We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect Honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Cocobay in early June for our honeymoon and absolutely loved it! We stayed in one of the new Premium Waterfront Suites, and have nothing but good things to say.

The room was lovely and comfortable, and the private plunge pool right on the ocean was fantastic. I took a nap in our hammock almost every day, listening to the waves.

O'Neal, the manager, and his staff are extremely friendly and helpful and will bend over backwards to make sure you are having a wonderful time. I had also emailed with Manuella and Vilma prior to our stay, and both of them immediately remembered our conversations and went out of their way to say hello.

The food was also delicious - probably the best all-inclusive restaurant I have experienced. The breakfast and lunch buffets were varied and ample, and the dinner menus changed nightly. We enjoyed every meal we had. There are several menu items (like the rock lobster, which is amazing) that typically require an additional charge, but for guests in the premium suites, this charge is waived. This was a very nice surprise, and we definitely took advantage.

The resort is definitely geared towards honeymooners and couples looking for a romantic vacation, not those looking to party all night, and that was perfect for us. We met several other honeymooners and really enjoyed the tranquil and relaxing setting.

We barely wanted to leave the resort because it was so wonderful, but I would definitely recommend taking the Wadadli Cats catamaran cruise as an excursion. You get to circumnavigate the whole island and see a bunch of the main sights (like Devil's Bridge and Nelson's Dockyard) and they also take you snorkeling and provide a traditional Antiguan lunch. The captain and crew are very entertaining and it makes for a very fun day.

The weather was also wonderful. June is the beginning of the rainy season, and on most days, there was a very brief rain shower in the afternoon (15-20 min), but this usually happened right around the time that we were leaving the beach for a little nap before dinner, so it never bothered us. The rest of the time we had sunshine and blue skies.

We will definitely be back in the near future!

Room Tip: Premium Waterfront Suites have the best locations, the newest bathrooms and amenities, and are defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank castba85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,367
    459
    131
    54
    59
See reviews for
83
1,620
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here from 11/17 - 11/24 for our honeymoon and could not have dreamed up a more perfect place. I read many reviews before booking and let me just say, they truly deliver on everything you'll read. The pictures do not even do it justice just how beautiful the resort is.

We stayed in one of the newly built premium waterfront suites (Warri, to be exact) which was very private and included the infinity plunge pool, outdoor bathtub, hammock, A/C, and even Nespresso capsules which delighted my espresso-addicted wife. Some little touches that made it extra special: they give you rum punch and cold towels as soon as you arrive; hibiscus and champagne waiting in our room upon arrival; one night we came back from dinner to be surprised with flower pedals and candles in our room; and on the final day they left us with a sweet note along with some coconut and of course, rum punch.

To do: we were here 1 week and planned 2 all-day excursions.. the Wadadli Cats Circumnavigation which picks you up right from cocobay's beach, and the Island Jeep Safari + Stingray City tour. Both were well worth the price and on both excursions (~6hrs) you are well fed with food and rum punch. We also took a tour with Vaughn the Medicine Man around nearby Bolans village (~2hrs). Doing these 3 tours really gave us an opportunity to see the whole island (by land and sea) and were a lot of fun. If you're staying for only 1 week I would probably not advising booking any more excursions if you're looking to relax and soak in all the beauty that Cocobay has to offer. For us, these 3 things were perfect. We were originally going to do Shirley Heights on Sunday and maybe go into St. John's one day, but we felt we had seen and done plenty and by then just wanted to relax. Oh and on our last day we also booked a couples massage and private beach dinner at the resort as our final pampering before going back to the real world. Well worth it.

(to give you an idea of the quaint private setting vs. other resorts... when the Wadadli sailboat picked us up there were only 4 of us from Cocobay that boarded. when it eventually stopped at Sandals, we loaded up some 30-40 people from that resort alone. to each his own, obviously, but we just kind of glanced at each other as they were piling on board and gave the same non-verbal "Thank God!" look. those other resorts have some excellent entertainment I'm sure, but there is also plenty to do at Cocobay)

Food: the food here really is amazing, and we're self-described "foodies." We live in Philadelphia which has a big Italian-American heritage and great Italian cuisine, and yet I found myself ordering pasta all but 1 or 2 nights because the pasta dishes were THAT good! Portions were just fine and the selection was never dull or repetitive. For lunch there is a buffet upstairs and paninis by the lower bar (we probably would've gotten the paninis had we discovered them earlier in the week. they really hit the spot)

Staff: I almost don't want to mention anyone by name because everyone truly is so pleasant and accommodating. But a shout out to Sasha, Sonia, Craig, TaShawn and Oriel to name a few (Sasha for her bubbly personality, Sonia for her crazy omelet skills, Oriel for whipping up awesome drinks, Craig for making sure I didn't feel awkward for falling off the bar stool the 1st night [[true story!]] and also getting me ice, and TaShawn for always smiling and taking time to talk with us... Everyone who served us for breakfast lunch or dinner were very gracious and fun to talk to. I miss them all already :(

Pointers: book direct through Cocobay's website. you get I think like a 10% discount, plus taxi transfer from the airport is covered, and you can also get the meal upgrades like lobster and such without paying extra. For what it's worth, I only felt the need to take advantage of that once because the regular selections were always so good.

We're already saving up to come back for a future anniversary, hopefully by our 5-year. In summary, this place is like living in a picture-perfect postcard and we would never stay anywhere else when we come back to Antigua

Room Tip: premium waterfront suites are where it's at (Warri cottage)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

As so many reviews have been written there is little we can add but I though we would give a perspective of a short stay from a young(ish) couple (27-28). We normally like to travel and stay in cheap places away from resorts but I decided to treat ourselves to a few days as a surprise. Stayed for 2 nights in a sea front plunge pool cottage in mid-Nov. First impressions are amazing. Staff are so kind and every night was unique with little surprises. They do go out of their way to make your stay individual even though there are up to maybe 20-30 couples staying. View is amazing. Plunge pool was brilliant but a little cold, although that didn't matter when drinking champagne in the sun. Unlimited free minibar. Age range of guests was mainly 40-60 but had a lot of couple probably in their 30s so overall quite varied. It is romantic and just great for relaxing. Beach is good with lovely turquoise colour but not clear. Typical towel ritual observed of reserving deck loungers early in the morning even when most are empty, we managed to get some though.

Breakfast is the highlight. Amazing pancakes and eggs. Lunch buffet is amazing. Dinner is very nice 4 courses. Great house wine. Cocktails where amazing, drinking them by the infinity pool. We didn't want to leave and definitely the best place we've stayed.

Room Tip: Definitely go for plunge pool and beach front. If you're in paradise might as well go all out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drbenk2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level Contributor
113 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

just back from 10 nights at this place...it was fabulous. the accommodation is in wooden bungalows..quite rustic. ours had a sea view and air con.to be honest we didnt really need it when we were there as there is a ceiling fan which is just fine. the bed was lovely..big and very comfortable.
the food was excellent..and the service also. the staff are so friendly too.
overall it was first class and I will def be going back

Room Tip: all the bungalows are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanaspinall33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at the Cocobay resort to attend a family wedding . It was wonderful....beautifully laid out, infinity pools, marvellous staff and lovely guests. The all inclusive arrangements were discreet, booking a table for dinner and long trousers and collared shirts for men is a great idea. As much as I like kids it was lovely to be away from them in an adult environment. The wedding itself was very well handled with the ceremony taking place at the waterside and the lunch table being decorated by the staff. All in all.....what more could you ask for....perfect.

Room Tip: the sea view rooms are just beautiful and worth a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We arrived at Cocobay on day two of our holiday, having initially booked a different hotel, which was so awful that we moved after the first night! Cocobay was recommended to us by our Virgin Holiday rep. after our initial first hotel issues.

We were SO delighted when we arrived! Beautiful surroundings and setting; Colonial and rustic in style, and perfectly executed! Our room was large - we didn't have (pay for) a sea view, but it didn't really matter as the room was still lovely, with a great balcony with comfortable loungers. They really had got so much right! The rooms were all individual chalets, carefully-placed within the development, so you felt very private.

The staff were great - always friendly and happy and couldn't do enough to help. When we saw the main infinity pool our jaws just dropped!! It is set on a hill, looking over the ocean, and was staggeringly beautiful.

The restaurant was good - and although we were on an all inclusive package, it was in no way like the canteen buffet-type affair that so many hotels offer. There was personal service throughout the meals, and the evening meal was a sit down four course affair - breakfast and lunch always having an element of something cooked for you personally - be it the eggs for breakfast, or fish or meat for lunch. Not to mention the view from the open sides of the restaurant of the azure-coloured ocean, and the sound of the sea in the background!

I think the best thing for us about this resort was the fact that it was relatively small and personal, but not so small that it was in any way claustrophobic.You feel in many ways as if you are there on your own!

It was a great mixture of relaxed and friendly with meticulous attention to detail by the staff.

The island does suffer from mosquitoes, but Cocobay went to a lot of trouble to "fumigate" the whole resort very regularly, which definitely helped, and is probably not something which all resorts bother with.

A more welcoming, tranquil and beautiful place would be hard to find. We badly didn't want to leave and are already trying to work out when we can next go back!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room if you can!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We travelled to Cocobay for our honeymoon in September, and it was absolutely wonderful. We stayed in a premium waterfront suite, and would highly recommend this room... We loved the amazing ocean views, and the upgrade options for dinner are included with this room price. The entire staff is absolutely wonderful, especially Melissa at the front desk. The pools were amazing, although we spent most of our time at the beach, because the views and water are so perfect. We also went on several tours, including deep sea fishing (if you're planning to fish, go with the Mystic Amara!), a helicopter tour of a nearby volcano, which was fantastic, and also Sting Ray City, where you can swim with stingrays. After our deep sea fishing, we brought back a portion of our fish, and the awesome kitchen staff prepared it for our dinner that evening, which was my husband's favorite part by far! Overall, a wonderful experience with this resort, we could not have been happier with our stay.

Room Tip: Premium Waterfront Suites are worth the higher price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
9.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#3 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 1,683 reviews
1.7 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#2 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#2 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 2,977 reviews
0.6 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
7.7 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A colorful collection of quaint wooden cottages set on a breezy hillside bordered by three white sand beaches, Cocobay offers quiet relaxation and privacy in a rustic, romantic setting. The 49 cottages and 4 plantation houses each boast large verandahs with easy chairs, hammocks and striking sea views. Rooms include hand made wooden furniture, ceiling fans, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and in-room safe. Seafront rooms include air- conditioning and private plunge pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing