We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Mt. Sinai, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We spent a perfect week at Cocobay in April 2014. The resort was clean, comfortable, friendly, inviting and perfect for us. It is a small resort with approximately 65 cottages. The staff was phenomenal. The cottage was rustically beautiful. The setting, pools, beach, restaurant and all facilities were truly perfect for us. If you are looking to be entertained with wild nightlife, this might not be the place for you. It WAS the place for us. Like other reviewers, the food was good... not great. Breakfasts were satisfying, the lunches were better (except hamburger day.... but I certainly wasn't looking for a hamburger), but the dinners were a little disappointing. They tried REALLY hard and some nights were better than others. The presentation was beautiful and the service was great. I wish they had served more local flavors. The setting couldn't be beat!! Servings were small (that was good to us) but to some it would be too little. Overall, I think EVERYTHING else made up for the food. I would totally recommend Cocobay to anyone who wasn't too pretentious. We loved and and would back in a moment. Robert and Debbie... we loved you!!!

Room Tip: We chose the seaview room. No plunge pool. It was perfect with a gorgeous view from the bed, bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise0000S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,466
    483
    141
    59
    59
See reviews for
91
1,740
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

A beautiful setting, great views, the lovely turquoise caribbean sea and white sandy beaches, excellent food and drink. What can go wrong? Well, after a 15 hour trip, which included over 2 hours clearing Antigua airport, being told on check-in that due to a hotel mistake that the rooms you booked weren't available and being downgraded for 2 nights (out of 7). Not life threatening, but very irritating, not a great start the holiday, especially since we had emailed the hotel in advance. The hotel was apologetic, although I sensed a lack of sincerity in their apologies and suspect we were "bumped" for whatever reason. This lack of sincerity perpetuated throughout the holiday and we found some of staff to be surly and unwelcoming at various times.

To make good their error, we were offered a complimentary dinner on the beach (changed to poolside due to locals on the beach), although we subsequently discovered that a couple who got married on the day we chose to have dinner were not allowed to have their dinner because we were having dinner. The lack of bottled water in the minibars is exceptionally petty for an all inclusive resort and left a bad / dry taste in the mouth.

Having said this, it is a lovely resort with 2 excellent pools and plenty of sunbeds, although puzzled as to why some of the sunbeds had no shade provided. The restaurant is very good and it was a real treat to be served dinner every evening, a more than adequate choice of food and drink and the service was prompt and efficient. Whilst relatively basic, the rooms were more than adequate, clean, and the beds very comfortable. Also, really enjoyed the plunge pool when we were moved.

Overall, whilst we had a good time, the holiday didn't live up to expectations and we won't be returning to this hotel but will return to Antigua.

Room Tip: Make sure that in advance you check that the rooms booked are the ones you will get on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJACK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Cocobay in April and found, like most of the reviewers before us, it to be a wonderfully relaxing place to stay. I would highly recommend it to anyone who really isn't in to large impersonal resorts. The staff were wonderful, warm and welcoming. The location is spectacular and the cabins rustic and appealing. Our only quibble would be the food, which we found to be dull, the omelets were good in the morning, the buffet at lunch OK, but the dinners were a bit pretentious and not very tasty. We also stayed in English Harbour after our stay at CB and ate out every night and every meal made CB's dinners pale in comparison. With that being said, we would still return to CB in a heartbeat as it really is a delightful place to relax.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boatguy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Cocobay is a resort for rest and relaxation. The cottages are perfect and very private. We certainly enjoyed the views from our cottage and slept with our doors open every night (no bug netting either). The bed was extremely comfortable.

Tip when keeping the doors open to enjoy the fresh air: hide the sugar packets as the birds will come in and help themselves.

We had a mini bar in our room and never had issues with bottled water service. We always took our water with us and returned to two fresh bottles each day. We also had a variety of pop, beer, and rum in our fridge.

Dinner service was good but very small portions, if your traveling with a big eater, order two meals at dinner, they will accommodate. The a la carte menu did get tiring after day 3, but it didn't dissatisfy us. We had the supplement meals included, but unfortunately it seemed like the entire resort also had it included....which meant no lobster for at least 3 nights. I did get it one night I asked and it was amazing!

Lunch service was nice, but I would recommend adding more options down at the pool. I saw a pizza oven going in, hopefully this will help to improve the options. I found lunch was more disappointing than any other service, the Panini's were good but if you didn't like the toppings you had to make your way to the buffet. Not to mention that they often ran out of sandwiches.

I would recommend maybe a snack bar of sorts where if people are dealing with time zone differences they can just help themselves when they like.

Breakfast was good, the omelette station was very slow but when on vacation we should all enjoy the pace provided (I think).

The staff were OK, I've certainly been to other places that were more friendly. It took some time to warm up to the bar and beach staff but we managed to have some fun with all of them.

A few con's to mention:
There was a foul smell coming from the pool closest to the beach in the afternoon when hanging over the infinity wall.

The liquor isn't premium brands, if you are picky you really need to ask a few times for the better rum or vodka. Always ask a few different people as your answers aren't consistent.

If you are a night owl the bar does close earlier than you may like.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank felllowtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at Cocobay Resort late April early March. The seaview cottages are basic but have the advantage of stunning sea/beach views. The room lacked a TV which some may find irksome but I can only usually find US cookery shows which afford an insight into America's obesity problem. Not ideal viewing when you are on an all inclusive holiday.

The staff in the bars and restaurants were excellent, friendly and efficient, with the possible exception of the only staff member who did not wear his name on his shirt. He sounded a little French to me, and his general arrogance and indifference to diner's needs and requests did little to convince me that he was anything other than French.

The bar staff were efficient and the drinks were good. The food was generally excellent. Breakfast was a buffet with eggs cooked to order. It would be advisable to go to breakfast as late as you can because for the first hour of service the egg queue looked like a bread queue from Ceauscescu's Romania and moved with the speed of a large glacier. The management's solution to the egg queue wasn't to have extra staff preparing the eggs, it was to put chairs the length of the queue to give succour to aching limbs. The lunch buffet had limited but tasty choices using some local vegetables and a reasonable amount of spice. Dinner was served from a short a la carte menu for six days of the week and we did not struggle to find options from the menu. Each night there was lobster, steak and prawns available at a US $25 supplement. We didn't feel the need to try any of these and from what we saw of the dishes $25 seemed a large mark up. The day to eat dinner out, if you need to break out of the all inclusive cocoon is undoubtedly Thursday. Killing two birds with one stone, you will avoid the managers cocktail night and the Thursday night buffet. The cocktail reception is an opportunity for the manager to address guests and rather smugly praise the hotel and its repeat guests, some of whom smile smugly back. The Thursday dinner buffets were the worst culinary efforts of our stay and could be greatly improved by replacing them with a proper barbecue.

The hotel faces a lot of competition locally and in the rest of the Caribbean and there are a few very low cost improvements that could be made to make the guest experience so much better. My first suggestion would be a hotel directory in each room listing all relevant hotel information......restaurant/bar opening times, watersports availability, spa treatments..the usual basic stuff. The hotel hires out a limited number of dongles for wifi/internet access, I would suggest free wifi access,at least in communal areas, is necessary. We had a fridge in our room which contained two small bottles of water. We finished our water and threw the bottles in the bin. When we aked at the bar for some bottled water for the night we were told to ask at reception. Smiley Melissa at reception told us water was chargeable to which we took umbrage, Smiley Melissa gave us the bottle without charge but from that point forth became Frowny Melissa whenever she saw us. The main point here is that in all hotels and bed and breakfasts I can remember staying in, water for the night time has always been free of charge.
On a slightly wider point I don't think it would cost the resort too much money to actually stock the in room fridges with canned soft drinks too. Unfortunately this episode coincided with us returning to our room to be greeted with what can only be described as an explosion in a pot pourri factory as the whole room was strewn with the detritus from the gardeners waste bin. On closer examination the maid had covered the floor with petals and electric candles... a gesture somewhat misguided for us grumpy guests.

There is one area where the renowned Caribbean laid back attitude to punctuality is sadly missing and that is when it comes to the main bar closing. The closing time is 23.00(which we might have known had there been a hotel directory in the room) and on night 2 I rather naively asked for a drink at 22.55 to be told the bar was closed.....slightly annoying. Even when there was a wedding party celebration the bar staff were assiduous in sticking to this time, despite the fact that more than 20 guests were still happily chatting......most hotels we have stayed in have shown a sensible flexibility to such closing times.

The resort room towels were very old and had been washed so many times that they had clearly shrunk to half their sensible surface area. The larger towels in the room were no bigger than hand towels.

With a few tweaks I would happily stay at Cocobay Resort again and attend the manager's cocktail reception smiling smugly back as the manager smugly praised the resorts repeat guest record and the repeaters themselves..........but I would definitely go out for dinner afterwards.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank simonalcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shipley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Perhaps one of the most relaxing holidays we've had and for the last few years we have been having three or four a year much to our grand children's dismay. it may be that our last two holidays have been so great because they have been recommended by hospitality type services. so we can pay a bit and don't require nightclub entertainment. Cocobay is on a peninsular with great beaches on either side and an almost all round view. The two infinity pools are superb and the food is the best I have had before. You could refuse some I suppose but most people put on weight.The staff are a joy to be with and the breakfast egg lady knows she is world class. Don't expect Hilton type staff efficiency or room standards .so if you want that go somewhere else. also take lots of insect spray and if you have bad reactions to bites also look elsewhere. The local store sells "anti-itch" cream which helped my wife. I was not troubled if I put insect spay on once at dusk. Local vans will take you anywhere as soon as requested. Nelson's/Englishmans harbour are sublime. But the capital is dismal. The sunsets are some of the best I've seen. you need carribeaen $ EC , $ US and a card. The east side of the island is insect free I believe because of the wind. Most guests are European or Canadian.

Room Tip: a sea view room is a good investment but the most expensive are probably not value for money . Altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rmelsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel is lovely! A great view of the bay and the beach was never very crowded. I am always nervous about all inclusive deals, but this was great! The drinks were strong, the food was great- with a good variety of items. The only downside is signing up for dinner in the morning, but the staff is very accommodating. The two pools and beach give guests options so it never feels very crowded. I would recommend this hotel for couples,as it is very romantic.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the hotel and to the water had nicer view. Splurge to get an upgraded room with priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
8.9 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
1.7 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.6 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#2 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
4.6 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,188 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing