We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, peaceful and beautiful, mediocre food”
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
14
Reviewed July 30, 2005

Stayed there a week after an impulse purchase on an auction. It is a beautiful setting, within four beaches, on an untouched part of the island. The cottages are lovely and on the back side of the resort set far enough apart to retain privacy. On the front facing the beach they are a stone's throw from one another. But they are lovely, as is the setting. When we stayed there kayaking was also available bu any other watersports cost extra and were rather pricey - $45/half hour for jetskiing, as opposed to $30 in Jamaica, for instance.
The rooms are not air conditioned, and when it rains you will get damp; however, there are lovely porches with hammocks overlooking the beautiful hills. Every morning we enjoyed our breakfast while watching the birds at the nearby sanctuary and laughing at the goats who are herded nearby.

The food was the big drawback. Breakfast and lunch were fine - a buffet set outside on a terrace, salad and fruit available. Dinner ranged from ok to mediocre. If you like your meat well, well done - I would call it overcooked, you'll be fine. Beef stew was the highlight, along with the Caribbean BBQ, which was the best. Other efforts to fuse Caribbean cooking with Asian influences felt forced and unsuccessful. In fact, if the food was better, we would give this place four stars.

Antigua is no bargain - be prepared to pay cash for the best deals. We rented a car and went touring ourselves to get away for a couple of days (and to get a decent meal).

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,972 - 1,978 of 2,363 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Lincoln, United Kingdom
211
Reviewed July 29, 2005

Me and my husband stayed here in july 2005 for 2 weeks.Eating here is self service for breakfst and lunch but in the evening the restaurant has candle lit lighting and the meals are la carte so lads make sure you take plenty of collared shirts and long trousres to eat here ,ladies the dress code is casual ,we did notice that on a sunday when its bbq night the dress code for men was a bit relaxed.The only good thing my husband says about wearing long trousers is it helps you stop getting bites from the mosquitos,which there is a problem.The hotel are trying to sort this by fogging the place but once a week i feel its not enough, in one evening with all the creams and sprays on to stop bites i had 74 bites in the morning.The beaches here are lovely soft white sand and clear warm seas but didnt go no where near the beaches after seeing bites on people legs from the sand flies.The main infinity pool is great to keep cool looking out over the sea, and the small infinity pool down near the sheer restaurantis a great get away.The entertainment at cocobay is round the bar if you like playing drinking games drinking plenty of rum and getting to know other guests you will love the night life if you are looking for party night life dont go you have been warned.The beach / pool towels are available at reception in the morning and there is no charge of this,but the bottle water there is a charge of $2 i feel that this should be compilentary in your room it doesnt sound alot but as a all inclusive resort it should be.The cottages here are basic but lovely,are first room was 26 which is close to reception we moved after 6 nights the noise starts as early as 4 in the morning with taxi turning up and staff turning up for work, its hard getting to sleep here with the noise of the frogs and the heat and with no air con in the rooms we had to move,if you get this room you have been warned.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Oklahoma City, OK
14
Reviewed July 27, 2005

We recently returned from a trip to the Cocobay resort in Antigua. We were surprised to know there was no air conditioning (our fault). We had a super time in spite of serious mosquitos - there's repellent and netting to sleep under at night.

A relaxing resort - lots of nations represented in the guests. The staff was nice, the food was good and the bartenders were generous in their pours!

I recommend it - no TV, radio or telephones - a great place to relax, unwind and "check out".

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2005

My wife and I stayed here in July 2004 and we had a great time.

Lets do the facilities:

Seaview Hut: Great upgrade, well worth having. As you will gather they are basic but roomy. Only negative is the lack of air conditioning, however after a few days you do aclimatize, even though we didnt think we would! Shower is great. Swing open the doors and bathe in front of the Carabbean sea - perfect way to start the day.

Eating: Breakfast was self service, sometimes a wait for a omlette, but its not like your going to be late for work is it? Lunch was self service often with freshly cooked local sea food, or burgers, however you can make a buffet what you like - thats the idea. Evening meal Dont forget long trousers chaps, and ladies no swimwear for the evening, food in the evening is close to a la carte, very impressive, we stayed for 2 weeks and did not see the same main course twice. You will not go hungry unless you are a serial eater looking to eat between mouthfuls - like some of our cousins across the atlantic...

Beaches: welcome to paradise, soft white sand and clear warm water, this will take your breath away.

Pool: Very cool to drift around the pool, cooling down and taking in the views of the caribbean. Lovely little hot tub below also but dont tell everyone!!!

Things to do: Same as most islands really, dont go into St. Johns town if there is a cruise ship in as you will pay three times price for most things. Allways worth knocking prices down for goods they will give you money off most things - treat shopping here like buying a used car. If you only leave Cocobay once, make sure its for Shirley Heights on every Sunday afternoon / evening, great food / drink and local entertainment. Watch out for the chaps selling 'special' herbs as this is illeagal in Antigua and you might find yourself in hot water in you "pass it to the left hand side".

We loved Antigua and Cocobay, best for relaxing and unwinding. If you need constant supervision and entertaining go to Blackpool and leave visiting Cocobay to the people who are serious about chilling out and taking in life's simple pleasures at a cool, Antigan pace.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank pinstripe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2005

We have been to many hotels and destinations around the world and all we expect from our holidays is value for money and some sun. On this holiday we got neither.

We went there just after Christmas last year. It was going to be a special holiday which cost over £4000 for two weeks. However it turned out to be the biggest waste of money we had ever spent.

This was an all inclusive hotel eg you could get breakfast, lunch and dinner however if you fancied a snack throughout the day or somthing to nibble on you would have to buy it yourself! The food was nice but often the same and the service was slow. The bar staff were very good and nothing was too much trouble.

If the weather is bad (which it was for 2 weeks) there is not much else to do. Taxi's are very expensive and it is far cheaper to hire a car but don't get too excited there is not much too see on the island and we managed to cover 90% of it in a morning.

The rooms are nice however a little too close to nature for our liking (including waking up to a cockroach on my pillow one morning). If you like aircon then don't go here. When the weather is not so good you are constantly damp.

If you are happy to ignore all this and go for it anyway then here are a couple of tips.
Watch out for the sand flies, they bite like hell
Make sure you take clips/pegs for the mosqito net in your room
Make sure you close your shutters when you arrive
Make sure you ask reception every night for insence coils for your room

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank SteveScholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
PEMBROKESHIRE . WALES
18
Reviewed June 30, 2005

we have just returned from 2 weeks at cocobay.
we got married there 'brilliant day' the setting is beautiful and the registrar was fantastic.
the cottages are beautiful 'get a seaview' the is outstanding out across the bay, one fault , they need air-con,the heat at night in the cottages are unreal.
the hotel itself is lovely,the aim of this place is 'relax'.the beaches '3' and sea is wonderful.the bar staff 'david,nik,joel' are great .the food is good but a bit fancy at night.
while there do go on a couple of trips,the stingray city trip is awsome and so is the wadadli catamaran triple destination trip 'fantastic' they pick you up on the beach.
so if you want a place to chillout and relax 'GO' if you want nightlife 'DON'T

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2005

Also stayed in January 2002 & went back to get married. No weddings when we first went but one a day this year! They still made it special though & the location is fantastic.
Food is excellent of an evening and OK breakfast & lunch. Sure there are a few birds during the day but the food is covered and just don't leave your roll / drink unattended!
There's little entertainment which suited us fine - the bar is friendly and it's nice to talk to other guests / staff etc. The beach is also quiet apart from Sunday when there's a bit of a local gathering - colourful & friendly but if you want peace it's a good day to go sight seeing!
Beach looks fantastic & is nice but walk round the corner for easier access for swimming & catch a bus for a 5 minute / few pence ride to the beach which the Rex Heron is on (can't remember the name). That's really excellent.
Looked at other hotels both in brochures & when there and unless you want to spend three times as much or want loud nightlife, Cocobay looks to be a tough one to beat.
Final tip - go on the Eco Tour => Brilliant day out.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Father_On_Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
9 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,926 reviews
1.7 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
504 reviews
12.9 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 8 in Saint Mary's
1,064 reviews
0.6 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
862 reviews
4.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Address: Ffreyes Beach, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range: $429 - $929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, West Indies and Travelocity so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing