We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful chillout holiday”
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2007

Two of us, regular visitors to the Caribbean, stayed for an all-inclusive fortnight before Easter. The location was stunning: lush gardens and multi-level bar-restaurant area above bays curving past green volcanic hills with pelicans and egrets (or were they cranes?) lazily gliding by... the classic Caribbean scene.

Some previous travellers have criticised the food but we wonder what they expected - and we aren't that easy to please. We had some exceptional, memorable meals (up there with Galley Bay, which we've also visited) and none less than good: buffet breakfast with a variety of choices including fresh-cooked eggs; four courses including soup for lunch and dinner, as much wine as we needed and service never less than friendly. Similarly the genial bar staff produced anything we requested with a smile and a pleasant word.

Rooms were adequate - large bathroom, enormous comfortable beds and scrupulously cleaned - though we'd have liked better seating and lighting for evening reading. But the early morning panorama from the room terrace ,across the bays with the sun rising over the hills, was more than enough compensation.

If you enjoy chilling out on a hammock or sunbed surrounded by turtle doves and needle birds; if you love white beaches and a turquoise sea shading to aquamarine under scudding clouds and an azure sky; and if you can find your own entertainment rather than demanding a series of external attractions... then this one is for you.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank JohnBEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,877 - 1,883 of 2,363 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2007

We stayed at Cocobay during the Cricket WC 2007, for a week. The hotel is situated on a cliff, approximately 20 minutes from the airport.

We were welcomed with a rather strong rum punch and a wet towel and shown to our sea front cottage. The cottage is rather basic. 2 solid beds, a bathroom and a verandah. No phones, TV or A/C. Surprisingly, through out the stay during the first week of April, we did not feel the need for A/C. The breeze was good enough to keep the place cool. We did not notice the mosquitoes until the 5th day or so.

The views from hotel are incredible. Much better than the photos on the net. The pool stands out. We went on one of those circumnavigational tours and judging the other properties on the island by their location, I have to say that Cocobay is in a pretty good spot.

Breakfast and lunch buffets are standard. Decent, good quality food. Definitely not five star variety. Eggs cooked to order for breakfast and freshly grilled fish for lunch (Though I have to question the freshness of fish on at least one of the days). Dinners are more formal with an appetizer, soup and main course, all well prepared and presented. The quantity is really small. I had to eat 2-3 rolls every day to keep myself from starving. And oh, you will have to handle the birds during breakfast. Overall, my westernized eastern taste buds were not offended, although I was dying for a Kung Pao Chicken by the 6th night of my stay.

I wouldn't know if the bar is well stocked. A regular flow of the local beer and any drink with some rum mixed in are good enough to keep me in good spirits and they did.

There are two beaches next to the property. The beaches are public and on the Good Friday (public holiday), there was quite a local crowd on the beaches. I would rate both the beaches as just average. There is some kind of wasteland between the beach and the road (100 yards away), not very well used. To get to the beach on the right, you have to cut through some abandoned building.

The staff is very pleasant. Did not encounter any surliness at any time.

The Bad:
-- Lack of bottled water. Come on, these rooms are typically over $300 a day for 2 people. Throw in a bottle of water.
-- Dinner quantities.
-- I wish I could walk to a grocery store to pick up chips and water. You are dependent on the taxis for every thing. Taxis are not a bargain in that part of the world.
-- The shower has no curtain. However careful you are, water invariably leaks in to the main bathroom floor. We had to leave a couple of towels on the floor to soak up the water.

Overall, I would rate this place as above average. Not necessarily cheap, but given the Antiguan prices, not a bad bargain.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank kpsunil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2007

Cocobay is a fabulous resort and we got married there in March this year and we were really delighted at the way the wedding was organised as the co-coordinator at cocobay was wonderful, there were so many choices of various spots to get married, flowers to have etc and you could even choose the colour of icing on your cake! It was the easiest place to get married and the nicest wedding I've been to as the location was stunning.

The ceremony was really nice and the registrar, Evelyn Burns is wonderful. We opted for a video as well as the official photographer & we were very pleased with the quality of the video & the photo's which were not as tacky as we'd feared!

We were lucky to meet some others who were getting married that week and we had fabulous witnesses ( our thanks to Tim & Jackie!) and also thanks to our brilliant unofficial photographers, Richard and Sally, who were great.

We would recommend anyone considering getting married abroad to come to Cocobay as it's a very special place with great views, staff and the wedding package is much better than the typical conveyer belt type weddings abroad as there's only one wedding a day and they make you feel really special.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank suzy103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2007

This was our first time in the Caribbean and we wanted a quiet, peaceful hotel with comfortable accomodation and good beach, and not too pricey.

We looked at a few online, and booked Cocobay - despite the pretty horrific catalogue of tales on this site about sandflies, mosquitos, bullfrogs etc...

Cocobay massively exceeded our expectations. We knew that the cottages had no air con,and in fact we expected something quite pretty but very basic. But in fact, on arrival its immediately clear that this is a boutique hotel - the rooms are all very attractive, with wide, deep balconies facing the sea. It is worthwhile to press for a seafront or at least a good seaview cottage. We had one called TAMARIND CAY which was fantastic, right by the sea, maybe it was the best - but there are several good ones. Also just a few which seem to face nothing in particular - so as I say do emphasise to them that you really would like a good position.

Beds clean and comfortable. Teak type floors, highly polished. Bathrooms ( just shower) a bit old but fine.

The hotel has lovely landscaped gardens on the incline between all the cottages, with beautiful flowers. Great birds too - hummingbirds, frigatebirds, pelicans.

Terrific cocktails available all day. We thought the pool was better than it looks on the pix on this site - bigger, and plenty of comfortable loungers. Food is average, perfectly fine but not excellent. Plenty of variety. Maybe it is a bit fussy - smallish complicated portions at supper - but this is not a high price level hotel in the Caribbean, and frankly the food seemed pretty good for the price. Good egg chef called Blondelle at breakfast.

We dined on the last night at the high level restaurant called Sheer - very pricey indeed, and just about worth it, particularly for the gorgeous decor and setting.

Beaches particularly excellent. 3 very quiet beaches - one to left, two to right. If you walk to the further right hand side beach, its stunning and you are often the only people there! The sea is excellent for swimming on all 3 beaches. Not good for snorkelling.

A word about insects.... we packed masses of heavy duty deet lotions, and much more besides, but in fact neither of us were bitten by a mosquito and by the second night we took down the mosquito net completely. Its possible that if you take a lounger at the top of the beach in the sandy/grassy area you may encounter sandflies, but I didnt see anyone with bites. After all I read on this site I was a bit puzzled ( and pleased..). Maybe the mossies come at another time of year.

Three further points - we went to Nelsons Harbour which was beautiful - very interesting and well restored. Jolly Beach resort - about a mile or two to the side - looked like the kind of place that you might hate if you like peace and quiet. And when you fly back its a good idea to check in and then have a meal/snack at the Sticky Wicket ( !) restaurant in the new cricket stadium next door - a bit flashy but reasonably priced, clean and much better than anything at the airport.

So - welldone Cocobay!

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank sailseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2007

Just come back from 2 really great relaxing weeks at Cocobay.
Everything was excellant. All the staff were really friendly, the food
lovely, accomodation and cleanliness top rate.

The beach and the 2 others closeby were lovely. We took a
chance and against advice booked a couple of snorkelling trips
with John Cox, they were great. "Cat" or Sean (the Jet Ski guys on
the beach) will organise it for you. You wont miss "Cat" he may be
late but he will be there!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BrodyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2007

Coco Bay Resort Antigua was as the brochia depicted and more.We went for our daughters wedding and we were apprehensive but everything from the quaint rustic rooms which were larger than anticipated,the food fresh and plentiful,the sceneary better than any photos,the wildlife amusing,and the Wedding service it was Perfect and more than words can explain.
It was such a moving service that all nine of us were gently weeping.The minister conducted a beautiful sermon on the values of marriage and after prepaired fresh flower petals for confetti.The photographer took photos all thro' the ceremony and then came back just before sunset for more on the beach and resort.They are awesome and capture the whole experience of Coco Bay and Antigua.Which is although still recovering from past storms is a beautiful and friendly place to go.Reccomended is Shirley Heights on Sundays with the Steel band and reggai with the views and sunset.St Johns harbour and shops and a trip around the Island on a cattermarran.Jet skying and snorkalling or scuba diving on the reefes.Oh and the taxi drivers who like anywhere else in the world love to talk especially JJ.

Stayed: January 2007
7  Thank cymruCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2007

First of all the 'don'ts:
Don't book this if you want a huge complex;
Don't book this if you want loud misic and 24 hour partying;
Don't book this if you want crowds and a fight for sun beds.
Don't book this if you want air conditioning.
But...
Do book this if you want peace and quiet and some lovely views. The cottages are rustic but adequate and the food is excellent for an all inclusive resort. The staff are great - Dave the Barman [Thanks for the Southern Gentleman Bourbon!] Kenroy the Restaurant Manager Kerry and all the others - and the infinity pool is divine. The bird life is fantastic and the beaches superb.
The other guests were all friendly [Hi Dave and Jane & Jerry and Chris!] and we will definitely return.
A week passes too quickly!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank Andiseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
9 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,926 reviews
1.7 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
503 reviews
12.9 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 8 in Saint Mary's
1,061 reviews
0.6 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
862 reviews
4.9 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#4 of 8 in Saint Mary's
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Address: Ffreyes Beach, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range: $430 - $930 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, West Indies, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing