We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great vacation”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I read some of the reviews - the good and the bad, and went with open mind. This place was so much better and more beautiful then any photo. The beach was unreal, we took a tour of the island by boat and the beach of this resort is better then any other on the island. The staff of Jolly Beach made our vacation even better, they went out of their way to help with anything, service was great at both bars, buffet and front desk. Thank you, Miss Jennifer at the concierge desk and Real, Karim, Neal and the rest at the main bar, you guys rocked every night. Elroy from the entertainment staff was the nicest and friendliest person. The food was great, there were always options to choose from. The hotel is older and basic, but super clean and comfortable, it's a great value. It looks a little like the hotels on the Greek Islands. If you want super luxury then pay double or even triple the money, but I will spend my money here anytime. Can't wait to come back one day!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Violeta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyManager, General Manager at Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hi Violeta,

Thank You very much for spending your holiday with us and taking the time to write a comprehensive review and for rating us truly the Best Beach by a Mile. You have mentioned a few of our dedicated staff team members and I will be sure to share your very kind comments with them all.

I sincerely hope that we can welcome you back very soon.

Regards,

Vernon A. Jeffers, Sr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    1,693
    997
    466
    379
See reviews for
858
2,006
152
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,049)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is the poorest resort I have ever stayed in. When I got there I wanted to cry. I couldn't wait to go home. My husband & I just laughed because we could not believe they said this was a four apple resort!!!! Honestly I wouldn't give it more than a two!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AprilLynJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyManager, General Manager at Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hi AprilLynJohnson,

Jolly Beach Resort & Spa appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay with us however it’s very disappointing to read you were not happy with your room. We have six room categories for every budget, ranging from a Supersaver to a two-bedroom cottage.

We recently implemented our Concierge Guest Service Desk where the competent staff along with the Front Desk agents are available around the clock to address any and all guest’s needs.

We encourage our guests experiencing any difficulties, to reach out to any member of our guest services team. They are there to assist in making your stay the most enjoyable possible.

I’m sorry that you left the resort without allowing us to address your needs. I trust that one day we may welcome you back to our Best Beach by a Mile.

Regards,

Vernon A. Jeffers, Sr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bolans hotels

Harwich Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I don't even remember how many times we have vacationed at Jolly Beach....it is 3 stars...but it is GREAT! Beautiful beach, nice rooms (even if they are on th smallish side...what do you need if you are at a beach resort???), decent (but not terrific) food. Their biggest asset is the staff...could not be nicer, more helpful, more fun and friendly. We had alot of laughs with Neal, Dwayne, Charlie and Joice. The front desk helped us out with anything we needed..
Great place to get away from the cold of New England in January!!!
Sure to return again and again.

Room Tip: I would stick with the second floor. We don't use the AC so wth the doors open there is a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lwgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This has been my 11th time and my wifes 5th time. We met there. The staff welcome you like family, the rooms are old but clean with good beds and shower, all rooms have a sea view. The beach is to die for, the best on the Island, A good choice of restaurants depending on your food taste and how you want to dress. Jolly beach gets better every year I should know.
And to the staff of Jolly Beach thank you for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We've just returned from two weeks at Jolly Beach. We stayed at this hotel six years ago and loved it, so thought we'd try it again despite the recent poor reviews. Well the place is even better than we remembered, a good basic hotel in a glorious location. The beautiful beach is the main attraction, nearly a mile long, in a huge calm and sheltered bay, and facing west to glorious sunsets. At the northern end of the main beach are six tiny white-sand beaches where you can be the only person on them, a wonderful place for a warm, safe, relaxing swim. Just beyond them is a hill which you can climb and walk around the top for excercise, with a stunning 360 degree panoramic view of the ocean, beach, hotel, harbour, headlands, bays and boats.

We stayed in a standard room on the third floor, which was spotlessly clean and very quiet.
The hotel was about two thirds full and there were quite a crowd usually around the main pool and bar, where it was a bit noisy, but it was very easy to find a quiet area along the beach.
My husband sailed most days on one of the hotel's Hobie cats and said the watersport staff were very helpful.
There are four restaurants where guests can eat, an Italian, an Indian, a seafood and the main Hemispheres buffet. The food is excellent with something for everyone, drinks and cocktails fine and the wines very drinkable.
This is a lovely place to stay, staff are constantly cleaning and clearing up and we found all the bar and restaurant staff very friendly and happy to help, especially if you ask them nicely with a smile!!
Don't be put off by negative reviews, there is nothing wrong with Jolly Beach, it is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank AnnTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a brilliant location, on a fantastic beach, lovely sea and a great hotel. The food is good with lots of variety and I would definitely come back to stay here. There is loads to do here with a variety of boat trips, I recommend the lobster cruise. It is very easy to get around and there is always another beautiful beach just around the corner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValPurkis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little britain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Returned yesterday from Jolly Beach and we had a great time. Met lots of nice people (especially couples from Alberta, Kings bay and England). All the staff and locals are vey friendly. Rooms are clean. Only issue was bed was very hard.
Bugs seem to like some people over others. I have many bites and Dave has none. Take spray and benadryl cream if you swell easily.
Food was very good but if your a diabetic you will find it hard to find diet pop. They were out when we got there and after a few complaints they got some more but it disapeared quickly. This is are biggest issue and others had the same complaint as well. NOTE to Jolly Beach: There are many diabetics in the world so try to accomodate everyone please.
All in all this resort was good for the money. Beach is very nice. We would return again for a second visit. Thanks Jolly Beach staff for a great time.
Dave and Christina

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christina355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
8.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,686 reviews
10.7 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
7.3 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
0.4 mi away
Sugar Ridge
Sugar Ridge
#2 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Bolans Village, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolly Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's best all-inclusive value, the 464-room Jolly Beach Resort & Spa is an exciting Caribbean experience. The resort offers great year-round value for destination weddings, honeymooners and families. Rates include accommodations, government taxes and service charges, all meals, snacks and afternoon tea, house brand beverages, non-motorized water-sports, activities, Jolly Kidz and Teenz Clubs, use of the gym and entertainment. All rooms are air-conditioned and face the ocean; each has a patio or balcony, direct-dial phone, TV and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotwire, West Indies, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jolly Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Beach Hotel Bolans
Jolly Beach Resort And Spa
Jolly Beach Resort Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort All Inclusive
Jolly Beach Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa Antigua/Bolans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing