We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good but in need of a refurb, lots of stippled painted concrete.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very good but in need of a refurb, lots of stippled painted concrete.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

A few facts first, we got a taxi from airport to JBR for $25US, & paid same to return to airport. You only need dess code for the Italian restaurant only, shorts, vest & flip flops accepted in all the others. Take earplugs as the tree frogs are so loud every night they can keep you awake. The tables & chairs are very rusted but covered with white paint which is now flaking. (you dont notice this on an evening as everywhere is by candlelight which is very nice.) Dont leave breakfast or lunch unattended as the birds will help themselves. Supersaver rooms very small with no space to store your case & have no fridge or kettle but do have hairdryer. We took our own large wine glasses which staff were happy to let us use as their small plastic beakers were not nice to drink from. The food was excellent, beer was lovely & cold. Cocktails were delish (especially th BBC's & banana dacharies in our large glasses). Beach was gorgeous and sea was warm but no fish, not good for snorkelling. Staff were friendly & helpful. Eve entertainment only avarage & started at 9pm, kareoke & disco, occasional fire eating, african dancing etc.. a bit loud if you ate at Hemispheres late as it doesnt close until 10pm, (restaurant right next to the dancefloor). We did Shirly Heights Sunday eve which was excellent & only gets going at 8.30 as most people are leaving. Stingray City excellent value for money & catamaran trip was great too. The hotel is only just worth a 3* but the island and jolly beach itself more than make up for this. Watersports are excellent & 30min jetski is $50US. You do get bother from the locals on the beach but not too heavy, we made friends with them & found them full of helpfull info, in fact we booked stingray city, catamaran, Shirly Heights & a local full day taxi tour with them. Just dont pay for anything until you go. We slept under the palmtrees on the beach every day & on the whole we loved our time at JBR and made some lovely friends. We think we got what we paid for but if we were to return to Antigua we would chose a better quality resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    1,628
    971
    458
    373
See reviews for
831
1,953
142
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,010)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Visited the Jolly Beach this summer, it is exactly what it says on the tin. It is a good three star hotel . The food and choice of restaurents is fine and the quality and quantity is good. The beach is fantastic with plent of space for all, the pools are wonderful either the large pool with bar , music, food and entertaiment or the smaller quiter pool to relax by. The room was clean ,tidy and provided all that we expected.Be sure to do more than stay in the hotel. ,the island ,its scenery ,its people and its history are wonderful. A circumnavigation trip of the isand is a great experience. If you expect 5 Star luxury then go elsewhere, but for a wel priced holiday this is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wilki23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed for an entire week and it was extremely relaxing. We made really good friends with the staff that took care of us. Worth mentioning is Vellie,Dion, Dajah, Charlie, Akiem and Jason. Thank you guys for making our stay so comfortable and the advise on getting around. The locals we met were very warm and friendly. Very safe . The scenery and environment was perhaps the best I ever seen, brilliant sunrise and sunset. Meals, sleeping, and the outings was very good.
Will be going back very soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AWT W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks from the 21st of September and had the most amazing time.

The friendly and enthusiastic staff made our stay the more enjoyable,
Elroy...... Candy crush Dj, your volleyball sessions was hilarious and DEVINE :)
Rakim.... The coolest and stylish guy going
Ann Marie.... Your water aerobics classes were the best wake up call
Neil..... The most pleasant bar man and he has a voice when it comes to karaoke hehe
Baby C...(Charlie) the best swagger I have seen in jolly beach your "BBC's" will be sadly missed
Akiem... The cheeky chap who will always greet you with a wicked smile at the bar
Andrew the chef and the other cheerful lass at the grill (you know who you are)... The place to go for lip tingling jerk chicken.

The best excursions for us was,,,
The Excellence.
A real treat to travel in style around the island on a powered catamaran, lunch on Green island and snorkelling in the Caribbean Sea.
Shirley's heights, the place to let go and dance the night away (even when ur eating).
4x4 Safari around the island. John the nutty driver with hilarious commentary whilst being leapt out off our seats with the ride. Then kayaking around the mangroves with Rabs.
MOST MEMORABLE,,,,,Stingray city, the most incredible experience. Being able to Hold a stingray, feed a stingray and swim along side them is the highlight of the holiday.

The hotel was easy to navigate around, and each of the restaurants were lovely to eat in or outside.

Having the free wifi in reception was a bonus to keep in touch with loved ones.

The beach activities for us was a real treat, sailing lessons at 10:30 on every other day, and then you can sail your own hobbie cat. Kayaking and pedalo's is also great fun.

Was very sadly to leave Jolly beach Resort and Spa and will be coming back DEFINITELY and booking soon as.

Louise and Gary. Plymouth.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our first time to the Caribbean.It was total paradise.I would definatly return to Antigua and the jolly beach resort.It took approx 20 mins from airport.We checked in and was in the saver room which was small but fine for the 2 of us.We had a balcony overlooking the pool and beach.The room had tv air con and bathroom the room was basic but cleaned daily.The Hotel had a reception area with free wifi which actually worked.The main buffet restaurant was open for breakfast lunch and dinner was not a massive selection but the food was of good quality and enough choice.Full english,cereal porridge for breakfast plus bread cheese ham and fruit ....dinner alway soup, plenty of meat pasta etc similar for tea.Its true we had small black birds join you for lunch but not off putting really.we tried all 3 themed restaurants.All gave a fantastic service seafood restaurant indian and italian.They are not open everyday so best book on arrival all worth a visit.The bar area was nice plenty of seats outside and always some entertainment each evening.2 pools one adult only very quiet and relaxing other had swim up bar and more going on .There was a coconut grill open 12-5 as alternate lunch option very nice burgers hot dogs jerk chicken chips etc.entertainment on throughout day but no pressure to join in ..We did a taxi ride to St Johns Capital worth a visit..We flew with BA and they we fantastic highly reccommend them.Antigua airport especially on return was very easy and quick check in.....Bar open til half 12 .....plenty of sunbeads...gorgeous beach area....You can walk outside hotel to harbour where there is a supermarket and a couple more bars...

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dinorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We decided to try traveling two weeks before Xmas, to get away from the season. Not expecting that we would hear Xmas music all day at a beach resort, we watch them daily put up Xmas decorations. We loved our resort, needs some maintenance, air-conditioning leaked but overall had a great time and it was just what we were looking for. We took the boat trip around the island and were able to see other resorts including the Sands, and we still like our location, beach better. It was a perfect time to go, not to crowded, they have a very friendly and helpful staff. We got to know all of our wait staff by name.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bscott0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Ok firstly dont take any notice of negative views as this is a fantastic place wherd you are made to feel so welcome. Breath taking views, satisfactory meals, clean rooms and a fantastic and relaxing holiday

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michaeldavey1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
8.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,604 reviews
10.7 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
13.2 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
0.3 mi away
Sugar Ridge
Sugar Ridge
#2 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Bolans Village, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolly Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's best all-inclusive value, the 464-room Jolly Beach Resort & Spa is an exciting Caribbean experience. The resort offers great year-round value for destination weddings, honeymooners and families. Rates include accommodations, government taxes and service charges, all meals, snacks and afternoon tea, house brand beverages, non-motorized water-sports, activities, Jolly Kidz and Teenz Clubs, use of the gym and entertainment. All rooms are air-conditioned and face the ocean; each has a patio or balcony, direct-dial phone, TV and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, West Indies, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Jolly Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Beach Hotel Bolans
Jolly Beach Resort And Spa
Jolly Beach Resort Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort All Inclusive
Jolly Beach Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa Antigua/Bolans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing