We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family vacations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ellen Bay Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ellen Bay Cottages
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family vacations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at Ellen Bay Cottages for 3 weeks and we'll definitely will come back! Great family vacations for the reasonable price. Bernadette, Chippie and their kids became good friends during our staying. Thank you very much! There is a great opportunity to travel around and explore different beaches form Ellen Bay Cottages, our favorite Half Moon Bay is just about a short distance drive. This is a location for people looking for privacy, most days we were along at the Half Moon Bay which was exactly what we were looking for from our vacations. Bernadette and Chippie are sweet hearts, they were following all our needs, from getting fresh fish to excursion trips around the island. We would never forget how Bernadette thought us to cook local dish from coch, it was just amazing! I highly recommend unforgettable hiking trips every Saturday with Bernadette and other local people. Fishing in the ocean with the local fisherman was very exciting too! Finally, we brought home to Siberia (Russia) and Vancouver( Canada) nice conch shells which Bernadette kindly presented to us!!!! Thank you for lovely vacations!

Room Tip: Amazing view from the top apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OlgaWrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I just got back from my stay at the Ellen Bay Cottages. The managers live on the property, and they will help you whatever it is. I stayed in the studio, it had everything I needed, I did bring my own shampoo. You have to supply your own food also. It is not a large hotel chain, just a privately owned in a very quite neighborhood. Far away from the larger town of St. John. If this appeals to you then this is your place. For a fee Chippy will supply your transportation. He is very reliable.
Their web site describes exactly the way I saw it. I like to support the private hotels as much as I can. You find one that they really care about their customers. It makes a big difference in your stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank acrackergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

It's all been said elsewhere. This is laid-back Antigua away from the tourist trail. This side of the island is so much nicer than the commercial west side. The apartment was functional but not 5* luxury. If you want that go elsewhere. This has character rather than plastic hotel uniformity. One word of warning: if you worry about driving safety get your hire car at the airport and pay top dollar. Chippy's loan car is ... 'Idiosyncratic'. Full of character and driving it you'll never be mistaken for a tourist!
A trip with Antigua Paddles is a must.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at Ellen By Cottages from January16-20th, 2013. We felt like staing at home. Bernadette and Chippie were like good friends from the first moment we met. The upstairs appartment had 2 bedrooms, kitchen, living and dining room, TV with many channels. WIFI worked good. Our 2,5 yr. old Daughter enjoyed little ZOO at Stingray City just couple minutes walk. There is no good beach to swim, but the nearest beaches are only 15-20 min. by a car. We went hiking together and went to the church on Sunday. If you like to stay with local people and learn about local's life far from tourists, this is the place to be.If we will go back to Antigua, we will stay here.

Room Tip: for family or more people upstair appartments are the right choice. SIngle travelers can stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Wonderful experience at Ellen Bay Cottages. The apartment was spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet with a beautiful terrace for breakfast. Great location. Bernadette and Chippy are excellent hosts.
Antigua is amazing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank nickEros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We were guests at Ellen Bay Cottages from Jan 18 - April 18 of this year, in one of the upper-level two-bedroom apartments. From Chippie collecting us at the airport and diverting to the grocery outlet so that we could stock up on some basics to a last-night dinner party put on for us at the sister Ellen Bay Inn which included a number of our new friends from the community , we enjoyed nothing but hospitality at the hands of Bernadette and Chippie. They provided us with the very reasonable rental of a car, gave us a boat trip out to Bird Island, and were ever available for advise on outings and the latest happenings on the Island. We were soon going on 5a.m. hiking club excursions with them most Saturdays - an enjoyable way to start a day.

We found our accommodation well outfitted and quite comfortable thanks to air-conditioning in the bedrooms. The balcony outside was a favourite perch for watching the boats coming and going from the local piers. Lobster and fish were available for purchase most days from the fishermen at the pier below us. The friendliness of the Antiguans was outstanding: Seatons Village were especially welcoming to us and we always enjoyed our frequent walks through the area. We appreciated living in a small community far from the tourism of St John's. Most of our dinners out were taken at the Ellen Bay Inn, where the chef made meals to order and charged very reasonable prices. Seatons would not be a suitable accommodation location for people who love the 'night life', but it is perfect for couples like ourselves who love to hike and birdwatch and snorkel, as long as one rents a vehicle for getting about the Island. We found the road system as badly in need of repairs as mentioned in all the comments on Antigua, but ...hey, adjust and accommodate! At least we were only there for a few months: we have a lot less to complain about than the local population that deals with the roads year round!

Stingray City and Antigua Paddles are just a few properties down from the Cottages. Long Bay and Halfmoon Bay are fairly close for beach excursions. We snorkeled at both but especially liked snorkeling in the bays on the near side of Devil's Bridge and off the Pillars of Hercules by Galleon Bay. Birdwatching was great at Christian Valley birding trail, McKinnon's Lagoon and at the Galley Bay Resort pond. Hiking was good around Shirley Heights and Nelson's Dockyard and we ended up climbing a fair number of hills around the Island. We never did feel bored during our 3-month stay and made lots of new friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Having first stayed in 2009, the memorable experience tugged me back. A lovely quiet spot, but Antigua is so small all of the beaches are accessible with a car. If you have no car the owners are always willing to help with transport, and in fact will accommodate all requests.
The apartment was furnished, with air conditioning. Very clean and comfortable.
Our apartment was a 2 bed apt, and would easily accommodate a family.
Friendly people, some of the most beautiful (empty) beaches in the world. Very laid back atmosphere. The roads are a bit potholed, but this adds to the experience!
I would wholeheartedly recommend.

Room Tip: I have only stayed in Room 3 which is a double room with a large verandah. The verandah was shared w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjj1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip
2.3 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
8.9 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
0.1 mi away
Ellen Bay Inn
Ellen Bay Inn
#1 of 3 in Saint Philip
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
11.0 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellen Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellen Bay Cottages

Property: Ellen Bay Cottages
Address: Seatons Village, Saint Philip 0001, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Phillip Parish > Saint Philip
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Saint Philip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ellen Bay Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a place to stay where you can enjoy the natural environment and be a part of Antiguan life, Ellen Bay Cottages offers you a unique little taste of Antigua. Set one minute walk away from a local jetty, with beautiful views of the Atlantic Ocean in the picturesque fishing village of Seatons, on northeastern coast of Antigua, Ellen Bay Cottages offers 3 fully furnished guest apartments at very affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Ellen Bay Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellen Bay Cottages Antigua/Saint Philip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing