We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cocobay Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
COCOS Hotel Antigua(Jolly Harbour)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Hills(Saint Mary's)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sugar Ridge Resort(Jolly Harbour)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hermitage Bay(Saint Mary's)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Curtain Bluff Resort(Saint Mary's)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,440)
Filter reviews
2,440 results
Traveler rating
1,629
529
161
60
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,629
529
161
60
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoco baythe cottagesplunge poolmr gorewaterfront suitelower poolbreakfast and lunchrum punchsheer rocksdeluxe cottageour honeymoonpaninislobstersea viewplantation housemosquito netbuffet style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,049 - 2,054 of 2,440 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Cumbria, England
13
Reviewed June 19, 2005

Perfect setting for honeymoon, peaceful and friendly, food was excellent, the infinity pool was amazing and the sunset from the hot tub was beautiful, couldn't have wished for anything more on our honeymoon

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2005

If you like total peace and quiet for ultimate relaxation then look no further.

On rounding the headland the first thing you see are pastel coloured cottages dotting the horizon. Once through the security gate you are driven round the gravel drive to reception.

A warm greeting awaits you with a tropical cooler as you prepare to check-in. On being handed your key you are given a registration card to be filled in at your leisure and returned some time the following day.

A porter appears from nowhere and whisks you and your cases off to your cottage where a chilled bottle of champagne awaits you. I am not sure if this is usual as my husband was celebrating a birthday while we were there but I’m sure you could request it if not.

The cottages are simple yet exquisite. Both the bedroom and the bathroom have vaulted ceilings. Instead of windows there are wooden blinds that when closed form walls but when open let in all the natural air. A ceiling fan is provided to combat the heat and a mosquito net to prevent the insects whilst also making the room more romantic. All of the furniture is hand-made and therefore in keeping with the rustic feel. The shower room opens out on to your balcony with tropical fauna all around. The hammock provides the perfect place for looking out at either the ocean or - as in our cottage – the beauty of Montserrat. There are no televisions or radios which makes this hotel more like a retreat.

The all-inclusive restaurant provides a delicious array of a la carte cuisine six nights a week with a barbecue on the other night. With a choice of three starters, three mains and several desserts there is always something to tempt you. I highly recommend the confit of duck and the chicken stuffed with crab and lobster as two of the most delicious meals I have ever eaten.

The infinity pool is beautiful with views out over the ocean although personally I always prefer the beach. The sea is warm and calm and there is nothing but the sound of the waves to distract you. There’s something nice about mid-morning when you are starting to feel thirsty and waiters are already walking round the beach handing out iced drinks.

This is not one of those beaches where you are hounded to buy something every five minutes. Occasionally some locals may set up a stall but it is always up to you to approach them. The only other thing you will see here is goats who will wander the grasses behind you twice a day on route from field to farm.

After a long day of relaxation it is nice to take the time to enjoy a spot of afternoon tea with a cocktail or two and watch the sunset.

Evenings are balmy and peaceful with no music or stage shows to take away your calm. Occasionally there will be some local singers but again it won’t be loud or distracting.

A Wellness cottage looks out over the ocean where you can relax with a massage or revitalise with a body scrub.

This hotel is both wonderful for weddings and honeymoons, or – if like us – a wonderful way to spend a holiday as a couple as there is an age policy in place.

I would highly recommend hiring a car for a day and seeing the sites. Devils rock is definitely worth a visit along with the capital St Johns, a mecca for duty free shopping. There are very few road signs but getting lost in the jungle and being directed out by the locals adds to the amusement.

Every single person we met was friendly and polite and couldn’t do enough to help us.

Antigua is a beautiful place to visit with 365 beaches and some of the most breathtaking views in the Caribbean. If travelling as a couple I would highly recommend Cocobay. It is only listed as a 3*+ however I would certainly rate it as a 4 – 4*+ hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank joehickling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Torbay , England
18
Reviewed June 12, 2005

My wife and I stayed at coco bay for our huneymoon in may 2005. The weather was incredibly hot and we were told that it was warmer than normall for this time of year, this aside it certainly was the most beautifull place in Antigua.

the rooms were lovelly, we were lucky and had a seefacing room right on the front which gave us incredible views.

the food was superb and Kenroy and his staff did there best to make sure we were happy all the time. David, Nik, and Joel were briliant behind the bar and allways happy to talk. The pool and plunge pool were also beautifull and the three beeches were nice and quiet and like slipping into a warm bath.

The ONLY down side was the sand flies on the beech. make sure you buy the GET OFF from the shop or you will look like you have measles.

The last thing, ask David or Nik at the bar to put Drap Leaf on. I was told to buy this C.D in St John and all the staff loved it and it was played all the time.

Stayed: May 2005
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2005

We stayed at cocobay resort in feb 2005 , and found it generally very good.
The views from the cottage we stayed in was fantastic , although the sea was sometimes cloudy looking depending on how rough it was .
Food was to be honest indifferent , although not inedible .
A word of caution about the insects , though , you can get bitten by mossies day and night , as i did, especially after it rains , so use repellent sun screen during the day and good repellent after dusk .
Altogether though it was a very pleasant holiday

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jonah48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2005

The Cocobay is a beautiful, picturesque, quiet all-inclusive resort with luxury in a simple, unfussy way!

We were there for our honeymoon for two weeks over Easter. We booked through Caribtours who we'd recommend as the private car transfer from and to the airport in Antigua and use of the lounge at Gatwick was a great bonus!

It may cost a bit more through them but the rep out there has some weight as she managed to sort out a double-booking the hotel had made which could have meant us staying the first few nights at another hotel on the island. In the end we stayed in a different room the first night, and then they moved us into our "beachside" room the next day. A little inconvenient, considering it was our honeymoon and we had booked months in advance, really there is no excuse for double-booking, but unfortunately we were one of the lucky ones as it seems the Cocobay routinely double-book as we met many people who had either not been given a room they paid for (no quibbles refunds were made) or were transferred to a sister resort on the other side of the island for some or all of their holiday.

Once you're there it's really easy to settle into the relaxed pace of life and routine of going from lie in to breakfast, to a session by the pool or on the beach, back for lunch, then maybe a snooze in the hammock back at the "shed" for the afternoon, then a little afternoon tea and socialising by the bar, then a sunset swim in the pool before scrubbing up for the excellent 4 course evening meal!

The food is very good. People have written bad reviews of the breakfast - I don't know why it seemed fine to us! Yes, there are birds that will fly off with your toast if you're not careful, or try to drink the milk... but that's part of the rustic charm of the place! Lunch is good too - lots of choice at the buffet and barbeque - it's very easy to overeat! And at dinner it's a little more nouveaux with small but exquisitly presented portions!

The accomodation is really what made us choose this resort in the first place. The idea of staying in little sheds on the beach with a shower room that opens out onto the decking balcony was so different and romantic compared to a concrete high-rise resort, and we loved it. No, there is no air-conditioning, but the shed is well ventilated and has a good ceiling fan. It is open to the elements so you will have to say hello to a lizard or tree frog or two, and the mosquito net isn't there just for colonial style, but this is the Caribbean and if you want a resort that harmonises with nature and the environment you can't get much better than the Cocobay.

The infinity pool really is something special. And the beaches right next to the hotel are great. It is a quiet resort - don't expect entertainment. They put on music a couple of nights a week - either a steel band or a piano man or a couple of guys singing funny songs, and for us that was all we wanted.

The staff are very friendly. Kenroy the restaurant manager is a real character, but the bar staff are great too. They aren't tight with the drinks and a rum punch is about 4 shots of rum with a punch topping!!! The manager makes the effort to meet guests when they arrive and remember names when he see's you again which is impressive.

We hired a jeep for a few days to explore Antigua at our own pace and way, which we'd recommend. But there are jeep tours that other people we met did that were recommended too. We did a day-trip to Montserrat which was fascinating. We did the whole Shirley Heights thing which everyone raves about but we felt it was overhyped!

So if you're thinking of choosing the Cocobay... please do! We really loved it there and were gutted to have to go. One day we hope to go back there!!! If I didn't know about some of the double-booking that goes on I'd be saying it was absolutely perfect. As it was, I'm still giving it full marks, and finger's crossed, you will too!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank mrmatthewcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews