Not to mention the view - stunning! If you can afford it, definitely opt for a ocean view room.

I'll admit - I can be fairly snobby when it comes to the idea of all inclusive resorts, and when I see facilities listed such as 'programme of entertainment, mini golf, beach volleyball tournaments' etc etc, I usually recoil in horror. It all sounds so horribly tacky! I really didn't have anything to worry about with the Verandah - the facilities and entertainment on offer were all fantastic. The mini golf area (inc tennis courts, pool table/ping pong) in particular is very good quality and a fun way to kill some time between the beach and dinner.

The food is varied and tasty, lots of options if you don't fancy the standard mains on offer. Breakfasts were yummy (waffles, mmm) and dinner was tasty. There are birds that fly in during breakfast, but don't worry about there being 'mess' everywhere; it is a spotless restaurant and there is no where for the birds to perch 'above' tables etc, so just soak up the quirkiness!

We ate at the beach bar every lunchtime; the open air dining was refreshing and I had a massive soft spot for the cats that hang around there (despite what other another reviewer said, I didn't find them particularly 'beggy' - just friendly and affectionate, if you didn't feed them they'd leave you alone). The food was delicious too, a standard lunch for us was usually grilled fish with salad/chips, and some ribs/BBQ chicken on the side... yeah yeah, doesn't sound particularly Antiguan, but it was so worth it!! The only thing I will say is that the beach bar can get very busy and lead to waits of up to an hour for food, so if I were you I would get there early and order before the rush!

Would definitely return to the Verandah... while it may not be your typical luxury 4* top resort, it felt like a home from home and if you just go with the flow, you'll not fail to love it.

Room Tip: Our room (184) was perfectly located in my opinion, but any that are beach/main pool end would be pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tropicaltease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and 11-year old daughter stayed at the Verandah for 9 days in late November. It was our 2nd time staying at that resort and our 7th stay on Antigua. We had a great time. The resort has two nice beaches and several pools (there's a quiet one for adults) including the huge one seen in pictues where we went every day. The rooms are spacious, duplex-like cottages; we had a breathtaking ocean view with a huge balcony. We never heard out neighbors. The resort is spread out over many acres --my scenic morning walk was one of my favorite things. If you don't want to walk you can call for a golf cart to get you around. The resort has water sports (my daughter kayaked with a friend she met there), tennis courts, and a mini golf course (it does have shade but it might be a better after sunset activity). We ate at the buffet restaurant several times as well as the Beach Bar. We didn't eat at the Bucaneer, so I can't report on the food there but we all enjoyed Nicole's very much; it's worth the upgrade fee. (We would have gone to it more, but it's only open Mon-Wed-Fri). Make dinner reservations early. The bars have top shelf liquor and a decent variety of drinks. I didn't use the spa facilities or the gym. Everyone we met was very nice, especially Shaun, one of the golf cart drivers and Nevelyn at the Seabreeze. The staff is especially nice to kids; we didn't really use the kids club but we heard great things about it.

If you want a change of scenery, Long Bay is a two minute walk down the street. This is a great beach to walk and snorkel. There's also two good restaurants located there if you're looking for a change of pace--Mama Pasta and La Tartaruga. Good food at both and you can't beat the views.

We'll definitely come back to the Verandah.

Room Tip: I'd recommend asking to be near to the pool--it's close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SMT5400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We've stopped at the verandah resort for 2 weeks between 26th October - 9th November 2012.
We have had a brilliant time however feel mixed about the hotel itself. Firstly it is not a 4* which is what it is being advertised under. Due to this it has some shortcomings and disappointments.
Dissapointments
Reception/arrival experience
Service in some areas
Room furnishings/cleanliness
Food/choice of restaurants
Car hire company located on premises
Beach

Good points
Staff
Layout of resort and grounds
Views/sunset from water front rooms (116)

On arrival the reception has no wow factor or feel of a higher class hotel, there is no porter to help with luggage and staff are not the most attentive. If you arrive on shared transport from airport
there can be queues at reception and check in could be a lengthy process. Once checked in an electric buggy will cart you around to your veranda. The rooms are spacious and if you upgrade to a water front room the views are great. The decor is outdated and basic, bathrooms need a facelift, there is no mini bar or daily water in the room. There is no turn down service at night, and the quality of the daily clean has a lot to desire. The quality of the bedding and towels are poor and feel cheap & worn. The insulation between the 2 rooms is poor you can hear conversations between your neighbours. The crickets at night are noisy and first I didn't think I would get any sleep however it's amazing how you adopt to noises and by the 3-4 night you don't even realise the noise is there anymore.
The main restaurant has Buffett breakfast/lunch/dinner on daily basis the food is nice but not great and if you are staying for 2 weeks it does get very limited on choice even though there are 3 other restaurants for evening meal choices. One of them is an extra 30dollars/person called Nichols meant to be fine dining but again it's not. They do a great lobster though which is worth the visit. This is also the only air conditioned area in the complex other than the rooms.
Service is not great but I think this is pretty standard in Antigua! All drinks are served in plastic well faded and used cups sometimes even in the evening!
Beach - there are 2 beaches, one very small quiet beach and the main one with some water sports. However the beach is not a long stretch of uninterrupted white sandy one but more a small bay, there is no drink service on the beach you can help yourself to a can of pop from the cooler box if you are early enough or if you fancy something else you need to fetch from the bar.
If you are hiring a car please DO NOT use the one on the resort grounds called LIONS cars, they hire non roadworthy/dirty cars which break down and they do not refund your money! Try complaining to the hotel only to be told its nothing to do with them they only hire a room! The hotel should not allow them to be on the grounds if they don't believe they are reputable as this gives false impression to guests!
We have loved the layout of the resort lots of walking and grounds are great, very hilly so good for exercise ! don't be alarmed by this though if you don't want the walk there are plenty of carts running about to transport you. there is entertainment every night some better than other. The 'extreme' boat trip around the island was one of the highlights and the beaches around are excellent. St. John's, Dickinson bay and jolly harbour are well worth the visit.
All in all a good holiday and if you book with the above in mind you will have a great time. If you are looking for a 4* luxury you will not find it here and should spend the extra and upgrade to one of the 5* on the island!
Hope you will find the review helpful and If you have any questions just e-mail me and I am happy to answer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hungary1leicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EIR123, Public Relations Manager at The Verandah Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We are sorry that you were disappointed with the resort and it was not what you had expected. We do not supply bottled water as the water in the resort is drinkable as it comes from our own desalination plant. This cuts down on the amount of plastic used in the resort which is part of our Green Policy. The plastic glasses are always being replaced, but with constant use and being cleaned in the dish washer they become faded quickly. The rooms are cleaned daily, so we are sorry that you felt the standard of cleaning was poor. Towels and bed linen replacement is an ongoing process. With regards to Lion rental, please contact us directly at corp-comments@candw.ag and we will follow up the complaint further with the company, we apologise that you did not receive the help you required at the time. We are pleased you overall enjoyed your holiday and the resort layout and grounds. Thank you for all your comments, they will be passed onto Management. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton Bray
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I booked this holiday as a surprise birthday for one of my party of four and we had a brilliant time and returned today. Don't believe all the negatives you read from other people. I was sold this as a 4/5* resort which it isn't, it's a high end 3* however all of the staff went out of their way to make this a fantastic and memorable holiday. Our room was ocean facing and was immaculate, a short walk away were the main attractions i.e. pool, beach, restaurants etc and if you're too lazy to walk, then golf carts will pick you up.
The watersport facilities were amazing and Douglas and Carlos could not be more helpful - really accomodating, friendly, patient, funny and nothing was too much trouble. If you get a chance, get Carlos to take you out on the catermaran - what a brilliant experience.
The food wasn't always to my taste, however, there is enough choice so you don't have to go hungry. I received a daily call from guest services to check how my holiday was going and they went out of there way to support with birthday surprises! The one downside was having a late flight and having to pay extra if I wanted to keep my room - something I've never had to do before on other Caribbean islands e.g. Jamaica and Dominican Republic. Go experience it for yourself - we had a brilliant time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip
11.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#3 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
6.3 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
0.3 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#2 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,187 reviews
14.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Verandah Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Verandah Resort & Spa

Property: The Verandah Resort & Spa
Address: Indian Town Rd, Saint Philip, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Phillip Parish > Saint Philip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Verandah Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Verandah Resort & Spa is a world-class all-inclusive resort overlooking the crystal blue Caribbean waters of Antigua. Perfect for couples, friends, families, honeymoons, and weddings. Guests love the resort's friendly, romantic atmosphere, with lots of activities for adults, teens, and children--not to mention our Two White Sand Beaches!The Verandah's four restaurants, four bars, four swimming, including the largest freeform freshwater swimming pool in Antigua. Activities include hobie cat sailing, kayaking, swimming, snorkeling, pedal boats, supervised Kids Club, 18-hole miniature golf course, and much more.Indulge at our Spa Tranquility, featuring a wide array of massage and beauty treatments, or enjoy a workout in our air-conditioned fitness center.We look forward to having you as our guest, and thank for your choosing The Verandah Resort & Spa, Antigua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, West Indies and Hotels.com so you can book your The Verandah Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandah Resort And Spa
Verandah Hotel Saint Philip
Verandah Hotel St Johns
Verandah Resort All Inclusive
The Verandah Resort & Spa Antigua/Saint Philip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing