We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
DeMotte
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Cocobay for one week in April to celebrate our 10th anniversary. The location of the resort has unbelievably beautiful views. The sunsets are beautiful as the sun sets behind the island of St Kitts. On a clear day you can see Montserrat with it's volcano. Also the horizon view as well as views doted with little islands. The resort has a Caribbean island feel which is what we were looking for. It is laid back and very relaxing. The cottages are clean and the grounds are well maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful. All we had to do when we wanted something was to tell the front desk and they took care of it for us. All we had to do was show up. We highly recommend the catamaran cruise around the island. We went on Wadadli Cats and had a great time. It's a chance to see the island, snorkel, enjoy good food, & have fun. The pools and view from them are beautiful as well as the beaches. It was a week in paradise for us. We would recommend the plunge pool cottages, mostly for the views and proximity to the water. We stayed in a plunge pool cottage and also another cottage at the top of the hill. The views from the hilltop cottage were distant, but 180 degrees and beautiful. The temperature was perfect and the tradewinds so refreshing. Food was good. Nice variety for breakfast and lunch. Food at Dinner was good with nice selection and served in an elegant setting. Overall for us, it was the laid back, relaxing island vacation we were looking for.

Room Tip: Plunge pool cottage for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonetta04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,477
    488
    144
    59
    59
See reviews for
91
1,759
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I actually got married on the beach and honeymooned at Cocobay a year ago. The pictures were idyllic and we thought this would be the perfect place to go. The pros of the trip were the amazing views, gorgeous water and the people we met while there.

The cons were that the majority of the staff were so unbelievably rude. The food was just mediocre although we both enjoyed the breakfast selection. I got a manicure down there for my wedding which was awful and smeared to the point we couldn't use any of our ring shots because my nails looked so poor. People walking by our room could see if one of us was taking a shower because the bathroom was open. We were told we couldn't switch room because they were full and then later found out another couple had switched the same day we had asked. The shell that you put inside to tell the staff you want privacy was ignored, every.single.time. The morning after our wedding we had someone beat on our door at 6:30 in the morning wanting the mirror back that I had used to get ready. We asked him to come back and he did, 5 minutes later. We tried to book an excursion with another couple and they had got the last spot which wasn't a big deal but they had there own fiasco that night and called the front desk and told them to cancel the trip and to please call us so we could go instead. When we went to the front desk that morning they claimed they had called us at 7 am but couldn't reach us (my husband had been up since 6 am that morning and no one had called our room). The night before we left one of the cleaning ladies came to our room and said she would be there at 6 am to take our comforter so she could wash it. I told her that check out wasn't until 10 am or 11 am and could she get it later so we could sleep in on our last day and she told us no that she would be there at 6 am. The morning of our check out we ran up and had breakfast and when we got back saw that someone had been in our room because there were muddy footprints all over our bathroom. We searched to see if anything was missing but couldn't figure out what they had been after until I got out of the shower and realized they had come in and taken all of our towels while we had been at breakfast. My husband had to run down to the pool to grab me a pool towel so I could dry off while I stood in the shower ducking everytime someone walked by.

Our wedding pictures were gorgeous with the views Antigua has to offer but the memories of our honeymoon are something that we won't be repeating in Antigua. For the cost of everything, including all of the extra's we paid for I would expect much better service. Instead we returned from our honeymoon with very little rest due to the rude staff at our door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocobayGM, General Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Cocobay Resort. We are truly sorry to learn that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay with us. We sincerely apologise for not meeting your expectations while visiting. Your honeymoon stay with us should have been magical and it's quite obvious that we have "let you down'. I will be in direct contact with you off line.

The unfortunate encounters which you experienced are not reflective of our operational procedures, guest satisfaction and customer service protocol. Your candid and constructive criticisms were quite useful and it simply means that we will have to work harder to ensure that your experience is not repeated.

Respectfully,

O'Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Cocobay for a week to celebrate our honeymoon. Antigua is absolutely a beautiful island and especially the friendliness of the locals was warming and welcoming. The staff at Cocobay will make your stay. Always helpfull, always smiling. Dinner at night is excellent. The beach is all you ever wanted for a Caribbean getaway.

However, we do agree with previous reviews. It's an all-inclusive resort, but simple, bottled water isn't included. It's 2014, but wifi isn't free. Our bathroom was outdated, as were the poolside sunbeds. There was no information about the resort in our room, so you have to go to the front desk for all small questions - how to book the spa (and what to book + the costs), how to book dinner on the beach (turned out to be an extra $150), what time to check our, etcetera.

The bugs, the noise of the desalination plant and the smelly lagoon are downsides, but nothing Cocobay can influence.

With a few small adjustments and some updating here and there, Cocobay will make your stay exceptional, especially considering the excellent value for money.

We do recommend Cocobay and Antigua for a fantastic holiday, just don't expect picture perfect paradise for a dime and a quarter.

Two more tips:
- Book a snorkling trip to the reef. It was amazing! We saw turtles, flying fish, starfish and more fascinating sea life.
- Spend the extra bucks for the cottages with plunge pool. Not the pool, but the views are worth the money.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank VCNAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was our 5th visit after a 9 year gap.
Because of our extensive travel in the WI Cocobay did not have atraction it had for us some years ago.
We booked a sea view (with aircon), the sea view (No 51) was barely visible through the trees and the aircon only cooled the end of the room that is was fitted in.
Also next door was the noisy staff and maintance area!
We thought the room was dark in the evening even with the lights on, the only mirror was in the bathroom that was old and musty (dont look under the sink unit!).
We had a hole in our mossi net over the bed.
We had no mossi issues but we were armed with Deet and room plug in.
Bar staff were good and bad, the drinks are made very strong, beware not premium brands with sodas coming up from a pressure tap.
The bar closes at 2230hrs a little early I thought especally as the majority of guests were late 20 something couples whilst we were there.
Town shuttle a bit of a rip off as if its only 2 of you it cost 40 USD return!
Two small bottles of water in fridge are complememtry, you have to pay for more (fully inclusive resort ?).
No WiFi unless you pay 10 USD per day, In 2014 it should be free.
The beach was excellent with a clear flat sea and plenty of sunbeds abeit the sun shades are a little low with many guests nursing their heads (ouch you only do this once!).
There is a bit of a bad egg smell from the fresh water lagoon behind the beach when the wind blows the wrong way, with a noise from the desalination plant next to the lagoon.
The food is a little bland with the breakfast fruit juice selection boring, but the breakfast egg ladies eggs are a must.
Sometime the table staff are a little slow clearing the tables.
We do recommend the round island boat trip on the "Excellence".
Most public areas need more then just a spring clean.

Room Tip: Make sure you have sea view over valley church and not the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocobayGM, General Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing a review of your recent Cocobay experience. We are truly grateful that you chose to return to Cocobay after nine years. However, it's obvious that you did not enjoy all aspects of your recent stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for not meeting your expectations and your review as a former guest is truly useful to us. We hope that you would consider visiting with us in the future.

Respectfully,

O'Neal
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I was a little underwhelmed when we first reached Cocobay, but I soon came to realise that this was a hangover of work stress and a long flight. Over the first few days, as I relaxed and got into the slower flow of things, I became a lot happier!
The rooms are very Caribbean: basic, but clean and nice. We paid for a sea view, and to be fair could just about see the sea in the distance, past the containers and the lagoon... We expressed our unhappiness at the room and the manager, to his credit, immediately agreed to move us after a day when another room came free. The second room had a clearer view, but still over the lagoon... We never spend much time in our room though, so it wasn't a major issue, though I think it would be fairer if they explained the two 'levels' of sea view - on one 'side' the manicured grounds run to the sea close by - on the other, you look over a lagoon and some construction work to the sea in the far distance.
As with most places in the Caribbean (in my experience), there are excellent staff and rude staff - Cocobay pretty much had excellent staff - friendly, eager to ensure that you enjoyed your stay and good fun. That said, you really do have to accept that you will be on 'island time' and there is never a rush here - which, once you get into it, is actually pretty nice - especially if your home/work life is hectic.
Food is top notch - plenty of choice and everything was excellently cooked with good ingredients - portions are small in the evening, but substituting the pasta for the soup sorted me out!
No problems with drinks - we were sticking to cocktails and the punch, with the odd G&T and whiskey and ginger. I have no idea on the quality of the spirits; they pour so much in that after one or two I lost the use of my taste buds anyway ;-)
The pools are beautiful, but it was the beach that made our holiday. It is picture perfect - the sea is almost indescribably stunning; light blue, warm and crystal clear.
Sleep wasn't great - in our first room the noise (from frogs I believe?) is very loud and broke up my sleep (though my wife was fine) - our second room was much better, but as the rooms are 'rustic' any noise tends to get in. Light sleepers such as myself might struggle, but if you are a normal / deep sleeper then I don't think you'll have issues.
All in all, we loved it, and we were very sorry to leave. Having a daiquiri in the pool as the sun set over that amazing ocean is a memory that I will treasure. If you want to relax and don't need instant service(!) then Cocobay is very much recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaux
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We found Cocobay by looking at tripadvisor reviews. We wanted a low key, relaxing resort that wasnt crowed with hundreds of people and lots of kids. We found the perfect place... We stayed in a premium waterfront suite for 7 nights. The only thing I can think of that wasnt perfect was the little plunge pool on our porch was cold. The food was so good everyday, we never really wanted to eat anywhere else on the island. They even cooked some wahoo we caught on our fishing trip we took one day that was amazing. We did eat at the Sheer Rocks restaurant one night, it was expensive, but the quality of the food was in line with the price, and the chef there was a very nice guy. He tired his best to source as many locally grown foods as possible, which is important to my wife and I, as I run a all natural grass fed beef farm.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBlanchet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Sorry for the late review, but we stayed here in July of 2013. The property was fantastic! Very clean, courteous staff and the view was amazing. We loved the fact that our room as a private cottage and the hotel itself is small (not overcrowded at the pools or restaurant). I gave it a 4-star rating because of two things. The A/C was running but still felt a little warm when sleeping at night (maybe it was just the time of the year) and limited on food (my wife is vegetarian). I would have liked to see some more options for vegetarians. Overall, fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRIS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
9.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
1.7 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.6 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
4.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,219 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing