We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderfull place!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“What a wonderfull place!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2005

My wife and I stayed at coco bay for our huneymoon in may 2005. The weather was incredibly hot and we were told that it was warmer than normall for this time of year, this aside it certainly was the most beautifull place in Antigua.

the rooms were lovelly, we were lucky and had a seefacing room right on the front which gave us incredible views.

the food was superb and Kenroy and his staff did there best to make sure we were happy all the time. David, Nik, and Joel were briliant behind the bar and allways happy to talk. The pool and plunge pool were also beautifull and the three beeches were nice and quiet and like slipping into a warm bath.

The ONLY down side was the sand flies on the beech. make sure you buy the GET OFF from the shop or you will look like you have measles.

The last thing, ask David or Nik at the bar to put Drap Leaf on. I was told to buy this C.D in St John and all the staff loved it and it was played all the time.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,475
    488
    143
    59
    59
See reviews for
91
1,756
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2005

We stayed at cocobay resort in feb 2005 , and found it generally very good.
The views from the cottage we stayed in was fantastic , although the sea was sometimes cloudy looking depending on how rough it was .
Food was to be honest indifferent , although not inedible .
A word of caution about the insects , though , you can get bitten by mossies day and night , as i did, especially after it rains , so use repellent sun screen during the day and good repellent after dusk .
Altogether though it was a very pleasant holiday

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jonah48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2005

The Cocobay is a beautiful, picturesque, quiet all-inclusive resort with luxury in a simple, unfussy way!

We were there for our honeymoon for two weeks over Easter. We booked through Caribtours who we'd recommend as the private car transfer from and to the airport in Antigua and use of the lounge at Gatwick was a great bonus!

It may cost a bit more through them but the rep out there has some weight as she managed to sort out a double-booking the hotel had made which could have meant us staying the first few nights at another hotel on the island. In the end we stayed in a different room the first night, and then they moved us into our "beachside" room the next day. A little inconvenient, considering it was our honeymoon and we had booked months in advance, really there is no excuse for double-booking, but unfortunately we were one of the lucky ones as it seems the Cocobay routinely double-book as we met many people who had either not been given a room they paid for (no quibbles refunds were made) or were transferred to a sister resort on the other side of the island for some or all of their holiday.

Once you're there it's really easy to settle into the relaxed pace of life and routine of going from lie in to breakfast, to a session by the pool or on the beach, back for lunch, then maybe a snooze in the hammock back at the "shed" for the afternoon, then a little afternoon tea and socialising by the bar, then a sunset swim in the pool before scrubbing up for the excellent 4 course evening meal!

The food is very good. People have written bad reviews of the breakfast - I don't know why it seemed fine to us! Yes, there are birds that will fly off with your toast if you're not careful, or try to drink the milk... but that's part of the rustic charm of the place! Lunch is good too - lots of choice at the buffet and barbeque - it's very easy to overeat! And at dinner it's a little more nouveaux with small but exquisitly presented portions!

The accomodation is really what made us choose this resort in the first place. The idea of staying in little sheds on the beach with a shower room that opens out onto the decking balcony was so different and romantic compared to a concrete high-rise resort, and we loved it. No, there is no air-conditioning, but the shed is well ventilated and has a good ceiling fan. It is open to the elements so you will have to say hello to a lizard or tree frog or two, and the mosquito net isn't there just for colonial style, but this is the Caribbean and if you want a resort that harmonises with nature and the environment you can't get much better than the Cocobay.

The infinity pool really is something special. And the beaches right next to the hotel are great. It is a quiet resort - don't expect entertainment. They put on music a couple of nights a week - either a steel band or a piano man or a couple of guys singing funny songs, and for us that was all we wanted.

The staff are very friendly. Kenroy the restaurant manager is a real character, but the bar staff are great too. They aren't tight with the drinks and a rum punch is about 4 shots of rum with a punch topping!!! The manager makes the effort to meet guests when they arrive and remember names when he see's you again which is impressive.

We hired a jeep for a few days to explore Antigua at our own pace and way, which we'd recommend. But there are jeep tours that other people we met did that were recommended too. We did a day-trip to Montserrat which was fascinating. We did the whole Shirley Heights thing which everyone raves about but we felt it was overhyped!

So if you're thinking of choosing the Cocobay... please do! We really loved it there and were gutted to have to go. One day we hope to go back there!!! If I didn't know about some of the double-booking that goes on I'd be saying it was absolutely perfect. As it was, I'm still giving it full marks, and finger's crossed, you will too!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank mrmatthewcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2005

Cocobay is not for everyone. With this being said- Cocobay is one of the most beautiful places I've ever been, and I've been to most islands in the caribbean. The price of beauty requires an adventurous spirit that (in my opinion) most Americans are not accustomed to.

The accomodations consist of a small shed-like room that is nice, but very basic. No air conditioning so don't expect it to be cool when you return from the beach. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation without all the noise and annoyances of a large resort- this is an ideal choice. The location and surroundings are beautiful.

The all-inclusive package includes meals and drinks which for the most part are good. The two biggest drawbacks are breakfast and the sleeping situation. Breakfast is absolutely attrocious. You will fight flies and birds at the buffet that basically will put you on a morning diet. I would almost recommend skipping breakfast- but you might be hungry, and lunch isn't much better. The dinners are surprisingly good.

Night time is where you discover that the mosquito net above your bed is definitely not decorative. My girlfriend got eaten alive. I for whatever reason made it through the nights mostly unscathed. I don't know what it is- but some people just get bit more than others. You can see the unlucky ones at breakfast in the morning with the red bite marks on the back of their legs.

Overall the place is beautiful, the bar service is fast and adequate, the beach is secluded and nice- and the dinners are good. The breakfast situation is sub-par and the night accomodations can be rough. There is basically no night life around this resort- so don't go there for a party atmosphere. The additional restaurant attached to the resort (but not inclusive) has an amazing ambiance with excellent food. It is expensive but definitely worth eating at for one night. Warning- Cocobay is not for the average vacationer. It is beautiful but mostly rugged and unrefined.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2005

myself and my wife went to cocobay,antigua 2 years ago,with my brother and hes wife .we stopped in rooms r1 and r2.the rooms were just amazing ,they are the plantation rooms on top of the hill ,stunning views.can someone tell me is kenroy still there.he is a star.overall cocobay ,antigua amazing holiday.we came back from barbados 4 weeks ago,we both said we would have antigua to barbados any day.

  • Stayed June 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank liza4paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2005

My wife and I have just returned from one of the best holidays we have ever had. I was concerned that there was no air conditioning mentioned in the brochure, but the ceiling fan, combined by natural breezes, kept temperatures within satisfactory limits.
The relatively small number of hotel guests and the lack of other nearby bars enabled us to make friends easily at the bar. David and Nixton are excellent barmen and a credit to the hotel. Most of the other staff are very friendly. They all understand English excellently but you will not be able to comprehend what they are saying to each other.
We went on two organised excursions - the around the island cruise on the motor catamaran, The Excellence, and the off-road Land Rover(not for bad backs), kiyak and snorkelling trip - both were very enjoyable, but my favourite was the Catamaran. We stopped at other resorts whilst picking up passengers and we felt that none appeared better than ours. (In fact, some well know ones disappointed according to their guests.
The nearest town/village is Jolly Harbour which one may walk to in about 30 minutes. (Jolly Harbour is the place to go if you have children-kids clubs and activites )

The 'no children' rule at Cocobay made this hotel ideal for us. (Both of ours are adult now, so we've been through all that!!)

The sea can be a little milky at times hiding patches of seaweed just off the beach but the sailing and jet skiing was good.
Taxis are available all during the day courtesy of Benjie's Taxis - just agree the fare before you travel.
We made a number of friends during our 4 O'Clock Club meetings at the bar including one couple who were married at the hotel during our stay.
This is not the place to go if you want a lively and vibrant holiday.(the gym equipment was all broken). We wanted a vacation at a steady pace, good food and an opportunity to chill out by the infinity pool under the strong Caribbean sun with great views - perfect for us.

We were a little disappointed with the outward Virgin flight VS033 on 16 March as they ran out of immigration forms and alcoholic drink which was unusually bad planning, but the return flight VS034 on 26 March was up to Richard's excellent standard again.

Helpful?
44 Thank BIGALS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2005

We spent 12 nights at Cocobay 20th Feb - 4th March. For us it was the perfect spot for a relaxing holiday. The staff at the hotel were so friendly and created a really welcoming atmosphere. The food was super - some of the best we have had, particularly at an all inclusive resort. We did not have one 'duff' meal the whole time we were there. This is not the place for you if you crave entertainment and night life (which we did not!) but if you want a quiet, relaxing spot, great food, welcoming and friendly atmosphere, then Cocobay should be on your list. The couple of special requests we made to the hotel were dealt with efficiently so we have no complaints at all on the level of service. The wildlife on the verandah was fantastic - two resident lizards and a variety of different birds. The humming birds are fascinating to watch. Yes there are mozzies and sand flies, but they are also present elsewhere in the world - so you just have to be prepared. The views of the turquoise sea, white sand and island scenery more than make up for any bites! We would thoroughly recommend Cocobay and plan to return again.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
31 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
9.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
1.7 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.6 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
4.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,218 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing