We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem if you love the beach and sunsets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden gem if you love the beach and sunsets”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Dont be fooled or worried after reading some of the reviews , this is a typical carribian hotel that needs modernising , however i can't stress enough its a beautifull place to stay!!! This hotel is situated on the most amazing beach.The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The main buffet restaurant doesn't have much choice but the other 3 bookable restaurants are really nice
There was never any trouble getting a sunbed at the pool or beach. The locals do come and speck to you and try to sell you merchandise but after say no thankyou they quite happily leave you alone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrH1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    1,727
    1,007
    478
    382
See reviews for
878
2,044
158
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,072)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Happy Valley-Goose Bay
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

My friend and I stayed at this resort in late March/early April. Arrived at the hotel and met with an ice cold drink in the lobby :) check in went smoothly. Our room was small but for the amount of time we stayed in it it didn't matter to us.
The food was great, something for everyone.
The beach is awesome! You can go for a nice walk (it is long enough to walk almost an hour up and down.
We didn't take in much of the entertainment so can't really comment on that.
Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We were in St. Martin and was quiet and close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olanta, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was the best vacation I have ever went on. I enjoyed the service and the fact it was very clean and the small rooms were perfect for me. I was pleased with the food and drink supply provided as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyManager, General Manager at Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi Andrea,

I love to hear that Jolly Beach is the best vacation you’ve ever been on! Thanks for taking the time to let us know what you thought about your trip.

All the best,

General Manager
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed there for 2 weeks. Its not the same as a 3 star hotel in europe thats clear but i think its pretty close. hote is very big very nice staff (jarell, neil, tamara etc.) food is good rooms are big (had a queen superior! very big room very nice)

For your information i am 19. and if you wanna go there with your friends i can recommend it to you. if you are looking for something cheaper just take one of the apartments at jolly harbour. not expensive at all. also not all inclusive but there is a super market right at jolly harbour where you find every thing. its very cheap but very good!

Room Tip: all the rooms have see view! i think one on the first or second floor would be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed at the Jolly Beach resort April2-9. Went knowing it was a 3*, and yes the property is dated, and rooms are very small, but it is very clean, the staff is amazing going above and beyond to make sure you enjoy you vacation. This was a great time to travel, only at 30% capacity, so empty beach chairs everywhere, no line ups for bars or food. Unfortunately for staff, that meant not very many tips. Great beach, the pool grill does have great jerk chicken, which we had almost everyday. The buffet is not extensive, but always plenty to eat. The a la carte restaurants you can book 2 everyday, and don't forget to book your Sunday brunch at Lydias which is nice.
Restaurants: Lydias seafood, in a nice quiet spot down the beach, they do offer other options other than seafood. The seafood was overcooked, but it is a decent lace to eat.
Bocciollos italian was the most difficult to get into as it is only open once a week. Food was good, nice dining atmosphere, probably the best place to eat at th resort.
Utsa the indian restaurant was very good as well, lots of choices, and although they say the food is so spcy, it really isn't, and I'm not a fan of super spicy food, so if it was good for me, I don't think anyone will have a problem.
Rooms are very small, shower is tight, but as I said always clean.
You get towel cards and safe key at checking ($15 for the week)
Grocery store is only 5 minutes out the front gate.
I do suggest you bring bug spray, epecially in the evenings at dinner.
Minimum wage in Antigua is only $2, so for gods sake TIP!!
Booked an excursion to Baruda on the Excellence Catamaran, $150 PP., was great, had lots of shade, lunch, open bar, and on the way to Barbuda, we stopped to watch a pod of humpback whales breaching. It was an amazing sight and made the day. Visited bird sanctuary, spent time on beach, and then went to the pink sand beach. A great day. The staff is very nice as well.
I would recommend this resort, it is a 3* but I have stayed at 4.5* and have been very disappointed, at least the food, staff, and beach make this resort worth it. Its not like I sit in my room all day.
Visit Joice at the buffet bar, she's a great lady, and makes a mean mai tai.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarylovesAruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at the Jolly Beach! If you remember that this is Antigua on a budget....then you will not go wrong!

We had the smallest room ever....but this did not take away from a great holiday on one of the best beaches we've ever stayed!
Food - was decent, always something to choose from and great for lunchtime snacks! Lovely a la cartes!
Staff - amazing!!! Very polite and friendly! We loved the bar staff especially so a big shout out for Neil and co. that worked there!!
Beach - really nice, with unbelievable turquoise coloured waters - paradise!!
Excursions - we did a boat trip around the island. We booked through Thomas Cook but you can save some money with the beach vendor....as long as they have a license! (Sammy seemed trustworthy and a nice guy too).

Get it booked!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank manchesterowl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Spent a week at the Jolly Beach in February, having booked up to watch the cricket tour. Having read the reviews I was not expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised. The staff were very attentive and polite, the room was a good size and clean and the food very good given how they had to cater to a lot of guest. The beach was outstanding and the sea very inviting. No I very much enjoyed the week.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
8.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,846 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,735 reviews
13.2 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
7.3 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
0.8 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Bolans Village, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolly Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's best all-inclusive value, the 464-room Jolly Beach Resort & Spa is an exciting Caribbean experience. The resort offers great year-round value for destination weddings, honeymooners and families. Rates include accommodations, government taxes and service charges, all meals, snacks and afternoon tea, house brand beverages, non-motorized water-sports, activities, Jolly Kidz and Teenz Clubs, use of the gym and entertainment. All rooms are air-conditioned and face the ocean; each has a patio or balcony, direct-dial phone, TV and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, West Indies, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jolly Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Beach Hotel Bolans
Jolly Beach Resort And Spa
Jolly Beach Resort Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort All Inclusive
Jolly Beach Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa Antigua/Bolans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing