We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$366
$170
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Victory Villas Antigua(Bolans)(Great Value!)
$165
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
$311
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trade Winds Hotel(St. John's)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua Village(St. John's)
$150
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siboney Beach Club(St. John's)
$220
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Galley Bay Resort & Spa(Five Islands Village)(Great Value!)
$508
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,517)
Filter reviews
2,517 results
Traveler rating
1,688
545
162
60
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,688
545
162
60
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr gorecoco baythe cottagesplunge poollower poolbreakfast and lunchwaterfront suiterum punchsheer rocksdeluxe cottageour honeymoonpaninislobstersea viewplantation housemosquito netbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 2,517 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Hi, It's Pete and Pam from our February Winter stay in the Pepper Pot. We hope you are all safe and hoping Hurricane Irma was gentle on you all. We had a great time and we are so looking forward to coming back for our 5-year anniversary. Miss everybody!

Room Tip: The Ocean Front rooms are fantastic!
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon W, Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Hey Pete,

Thank you so much for checking in on us. Antigua and Cocobay were spared by the major effects of the storm so all is well on this end. We fared much better than many of our neighboring islands so we are grateful for all your thoughts and prayers.

Give Pam our love and we will make sure Pepper Pot is ready for your 5 year Anniversary return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

My partner and I stayed here a couple of years back (I thought I wrote a review) and where attending a friends wedding. We had the pleasure of staying for 2 weeks and it was absolute bliss.

The food was amazing, it was out first all inclusive and we were skeptical as we know it can be hit and miss but there was variety upon variety everyday and the evening menu changed everyday.

Staff were friendly and always made sure we were happy.

Views and pools are amazing.

The cottage we stayed in was just perfect, the balcony gave us the most perfect view of the ocean and the bed was very comfortable.

I would go back tomorrow if I could. If you are considering a trip to Antigua.... please stay at Cocobay Resort!

Room Tip: Any cottage, they are all amazing.
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ca2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon W, Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Glad to hear that you took a chance on us and even happier to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Cocobay.

We'll ensure that perfect view of the Ocean is waiting for you on your next visit to Cocobay :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017

Our Romantic vacation was planned long ago researching many resorts. I have read hundreds of reviews at hundreds of resorts but always kept returning to Cocobay. We booked through the resort and were never disappointed once for eight nights and nine days. From the start arriving at the airport being meet with VIP service we were escorted to the customs area to the sound of steel drums playing and friendly people. Upon passing though customs we were handed off to a Cocobay representative and escorted to a shuttle that took us to Cocobay. That’s where we were greeted by the General Manger O’neil Richards and the Concierge Nasasha. I work in the customer service industry and these two definitely know the meaning of great customer service. Their contagious happy and bubbly personalities are felt throughout the whole resort. When you arrive you feel like you have met back up with a long time friend. We were escorted to our premium water front suite “Yabba” with rum punch in hand and anxious for the beach. The room was as advertised and more. The views are phenomenal from every area in the room, bathroom and deck and plunge pool. Total privacy!. Where can you take a shower everyday and open a pair of doors to a view of the Caribbean Seas crystal clear waters.
The beaches are fabulous on either side of the resort .....Valley Church or Little Fryes with warm crystal clear water and great snorkeling, morning walks along the water found us sometimes being the only ones there enjoying what Antigua has to offer. We enjoyed at the end of the day coming back to the two infinity pools to cool off and enjoy the views.

I can’t speak enough how wonderful the whole staff make you feel and is definitely what will bring Cathy and I back. Up early, it happened every morning with greetings even from the groundskeepers and front desk people walking to have some quiet time. Some special Thank-you’s have to go out to the following for making our trip so special. Nasasha from the time we walked in she never stopped thinking about making our stay unforgettable and one night after dinner had fresh flower petals and candles all throughout our room. She will truly be missed. Kevin working the reception area from day one making sure our refrigerator in the room was always full. Negeret the lovely lady that did our housekeeping each day was fabulous and always left the room spotless with little special touches. My friend Sonja who makes the most unbelievable omelets, I wanted to bring her home with us. Each morning Cathy and I would come in for breakfast and Sonja knew how we wanted our omelets and would have them made without asking… so friendly (special lady). Each day at Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner we had friendly fabulous service, but these three people really stood out and went up and above and beyond, Kerry, Tiffany and Denise. Their service impeccable, but most of all their friendly daily conversation asking how our trip was going and sharing about their lives and Antigua, can’t wait to see them again. Daverm was always eager to wait on our needs and makes a great pina colada at the beach bar. I can’t say enough thanks to Robert who handles all the beach and water activities (snorkel gear, kayaks, hobie cat) but he does a lot more making your experience on the beach a great one, getting you drinks and making sure you have beach chairs, clean sand and always with a friendly smile. Every evening we enjoyed talking with Kenroy(Gore) he is quiet giant in the room that tended to our every need and always had some words of wisdom. I really enjoyed talking with this respectful man.

We had a Cocobay couples massage that was unbelievable in an open air room that over looks the Caribbean Sea and I highly recommend. We went to Shirley Heights and experienced Sunday night party with Steel drum band being the highlite. I highly recommend the Wadadali circumnavigate cruise around the Island that picks up right on Cocobay’s beach. Once again it was the crew that made the trip. We also rented Jet Skis right there on the beach which was a blast until I knocked Cathy off the back, Oh well part of having fun. Go downtown to St.Johns Harbor and experience the market place and gift shops a must.

The food at this all-inclusive was fabulous and different each day from the omelets in the morning to the steak and lobster in the evening and the wonderful fish that was prepared at lunch there is always something for someone. Afternoon tea was a treat and if you were really hungry you could have a panini made pool side and after each meal unique deserts and ice cream were always served.

I would give Cocobay Resort 10 stars if it was part of the rating. You must experience for yourself what Cathy and I enjoyed on our trip and we are definitely planning our trip to go back. We think about the resort and people everyday since we’ve been back. Thank-you CocoBay and staff for making our anniversary a memorable one to say the least. You all are the best! Rick and Cathy G.

Room Tip: Premium Water Front Rooms and book through the Resort
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Rick-CathyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon W, Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Wow. Now this is a long, detailed response and we really do appreciate you taking the time to lay it all out in detail Rick/Cathy.

Antigua itself is an amazing place and we do our best to ensure that we maintain those high standards when you stay at Cocobay. You highlighted several staff members who made your stay memorable and we will ensure they receive the kudos.

And I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed the relaxing open air massage.

Thank you so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017

We have just got back from spending a week at Cocobay celebrating our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. The hotel was perfect and offered everything we needed to relax and enjoy. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with the infamous delicious 'Cocobay rum punch' and when we opened the door to our 'calypso' cottage we were truly overwhelmed by the stunning view. The room was beautiful and well equipped with a bottle of champagne to celebrate our honeymoon. We booked direct with the hotel so had a well stocked refrigerator, free wifi and were able to take advantage to the supplements on the dinner menu at no extra cost. We were also given a bottle of gin courtesy of the hotel to enjoy. Waking up to the view of the ocean each day was magnificent and the hotel grounds are well maintained. There are lizards, hummingbirds and mongoose everywhere and you soon adapt to the nightly tune of the tree frogs as soon as the sun goes down! The staff were friendly and polite and were happy to engage in conversation or leave you to your own devices which suited us perfectly. The food was delicious and the 4 course dinner was a welcome change to other all inclusive resorts I have visited. Every night was different and the food was of very high quality. We did find we received better service on an evening when we dined at 6.30pm rather than later but this was fine with us as it was beautiful watching the sun set as we ate. We also had dinner on the beach one night. This was perfect and very romantic. Again I highly recommend booking this for 6.30pm when it is dusk as by 7.15pm it is completely dark so you miss the stunning view. The drinks were plentiful and it was great to be offered drinks whilst sunbathing by the pool or by the beach. The hotel was pretty quiet but I know it is low season, we never struggled to get a sun bed by the pool or beach which was great. We hired a jet ski on the beach which was exhilarating and also went snorkelling. One afternoon we took advantage of the nature walk with Vorn which was a brilliant insight into village life, tasting the locally grown fruits and learning about the plants growing around the hotel grounds and in the local village. The hotel offers a shuttle to visit the famous Shirley Heights, which we went to on Sunday evening and enjoyed watching the sunset over the bay whilst the steel band played.
During our holiday we also booked an island tour with Nellie at 'Unique Island Tours' and a sunset catamaran cruise with 'Catch the Cat'. Both tours I highly recommend.
I was really worried about the mosquitos before we went but we didn't see any and only had 1 or 2 bites between us. I did go fully prepared however, taking Boots suntan lotion and after sun with insect repellent in, as well as Maximum Jungle Formula spray and taking B1 vitamins which I had read may help! I'm not sure which was the winning formula but all worked well for us! I initially suffered from prickly heat and had to adapt to the humidity so I recommend taking something to help with this also.
The courtesy hut which is available for use after checking out of your room is rustic but has certain charm about it and offers such incredible views to leave you with forever. I didn't feel overlooked and am pretty sure guests wouldn't even know it was there unless they have used it themselves!
It was a wonderful week and we will look back at our photos with fond memories. Thank you Cocobay for making our honeymoon special.

Room Tip: Book a waterfront suite if only for part of you stay as the upgrade is worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Litlun25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon W, Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

We love honeymooners at Cocobay - and we love making your romantic getaway special. Thank you for your kind words and for your detailed review on our features and amenities.

We will ensure that the warm touches remain and that we continuously tweak any little misfires that you might have noticed. Your feedback and patronage are greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Team Cocobay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017

Cocobay Resort is located in an idyllic part of the island - away from busy 'social' hotspots and the surge of cruise tourists that pour in from St. James'. The resort is perfect for couples, friends and families who are desperately in need of relaxation and vitamin D.

The hotel staff were, on the most part, happy to help and provided a service fitting of the hotel's star rating; some members of the waiting team surpassed this on a daily basis. Similarly, the facilities were reflective of the hotels ratings, and, in certain places, the plunge pool on the lower level for example, exceed expectation. In contrast, the facility that is available on a traveller's final day, a facility to shower, otherwise known as the courtesy room, is entirely unacceptable and leaves a sour taste in your mouth just before you leave - the primitive lean to hut, with a poorly maintained privacy features, should definitely be upgraded/developed.

The hotel's food was good, there was alway enough food to choose from and left us very satisfied. The drinks were also readily available and, on the most part, bar bottled water, able to cater for every individuals needs.

Views are superb, the beaches are delightful and the water is crystal clear. The only slight annoyance are the 'tour operators' who are based by the entrance to the beach (there is no avoiding them). Tours run daily from the hotel, collecting from the beach (boat trips) or the reception (other land tours) - ensure you compare prices between beach operator and the hotel reception. St.James is worth a visit and the hotel run a shuttle service leaving about 9 returning at 1, the half day trip is ample time to explore. We didn't actually venture further than the resort more than once, the beach and the water sports available suited our needs.

Rooms are as expected, but the beds are very comfortable. Ensure that you have a room with air conditioning as nights can often be warm, and you might need a break from the unrelenting heat.

ESSENTIAL: Insect repellent, sun cream, after-bite and after sun.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EnglishTeacher7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon W, Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Happy to hear that you loved the seclusion and the couple friendly atmosphere of our beautiful resort.

We try to maintain the rustic, laid back plantation style look throughout the property, and the Courtesy Room is no different. However we will take your suggestions on developing it without taking away from the island charm into consideration.

We also apologize if the Tour Operators on the beach were a bit pushy. We try to strike a balance between keeping our guests secluded and allowing them to enjoy the interaction and the activities offered by the local vendors who ply their trade on the beaches.

Looking forward to seeing you back here in a few years to enjoy the blues and the views. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews