We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very close to Tranquilly Bay”
Review of Akropolis Greek Taverna - CLOSED

Akropolis Greek Taverna
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“very close to Tranquilly Bay”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We ate here our first night. The food was ok, not good enough for the price charged. The staff was pleasant and the service was good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kaalgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Greek Food at it's Finest in Antigua, who would have thought.....”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I never thought dining on lamb chops and solvaki in Antigua but there is a hidden jem beneath a castle in Jolly Harbour, Antigua. I recommend the Chef's sampler, an absolute delight and a satisfying meal for two, with Greek music serenading you whilst you dine. The atmosphere is delightful with suburb service (the chef offers a personal explanation of her dishes) and drinks are never empty.

Antigua meets Greece in Jolly Harbour

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jason e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Incredible Food”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Their food is incredible! You can taste the freshness. Love sitting out on the balcony to dine. A great value for the money which can't always be said!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toasterbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex UK
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just as good”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Ok returned to Antigua with my son this march for 2 weeks, we did not get much time to sample the various places that we like to eat thou we did find time to eat here,
The 1st night we dined here it was quiet and we had fast good service with a great meal, the 2nd time we dined here it was packed, the service was slower and for a good reason, they were busy, we were looked after really well by a lovely japanese lady who made sure we had plenty to drink, the food was good as usual and we had a great time,we also took along some new friends which we had met, Tony and his French wife Fran, they loved the food and said they would be very happy to return.i just wished they would make a go of that Pizza which they flirted with a few years back, its was truly amazing stuff, i know its not really greek eating pizza but hey it was good pizza.
we look forward to our next trip

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank franbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our Favourite”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just home from jolly harbour and so pleased Acropolis was there. The food was absolutely superb and was not over priced as a recent review said it was as they only charge the minimum island tax as all restaurants do anyway, unlike other restaurants in jolly harbour that add other charges on top. Anyway, the Keftedes and Stifado were so delicious the chef (the owners wife) has given me the recipes. The chef cooks everything fresh that day and prepares it all herself along with one of her sons. This is a authentic, greek family run restaurant and we ate here most nights having sampled the other restaurants which weren't a patch on this one, the chef even made Stifado just for me and my husband cos it was my birthday. Really hope they are there next year when we return yet again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CLEANY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akropolis Greek Taverna also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing