We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,647)
Filter reviews
5,647 results
Traveler rating
1,090
2,257
1,271
565
464
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,090
2,257
1,271
565
464
Show reviews that mention
All reviews standard room jolly beach resort a la carte restaurants ann marie jerk chicken seafood entertainment staff supersaver room super saver room swim up bar coconut grill star resort the mexican restaurant quiet pool the main buffet restaurant pool volleyball hot dogs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 5,647 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came in a large group of 30+ family members and left feeling like we gained even more!
The staff at Starfish Jolly Beach are some of the most fantastic group of people I have ever met. You are treated in the most friendly, fun and comfortable way as soon as you arrive.
The beach on the resort is paradise and also full of eccentric locals who are great to talk to. The rooms are spacious with wonderful views of the resort and beach if you're lucky!

There is a wonderful range of food available almost any time of day. From breakfast, brunch, lunch, afternoon snacks onto dinner and supper services. The hospitality staff cannot do enough for you.

The entertainment team must be some of the fittest people on the whole island! They sure know how to keep you active and keep you happy.

Another thank you to everyone who made our holiday one to cherish, which is every single staff member. Until the next time!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank jacob e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this resort for 14 days at the end of March. We had a standard room on the fourth floor no 4406 in the Barbuda Block which had a great view of the ocean. Despite what other reviews have said the room was spacious enough and everything worked the shower water pressure was excellent. The beach is stunning and there are many umbrellas and sunbeds although you may need to get up by seven to reserve them.
The food at the a la carte restaurants was good and superior to the buffet, as has been mentioned you need to book them up the day before at 9.00am outside the Mexican Restuarant. We had no problems doing this and got in every single night. The Managers Cocktail Party on Thursday evening is well worth attending. The management are very helpful and also very visible walikind around we met Brian Sang the General Manager and Dale the Restaurant Manager who were helpful and resolved some minor issues we encountered. The staff are wonderful especially Ashley Lisa behind the Lobby Bar, Hazel Dean and of course Judith who sings every morning at Breakfast, Wonderful.
You can get the no 20 bus outside the hotel to St johns well worth the trip. We also did an Island trip in a taxi with Leon. Nelsons Dockyard is a must try the Bakery the chicken patties there were superb. Leon also ran us to the airport he was very reliable we would recommend his number is 1 268 720 8467.
We also really enjoyed the entertainment particularly the Steel Bands and the team Quasim and Anne Marie they never stop.
You must remember this is not Sandals if you want to go there and pay nearly double thats your choice but if you want a great holiday, value for money and friendly staff this is the place for you.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank SIMON S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a wonderful holiday. We were returning to Antigua after a fantastic holiday last year at the Halcyon, this time Jolly beach was our chosen accommodation. From the moment we arrived it was wonderful. We were greeted with a rum punch and punctual check in, when we got to our room it had been decorated with hibiscus flowers with a lovely welcome letter from the manager, as well as fresh fruit and a bottle of fizzy to enjoy on the balcony.

The room was modest in size but very comfortable and cosy. We initially had an issue with the air con which we were unable to control with the remote and it was making an extremely loud noise, but this was swiftly resolved by the staff and there were no issues with it for the rest of the holiday. We had a fourth floor room in the Martinique block with a balcony view to die for. The room was very clean, the bathroom always had hot water and the housekeeping excellent throughout our stay.

The food was amazing. So much variety in the buffet restaurant with the added alternatives of Margherita’s Mexican restaurant and Lydia’s seafood restaurant which can be booked for unlimited times. We loved the guacamole and the conch balls in particular! Also a special mention to Jenkins and her lunch time pasta... the seafood sauce was great and I always looked forward to the next time it was on!

The bar, drinks and service were great and the entertainment was excellent. Lots going on but also nothing too late and loud. We especially enjoyed the fire show and carnival night.

The beach is simply gorgeous, true paradise. We managed to get sun beds and shades every single day without having to get up at ridiculous o clock to reserve them, something that I find so stupid anyway. Why anyone feels the need to stake a claim on a sun-bed that they only sit on for two hours in the afternoon is beyond me (and unnecessary). The beach vendors are friendly and no bother, a simple no thanks is all that is needed.

The pools were fine, we preferred the quiet pool except when some other guests decided to play their own music really loudly via a portable speaker. When they had trouble with the connection they then moved the speaker directly opposite us which was very annoying and inconsiderate so my only suggestion is that perhaps there is some sort of enforced rule about etiquette around the quiet pool (that is its name after all!). Other than that particular day, it was very calm and relaxing.

When it was was finally time to head home, we were very impressed to receive use of the facilities for the whole day, even though check out was at midday. Our pick up for the airport wasn’t until 6.15pm but we were given access to a room for half an hour to shower, change and freshen up after our final day in paradise.

All in all, another amazing holiday in Antigua and Jolly beach went above and beyond to make us feel special, relaxed and welcome.

Keep up the excellent work!

Sophie and Jamie x

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
6  Thank sophiesM1878EI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently stayed at the Starfish Jolly Beach resort for 10 days (9-19th April) and had the most wonderful time ever.

Many of the recent reviews have been very positive and that is my opinion also.
Previous reviews have included negative comments about the room size, lack of hot water and reservations of sun loungers.

We had a room on the fourth floor (a junior suite) and it was very spacious with two balconies and sea views. If size is an issue, book one of these rooms. However, I re-iterate; how much time are you realistically going to spend in the room when the pool and beach are calling?

We never had any problems with the shower (the water was always hot) and we were always able to find a shaded spot around the quiet pool or on the beach.

The food is plentiful although not much local food. Judith sings a "Good Morning song" in the main restaurant which always brightened up each day! The Mexican al a carte restaurant is great. We ate at Lydia's but much prefered the buffet Sunday Brunch rather than the al a carte meal. We couldn't get booked into the Italian restaurant but other guests implied that we didn't miss much.

All the staff that we met were friendly and helpful. They couldn't do enough for you. They were always smiling and had a very positive outlook on life.

The beach is AMAZING and the turquoise sea is just BEAUTIFUL. It is paradise. The weather was good, a little rain but it doesn't last long. You get to see some wonderful rainbows and some great sunsets too!

During our stay, we took the local bus (No.20) into St.Johns. We also booked an island tour (which takes you to all the main sights) and a full day island cruise on the Excellence catamaran.

All in all, it was an amazing holiday in Antigua.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
10  Thank MissDeeJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My best friend, brother & sister in law spent a week at JBR from Apr 3-10. I was here 3 years ago and was bit disappointed to see very little improvements on the resort side since Starfish took over the property. I knew what to expect but was hoping for a bit more obvious updates such at the buffet.
Service was still excellent and a lot of the same staff from 3 years ago.
In saying that we had a fabulous week at the resort. Our room was clean and perfect location in the Grenada building 2nd floor (end building near Lydia's). The building is a close to the beach as you can get. We had two super single beds which suited us just fine for two friends travelling together. Mattresses were comfortable, always had hot water. rooms are quite small but we spent so little time in the room it did not effect our vacation.
Breakfast was always good. 3 omlette/egg stations going, always bacon, every other day smoothy station and lots of fresh fruit and homemade breads!
We ate lunch if we were at the resort at the pool/beach bar....EXCELLENT jerk chicken! Good variety with burgers, hotdogs, loaded baked potatoes, fried chicken, coleslaw, salad and fries...(likely more)…
Dinner we were able to book most nights for the 4 of us for a-la-cartes. We had Lydia's twice and it was awesome both nights...My brother had the lobster ($25 extra) and it was delicious and lots of it. The grilled Mahi Mahi with mango sauce was really good. Service was exceptional! Mexican restaurant was also very good. I had Pork Burrito that was awesome!. If I was to skip anything it would be the 'italian' buffet...There was nothing that looked Italian at all. Dry chicken, turkey, potatoes, most was cold. The only thing close to Italian was some pizza thrown in a warmer....no taste, dry and cold. The Italians that stay in that sections get 'made to order' meals from the chef. We asked for seating on the patio which was really nice but was soon taken over by Italian guests who were yelling back and forth over top of us as if we did not exist....and I mean YELLING!....We felt we did not belong...The only saving grace was they had the best desserts here. (cheesecake and pies).
We only had dinner one night at the buffet....food was OK but a but underwhelming.
We booked the all day catamaran ride around the island and it was just AWESOME!. It is a whole day that includes some very rough seas (Atlantic) if you are prone to seasickness...plus some very gentle seas where they put the sails up and it was just beautiful. The other side of the island is a sight to be seen. gorgeous landscape. We stopped a couple of times to snorkel and one location was deserted beach on Green Island where we had a swim, snorkel and delicious lunch. Crew on the boat were excellent always filling drinks and looking after the guest. We booked our trip through Keith, a vendor on the beach who was excellent.
We walked into town/marina one day just to see the boats, abandoned casino and check out the grocery store and shops....nice that it is so close.
We took the local bus ($1.50 each person each way) that you catch just outside the grocery store into St. John's. We made sure it was not a cruise ship day and had the Quay basically all to ourselves. We found the best little restaurant and had the best lunch of burgers and seafood. 'Cuties' was the name. Price was awesome and service was the best. Would highly recommend it!
The beach is seriously the best part of this vacation. It is a 10+. We brought floaties and spent a lot of time just floating in the ocean. We used the double kayak one day and did alot of walking from one end to the other. Very little time in the pool (they need some serious updates!). The pool swim up bar has very few people at it but it is manned by the bartenders at the upper bar. It is always in the shade and not very inviting.
We were able to get chairs and gazebo every morning front row on the beach if we got up and saved them by 6 am. Other morning we still had no problem getting chairs just not front row. We spent 90% of our time on the resort on the beach!
We did have an issue with security one day of our vacation that I was sadly disappointed in.
4 female guests decided to take up with some of the locals that walk the beach (some were vendors, others not so sure). These were all young men (one or two quite young). The women brought them food and drinks from the resort, got very stoned and drunk and decide to show off by letting the boys rub them down with oil under their tops/ inside their thongs in front of everyone. They were all relieving themselves behind the vendor booths in front of guests. (saw this 1st hand!) both the boys and females did this. stripper dancing on the vendor posts. Playing rap music with very vulger lyrics but the worst was when the young boy (around 9 yrs old) walked buy with his donkey one of the female guests backed up to the donkey, put her but up to the donkey's nose and let it lick her!!!! (with a thong on). By this point at least 5 of us had gone to the front desk to complain and they would send a security guard to 'stroll' on by and he would actually fist pump the boys who were involved (what an insult to paying guests at a family resort). Finally and new Head of security arrived to work and split the whole thing up but by this time a fight was breaking out with some of the other vendors who were not happy with how these boys were acting and this had been going on for hours by now with multiple complaints....

I am still giving a 4 star because finally someone did act on this and the female guests seem to be very quiet the next day and them seem to disappear.
Antigua is beautiful and I am sure this had more to do with the guests then it did with the locals or the resort....Next time they should pick Hedonisum or something like it :)

I would return to this resort again for the beach and Antigua for the right price.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tanseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews