We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great 'budget' hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A great 'budget' hotel”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

If your looking to stay in Antigua but haven't got cash to splash then you won't be dissapointed with this resort. It's cheap but also well kept. Great beach, good food, and a fun atmosphere. We flew with Virgin Holidays and they get it spot on at this resort. We wouldn't return to this particular hotel but Antigua is a fantastic island to explore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    1,730
    1,008
    478
    382
See reviews for
880
2,044
159
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,073)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Jolly Beach was very pretty. The beach infront of the pool and bar could be cleaned up a bit. Tired looking tent that blocks the view with trash on the sand.

Recommend booking a queen or king sup. room away from the entertainment on the main floor near ocean.

Our rooms weren't ready until 6:15 when we were told 3:00. Up setting to start vacation in a bad way.

Food was ok. Recommend booking reservations for dinner on the resort.

Neil the bartendar was upbeat and very polite!

Tried the horseback riding: exc. it was only for 45 mins. Not 2.5 hours :( Never even offered us water on the trip. Don't waste your $.

Zip lines were fun for all.

Rooms should be updated. Huge resort so it will take time and $.

Stayed a week with husband and three kids.

Room Tip: St. Johns first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyManager, General Manager at Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi Kristin,

I’m sorry to hear you had an upsetting start to your vacation, and do apologize for the delay in getting your family settled, but I’m happy to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us.

Yes, we are a 3 star resort. We do make ongoing updates, but as you mentioned, we’re a large, well-loved resort, so it does take time. That being said we offer an array of great, value-friendly amenities at one of the best price points in Antigua, so I hope that you and your husband, as well as the kids, were able to enjoy some games on the beach, some of our watersports, our Kidz/Teenz Clubs, and some time in the sun at the pool in addition to your horseback riding and zip line excursions.

On that note, for guests who don’t know, I did want to clarify that both the horseback riding and zip lines are extra excursions, offered by third parties off the resort grounds :)

Happy to hear you had a great experience with Neil - I’ll be sure to pass your comments along directly to him.

All the best!

General Manager
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent a week at the Jolly Beach Resort from April 15-21. I had read all of the reviews and going there I didn't have the highest expectations. We knew it was a 3 star resort and I believe you get what you pay for.

I have to say we were pleasantly surprised with this property. Yes, it is in desperate need up updating but, where that lacks the wonderful staff makes up for it! From the moment we got out of the taxi we were greeted by the Manager who brought us a welcome drink. Check-in was very quick and staff very friendly.
Of course, I was wondering about how bad the room was going to be...we had booked the standard room and read all the reviews. Again, very surprised. Our room was small but, adequate. We were not planning on staying in there while in this paradise! We stayed in the Barthelemy section.

Yes, the beach is gorgeous and you won't be disappointed! The pool is large and we never had a problem finding a chair. The pool bar was staffed with the most wonderful staff who went out of there way for us. The drinks are NOT watered down and staff didn't care if you had a large mug! I do suggest to bring one because you will just end up getting two drinks at once. Yes, glasses are small. Also, FYI they do run out of bananas and strawberries. I don't think they had them our entire stay so, get a piña colada! The ONLY buffet at the resort is not at all as large as others we have been to but, we were able to find something each day. They should really consider more variety though. We ate at the beach grill for lunch everyday. The jerk chicken is a must! We were able to get into each of the specialty restaurants. We liked Lidias seafood reastaunt however, they ran out of lobster which I thought was strange. The Indian restaurant was ok and the Italian was a nice change because you are required to dress a little nicer. Men have to wear dress pants and collared shirt. Oh, because I wondered I wanted people to know that the beer is the local Wadadli beer. You can walk a couple minutes outside the resort to the market and find a assortment of beer and wine. I was very happy that there was no shortage of champagne! House wine was very decent as well.

A few things to share:
Cab fare from airport is $24.00 US dollars
Bring bug spray! They will eat you alive!
Don't pay for Wifi...you can get it in the lobby for free
Do the stingray excursion!
Bring large mug for drinks
D boat is a great place to bring the kids!

We do plan on going back next year with our kids and if you know the difference between a 3 star and a 5 star resort you will be pleasantly surprised!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Wedding arrangements exalent no detail missed the whole ceremony ran as smooth as clockwork the tears were of joy and happiness, hotel a bit old and tiered in parts but kept clean & tidy 99% of staff very pleasant & helpful beach beautiful & safe security visible but very discreet, organized tours very good but a trip into St.Johns best done by local bus lot cheaper and no time table to think about bus driver will tell you what number bus and what stand you need for return trip. Down side would have liked a further 2 weeks & the 9hr. flight

ps. put on a stone in weight .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 25, 2014

What a beach sailing and kayak available warm water, lovely helpful staff nothing to much trouble bar staff such good fun, enjoyed the holiday would recommend. Take a trip around the island , so much to see

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We returned to Jolly Beach Resort for another after tax season recuperation stay. Our mission was relaxation on the beach and Jolly Beach Resort did not disappoint. The beach is beautiful, spacious and uncrowded and the water is magnificent... calm, warm, and beautifully turquoise. The resort is not luxurious but is a good value. The property is a bit older and the rooms are pretty basic. Our room was clean and overall the property was maintained and clean. The food was abundant with a good variety and flavor. This time we just stuck with the buffet but there are other restaurants available with a reservation. My husband and I did get massages. He enjoyed his deep tissue massage a lot and I was satisfied with my relaxation massage. The spa facility is in a unattractive building off the beaten path on the property. The massage room that I was in felt like a doctor's exam room... no luxury at all. So if you are looking for the typical spa feel, you will not find it here.During this visit, the staff was just not as friendly as last visit. There were several individual staff members who were pleasant and helpful but many made us feel as if we were a bother at times... most notably some of the bartenders.

A travel tip: opt out of the expensive taxi rides, take the bus. We thoroughly enjoyed traveling with the residents. It was much more interesting, did not take that much longer and was a lot cheaper.

Room Tip: We booked a standard room were put in a room that was the farthest from the main building, in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babobear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyManager, General Manager at Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
It’s great to hear that mission relaxation was so successful! But then, as you say, it’s not that hard to find relaxation on a beautiful uncrowded beach with calm turquoise waters :)

You’re right - Jolly Beach is a 3 star resort, not a 5 star luxury resort. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed the great value we provide our guests, as well as the cleanliness of your room and the property.

I’m also happy to hear that both you and your husband enjoyed your massages at our Palms Wellness Center. We do also offer outdoor massages on the beach or in a Gazebo, which you may find more to your taste on a future visit.

I do wish to assure you that you (and any other guests) are definitely not a bother! Our iCARE program was specifically implemented to help staff go above and beyond in offering exceptional customer service, so please ask for anything you need without hesitation. While you did mention there were several staff members who were pleasant and helpful during this trip, I’m sorry to hear you felt we weren’t as friendly as on your last visit - something I hope to remedy on any future stay you have with us.

We hope to see you again next year for another after tax season recuperation stay!

All the best,

General Manager
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanzarote
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We knew when booking that this was a 3 star hotel but still disappointed with hotel.
This didn't spoil our holiday as the weather and wonderful beach made up for everything .
We upgraded our room from basic which we were informed by other guests were extremely small.we went for the next one up which was much more spacious huge bed not much storage space no drawers and bathroom ancient .
The whole of the hotel needs updating.
The cleaning of our room wasn't good things on floor their for days.
The dining room is a joke having to queue up to give room no then again to be seated.The food was only okay to long to be replenished not up to standard at all.Usually you can have salad if nothing else but not here.One evening went to the Indian restaurant which tastes nothing like it .
We went to the cricket while we were here bought our tickets from the hotel very helpful staff brought tickets to our room.I would suggest to just buy tickets not a package not worth the money had no food the second time and no one cared. Transfers to match we're very good.
Hotel pools very clean also around the exterior.
If you go with an open mind still can have a great time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobbymooreLanzarote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyManager, General Manager at Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Yes, Jolly Beach is a 3 star resort, with, as you mentioned, fantastic weather and a wonderful beach and pool. I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed these aspects of your stay.

All of our rooms are cleaned daily and our housekeeping team is usually meticulous, so it’s disappointing to hear that you weren’t satisfied with the cleanliness of your room. We would have been happy to address this with you if it had been brought to our attention when you were here.

We do try our best to offer a range of delicious options in our 5 restaurants, but I appreciate that everyone has different tastes. If you do stay with us again, please know that our chefs are also happy to accept special requests, which can be arranged during booking or with our servers when on-site.

It’s great to hear you got out and enjoyed some cricket matches while you were here in Antigua, and that you found our staff helpful in bringing tickets and arranging transfers.

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback.

General Manager
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
8.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,846 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,736 reviews
13.2 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
7.3 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
0.8 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Bolans Village, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolly Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's best all-inclusive value, the 464-room Jolly Beach Resort & Spa is an exciting Caribbean experience. The resort offers great year-round value for destination weddings, honeymooners and families. Rates include accommodations, government taxes and service charges, all meals, snacks and afternoon tea, house brand beverages, non-motorized water-sports, activities, Jolly Kidz and Teenz Clubs, use of the gym and entertainment. All rooms are air-conditioned and face the ocean; each has a patio or balcony, direct-dial phone, TV and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, West Indies, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jolly Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Beach Hotel Bolans
Jolly Beach Resort And Spa
Jolly Beach Resort Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort All Inclusive
Jolly Beach Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa Antigua/Bolans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing