We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY RUDE!!!”
Review of Akropolis Greek Taverna - CLOSED

Akropolis Greek Taverna
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
St. John's, Antigua
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VERY RUDE!!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very over priced, and the owner of this restaurant is extremely rude. We were the only business they had the night we went, and the owner was so rude to us that we actually got up and left. No sense in customer service. We were extremely happy that we left and found actually a better place to eat with delicious food with prices that weren't meant to rob your pockets. I do not recommend anyone to come to this restaurant. Oh and also their bathrooms had no doors, and no sink. Disgusting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcello M, Owner at Akropolis Greek Taverna, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for visiting our restaurant. Let me begin by saying that we have many students who come a long way from the north of the island to dine at Akropolis and do come back.

Now than, the person you spoke to was not the owner but the chef, perhaps the chef jacket and chef uniform might had given her away?

And please keep in mind there had been 8 of you that walked in under dressed yet we let you in at the time when we had just opened. So yes you where our only business at that time.

Regarding the bathrooms. We have two, one that is being renovated and a functional one, perhaps you could have used the bathroom with the door and the sink and the toilet?

Last, please do not make false reviews when you hadn't been served nor ate nor sampled any of my dishes.

If you are looking for something cheap on this island may i recommend making reservations at KFC?

Thank you again.
Dimitris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua
2 reviews
“fantastic food”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

casual dining environment with amazing FRESH food. a real hidden gem in antigua. the owner of the restaurant personally ensured we had an amazing time and everything was to our liking. you wont be disappointed if you dine here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kar90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“very close to Tranquilly Bay”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We ate here our first night. The food was ok, not good enough for the price charged. The staff was pleasant and the service was good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kaalgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Greek Food at it's Finest in Antigua, who would have thought.....”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I never thought dining on lamb chops and solvaki in Antigua but there is a hidden jem beneath a castle in Jolly Harbour, Antigua. I recommend the Chef's sampler, an absolute delight and a satisfying meal for two, with Greek music serenading you whilst you dine. The atmosphere is delightful with suburb service (the chef offers a personal explanation of her dishes) and drinks are never empty.

Antigua meets Greece in Jolly Harbour

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jason e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Incredible Food”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Their food is incredible! You can taste the freshness. Love sitting out on the balcony to dine. A great value for the money which can't always be said!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toasterbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akropolis Greek Taverna also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing