We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,587)
Filter reviews
2,588 results
Traveler rating
1,745
557
164
60
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,745
557
164
60
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages mr gore coco bay plunge pool breakfast and lunch waterfront suite sheer rocks deluxe cottage lower pool rum punch our honeymoon paninis lobster sea view plantation house buffet style mosquito net
Filter
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 2,588 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2017

Cocobay Resort is exactly what the pictures portray it to be....absolutely stunning. We were in room "LC" with amazing views of the sea and a beautiful outside private patio. I HIGHLY recommend this room. The hotel is about a 35 minute cab ride from the airport.

I was very unimpressed with the service of this hotel however, which is very disappointing given it's beauty. Here is why:

Towels in our room were not replaced after our first night. Beach towels are given ONCE a day and extras were never provided. This was really just inconvenient. When we asked for extra towels, we were told there were no extras until the following day. The next disappointment was the lack of greetings at the restaurant. Evening staff was pleasant but breakfast staff... not at all. No person greeting you upon entrance into breakfast. The best meal throughout the day was definitely dinner but the portions are... SMALL! Breakfast and lunch were a standard buffet and the food was average but dinner again, was very good.

Then... the worst of it...our last night. There was an event on a public beach directly next to our hotel where the music was completely out of control loud, so loud our room floor was vibrating! We called several times to inquire about what time the event would end and the evening clerk had no information and had no concern at all about our inquiries - he seemed uninterested entirely. There was also no information provided to us prior to the event to plan ahead and not stay in our room. This was completely inappropriate and poorly handled by the hotel - the event ended at 4:15am after starting at 9pm so we were unable to sleep on our last night which is why you come to a place like this... to rest.

Overall - this property is stunning with individual cottages and amazing views. I highly recommend it in terms of its beauty and location. The service was subpar in comparison to the property.

I do still highly recommend this hotel even with it's flaws because of how stunning it is.

Room tip: Beach front rooms are completely worth it!
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Suzana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocobayGM, General Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2017

Hello Suzana,

Thank you for sharing valuable feedback following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that you were very happy with your Premium Waterfront Suite, room "LC" and that you would highly recommend this room category. It is further pleasing to know that the amazing views of the sea from your suite are exactly what you had expected. It is obvious though, that we did not meet all of your expectations and we truly apologise for the shortcomings. All of our team members are truly commited to total guests' satisfaction and we are sorry that you felt that we were not always responsive to your needs. With continuous training, coaching and talent development we are determined to "get it right" even more often.

Notice of the event on the public beach was posted in the hotel lobby a few days prior as soon as we realized that it was officially authorised by the local authorities. My team and I personally tried to reach out to all of our in house guests but it seemed that we missed you. Please accept our sincerest apologies. We truly understand your concerns about rest and tranquility and are committed to ensuring that we do all possible to provide our guests with a positively memorable hospitality experience in an idyllic and peaceful setting.

Respectfully,

O'Neal
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2017

Torn on this report. It was so good I am not sure I want to share it.

Cannot see how to find much fault. Location is fantastic with a quiet sandy beach, two infinity pools, plenty of sunbeds. All the 65 cabins seem clean and well appointed. No televisions which I found surprisingly beneficial. Some Wi-Fi but who cares? One main restaurant, a main bar, plus a pool bar. Food in restaurant excellent and varied, no repeats that I could spot. They offer luxury items at an extra charge (huge lobster) but we only felt the need on the last night as a treat. Quality booze and not stingy. Example, house red is a decent Malbec. Top staff, both friendly and efficient. French restaurant manager knows his stuff. Gardens well cared for, loved the hotel cats and mongeese.

There is another restaurant called Sheer Rocks which is not fully part of the hotel, but adjacent. Fine dining and very good. We tried the tasting menu with wine flight at about £110 each. Separate report on that.

Some water sports: one Hobie Cat, three kayaks, one paddleboard and snorkelling.
We did have one problem with ants. The hot weather was bringing them out in large numbers. They did try spraying. In the end we were offered to move to a premium waterfront suite, plus they moved everything for us. It is the Caribbean and there will be a few critters. The resort manager, O’Neal Richards, was attentive and determined to make sure we were satisfied. All places have problems, it's how you deal with them.

The only other thing was a ridiculously loud beach party ½ mile away one night. Difficult to see what the hotel can do about that, it’s a public beach.

So in conclusion. This is a wonderful place to chill out. Good standard of guests. If you like a boutique stylish hotel, this is perfect. We will return.

Room tip: I think they are al good.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Argonauticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuella H, Guest Relations Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2017

Dear Argonauticus,

Thank you for your very positive review!!!

We are gratified to know that we have been able to accommodate you in a clean and well appointed cottage, excellent food and beverage, and looked after by our friendly and efficient staff.

In the caribbean, we do our endeavored best to control ants and other pests with scheduled fogging.

In a boutique stylish hotel, a wonderful place to chill out, meet some very nice people, we invite you for a larger slice of paradise.................

See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017 via mobile

We recently had the pleasure of an amazing 2 week stay at cocobay. We stayed in green fig which was a premium waterfront suite chalet. We cannot fault a thing in our 2 week stay. Our room was just as expected with the most amazing view which, each morning when we opened our doors, just took our breath away. We used our plunge pool ever day, we were surprised at some of the reviews from people saying the water was freezing cold and too cold to go into, we never found this- even at night!! Our balcony was private and was an absolute sun trap which was important to us, you literally can wear as little as you like without being too overlooked. Reception staff could not do enough for us and were really friendly and always greeted us with a smile and new us by name in the first few days. Food/ bar staff were all lovely and willing to serve you/ help and the food was all to die for! There was not one member of staff that seemed to find their job a chore as we have found on so many holidays before. Definately book a romantic beach dinner- it was worth every penny!! The accommodation and surroundings are kept spotless and are beautiful like the whole of Antigua. Thank you so much for our 2 weeks stay - this was meant to be a once in a lifetime trip but we are already looking into a return visit in a few years time!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuella H, Guest Relations Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2017

Hello Sarah,

Thank you for your faultless review!!

We are delighted that you had an amazing two weeks visit with us. Even more so that your premium waterfront suite "green fig" with it's private plunge pool offered you just as expected.

We are also appreciative that our food and beverage services exceeded your expectations. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to our really friendly, lovely and willing staff.

Make this at least twice in a lifetime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2017

My wife and I recently spent 10 day at Cocobay and although our overall experience was positive, there were a few things that could have been better.

Things we liked:
The resort is in a beautiful location with great views of the ocean on two sides and three beaches within easy walking distance. The food was excellent with good variety and selection at breakfast and lunch as well as the sit down evening dinner. With one minor exception on our first day, the staff is friendly and courteous and always attentive to your needs. The excursions offered through the resort are very good, we highly recommend the "extreme circumnavigation" which included swimming with wild sting rays. Drinks and wine selections were reasonably good and readily available. The "cabin" we stayed in (14) was clean and we particularly liked the veranda and plunge pool (water temperature was about 23C, which was fine for us).
Things that could have been better:
Our room (14) was within 50 feet of the resort service building and we were awoken every morning between 7:30am and 8:00am by loud talking, afternoon naps were out of the question. We were definitely subjected to the second tier treatment despite spending on the "deluxe room with plunge pool". When we arrived, no champagne and 2 small bottles of water in the mini fridge, and that was all we got for the full 10 day stay. Extra billing, which I have never encountered before, despite going to many resorts throughout the Caribbean. Wifi for our full stay was $60 USD and every dinner meal had at least one appetizer with a $13.95 USD mark up and 50% of the entrees with a $24.95 USD dollar mark up, over and above the "all inclusive" resort charge. For the ten days, the extra billing for these items was over $220 USD ($50 of that was hotel "commission" on an excursion). Finally, we made reservations at the separate Sheer Rocks restaurant attached to the resort. Dinner was at 7pm. When we arrived there were about 8 to 10 drunken "medical students" adjacent to our table, at first they were a minor annoyance but as dinner progressed they moved closer to us and began pushing each other into a plunge pool and spewing profanities, not what you would expect in an expensive restaurant. We ordered our meal and just after we received our appetizers, two sides for our main course were delivered to the table (we had only ordered one?). A few minutes later, the waiter removed both of the sides, saying these were not for us. Shortly after that, he delivered one of the two sides to the next table over and the second side, which we had ordered, was delivered to us 30 minutes later and was cold. The bill was adjusted when I raised the issue, but overall the experience was poor considering the prices charged.
Overall, the resort had many positives and the people working there were very good, however there were enough issues that I would not consider going back to this resort in the future.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Bigtrout1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuella H, Guest Relations Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2017

Dear Bigtrout,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent Cocobay experience.

We are very pleased that you were able to visit with us and that your overall experience was a positive one. We are further delighted to know that you appreciated being looked after by our friendly and courteous staff in a beautiful location. Your candid review was received with humility and we are committed to ensuring that we improve our service delivery where applicable. We work very hard to "look after" all of our guests in a very special way. Room # 14 is one of our most requested Deluxe Pool Cottages and we are truly sorry that it did not "work for you'.

The Sheer Rocks team deeply regrets that your dining experience was not typical of their customary level of service. The restaurant managers are usually very attentive to their patrons and are sincerely sorry that your evening with them was not pleasantly memorable.

Please do consider staying with us again in the future.

O'Neal
Resort Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2017

Quiet, peaceful and the best views in the Caribbean. Staff was amazing! Cannot wait to come back here.

My wife and I enjoyed our first trip in the Caribbean at Coco Bay. It definitely surpassed our expectations. We like to slow things down so this is the place for that. If you are into a bunch of parties and loud bars (looking at you sandals), then this isnt the place for you.

If you need to unwind and spend time with your spouse, please stay here! Cannot wait to go back.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuella H, Guest Relations Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Hello Mike,

Thank you for your review.

We are very pleased that you chose us to be a part of your first trip to the Caribbean!!! Even more so that Cocobay definitely surpassed your expectations.

You have hit the right spot. Come again.............

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews