We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon Location”
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon Location”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Absolutely beautiful views from all aspects of the resort.
Sea view rooms are breath taking.
Pools and beach clean and again fantastic views
Staff VERY friendly and helpful
Breakfast is a buffett (cooked food, cereals, fruits, coissants/bagesl/toast)
Lunch is a buffett (changes everyday)
Dinner is a 3 course set menu (giving you 3 choices of starters and 3 choices of mains, have to pay a supplement if you want steak / lobster) good quality food.
Only downside is the bar closes at 10.45pm, entertainment is on 4 days out of 7 and again finishes at 10pm. Would have loved the entertainment to stay longer and bar stay open longer.
Very friendly intimate resort, got to know all staff and all couples staying there.

Room Tip: Sean view have wonderful views and are a little more private than garden view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,500
    498
    145
    60
    60
See reviews for
91
1,791
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The best part of this place is the staff. They are genuinely beautiful people and really want you to enjoy yourself. We met wonderful people, the food is solidly good, the accommodations were exceptional. If you are looking for peace and quiet, you have it. A loving shout out to Tomeka and O'Neal who keep the place running beautifully and seamlessly. We will see you soon. Gwendolyn and Ilona Maine USA.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coopee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Cocobay Resort for 4 relaxing days. The property is beautiful. It is quaint, peaceful, and the views are breathtaking. Both pools have great views, and the staff is unequalled. We visited what would definitely be considered the high end hotels on Antigua while we were here, and we were commented each time that we were glad we headed "home" to Cocobay each night. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel special and cared for. The Manager, O'Neal, spent an unusual (in a good way) amount of time talking with us about our travels, getting to know us, and surprised us with some very personal touches while we were there. Never has a staff been so accomodating.

The bar, restaurant, and lounge areas are beautiful - again with great open air views. Our cottage had a plunge pool, and honestly one of our most enjoyable days was spent on the porch in our hammock, looking out over the beautiful azure ocean, reading and hopping in and out of the pool. The weather was absolutely perfect- late April. If you want a peaceful, boutique hotel experience, with wonderful folks who care about you - this is the place to go.

Room Tip: some of the rooms do look at the back of other cottages, i would definitely get a seafront room if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShayKenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I found this resort on Trip Advisor and knew it was where we wanted to stay for our delayed honeymoon! The staff is unbelievably wonderful and was by far one of the best things about the resort. The food was amazing every day, we literally did not have a bad meal and I highly recommend dinner on the beach if you are celebrating something special with a loved one. This resort is definitely geared more towards couples and is very quiet and peaceful. Cocobay is a pretty private resort with it's own quiet beach and suprisingly there was only one annoying group of locals harassing us about jet skiing. Our ocean view cottage was perfect in every way, but definitely bring some bug repellent to spray around your bags. The only complaints I have was that the bar closed at 10 or 11pm every night and there really wasn't anything around if you wanted to keep the party going. Also, I really only drink beer and since (I guess) they don't import anything I didn't drink a whole lot since all they had was a ginger beer on tap. Otherwise, a perfect honeymoon!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with AC because it can get a little sticky at night, even with the doors/win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krystle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful resort 27 Oct to 3 Nov for our honeymoon. Antigua is the most beautiful island I have ever visited. Our room was perfect. There was plenty of space to hang our clothes, and store our luggage. We stayed in an oceanfront view with a plunge pool. The plunge pool was a little chilly, but it was so nice to be able to jump in and cool off!

The staff was ALL so nice...from the friendly gardeners to the management team. The food was delicious. I couldn't believe we were at an all inclusive!

The beaches and pools were so pretty. We were able to get drinks easily from either spot.

We ate dinner one night at Sheer Rocks. AMAZING.

We did go on the Wadali cat trip, which was fun but super crowded. A few of the people we met went on the Creole Cruise, and raved about it!

Also, we went into town one day. We booked a taxi because we didn't want to be stuck in town for hours. We looked around had lunch and were ready to get back to the beach in under 3 hours. The resort did offer a shuttle, but I think the trip was for 4 hours. Too much time away from the water for us!

This was a great vacation, and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco/Orange County
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is the location overlooking crystal blue waters. Second, the pools are well maintained and offer great views as well. We were in an Ocean View room with private plunge pool that offered a private deck and views of the crystal blue water (clearly there is a theme here). While the rooms are "basic," we found them to be very comfortable and charming with great views (of course).

Aside from the views, I am really surprised by all of the good comments about food and drinks- I don't have the same opinion. The food is just okay/average and I would have liked the option of paying extra for an a la carte lunch menu. The drinks are made with fountain juice that I found to be low quality and super sweet, to the point that we really didn't drink during the day and just ordered a bottle of wine with dinner. Oh, and if you like sparkling water, it is also club soda from the fountain. Call me picky/snobby, but I found the food and drinks to be very average.

While I knew the hotel didn't have a private beach, I was not expecting the other side of the beach to include empty shipping containers, trash and a murky lagoon. Not the hotel's fault, but took away from idyllic beachfront setting. We ended up spending most of our time at the lower pool where the loungers were much more comfortable than the beach loungers and we weren't bothered by the beach vendors. Another thing to consider are the Mosquitos and flies- they are definitely present at dinner and not pleasant if you don't have insect repellent. I am being critical because there are other options on the island and if you know Cocos' flaws, you will likely be a lot happier with your stay.

If you are looking for a reasonably priced all inclusive with great views, you won't go wrong with Cocos. The staff is hit and miss on friendliness/helpfulness, but overall pleasant. If you love luxury and food, you are better off staying somewhere else (or stay at Cocos and eat off property or at Sheer Rocks frequently as it was excellent). I am glad we tried it out and others loved it in their reviews, but I'm not sure I'll be back.

One other thing to note- a vast majority of the guests appeared to be on their honeymoons and the average age appeared to be 20s and 30s.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelGal415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Cocobay is everything that the reviews on here say it is and more! Once you settle into 'Antiguan time' you will love the relaxed atmosphere of this beautifully chosen spot on the cliff's edge. Cocobay is kind of isolated and we endured a 45min walk to Jolly Beach Harbour (didn't walk back, found a bus which was really cheap!). If you want nightlife then be prepared to pay the taxi fares to find it!

We arrived back in freezing cold Gatwick early Sunday morning and are already pining for CB. We upgraded to a Seafront Cottage, you get your own plunge pool, although please bear in mind that these are no longer actually seafont due to the building of Superior Seafront cottages. However we loved our little cottage (nos 3), it was a stones throw from reception etc and the plants were so mature that we were quite private and able to to take advantage of the alresco showering! The only possible complaint I might have was that yes the bathroom did have twin basins but to get to his basin, my husband had to straddle the edge of the shower ledge. A small and insigificant complaint.

The food here is delicious and although I didn't ask I heard rumours that if you asked for something not on the menu then the staff would get it for you! Sometimes in the lunch buffet there was CHIPS and we went mad for them..sometimes you just crave the simple times in life and the burgers on a Saturday lunchtime, go down a treat!

Kenroy/Mr Gore, Denise, Jermaine, Derven, Saydee and Craig really caught our eyes in the restuarant, always happy to help and although busy happy to chat about your day.

In the bar, I recommend you get to know your bar staff well and they will look after you. Tip: don't trust Oriel, Tony or Cyan to 'surprise' you with a drink, they will give you something to make your eyes water! Seriously they are brilliant and really lovely guys. The bar area is an excellent place just to get chatting to people and you will soon not be able to walk around the hotel without saying hello to everyone!

Lets not forget the hardworking ground staff who keep the grounds manicured within an inch of their life, absolutely beautiful. Also the cleaning staff, in previous holidays abroad they scurry off as if they shouldn't be seen but again always happy to chat and help.

The main pool as I shall call it was the only one we used and it has a view that I will never get bored of looking at. The pool is shallow and just perfect for a refreshing dip/wallow for when the Caribbean Sea gets too intense.

On Thursdays the manager holds a Caribbean night where a buffet is served, there are cocktails and DIamonds International and some skin product company turn up trying to sell their wares. Be prepared to remortage for these!

If the funds allow then we would love a return visit to this rustic little hotel. It started to feel like home and I wouldn't trade it for hotels such as the Sandals.

Tips: Take earplugs, the crickets and frogs will drive you mad at night!
Get to know the staff, they will help to make your holiday!
Use your mosi net and bug spray!
Try to use bus where poss but you will have to walk to the main road.
Get a cab to Shirley heights, its just getting going when the Hotel cab comes back at
8pm.

Room Tip: Seafront for private plunge pool and closer to reception, that hill is steep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
9.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,829 reviews
1.7 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
444 reviews
0.6 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
978 reviews
4.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,289 reviews
7.7 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, West Indies, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing