We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to Relax”
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Ticehurst, East Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Place to Relax”
Reviewed April 8, 2008

Having returned from Cocobay in the last 10 days we felt we had to put the record straight on a lot of points.

This was our second visit in 3 months to Cocobay. We visited at Christmas and was very pleasantly surprised after reading all the negative reports. We were so happy with our first visit we recommended it to relatives who joined us this time.

We have been visiting Antigua for the last 38 years and we usually stay at the north of the island. Because we wanted a break at short notice in December we took our chance. Although it is very different from what we are accustomed to we had a super time and it was so ideal for "switching off" after a busy 6 months at home.

We had a beach view cottage and it was so lovely to be able to open the doors and sit up in bed in the morning and take in the fabulous view, and to open the doors and shower with the view. The cottages are very well placed so at no time are you overlooked which makes showering or sitting on the loo very unique. They are very well cleaned on a daily basis with fresh linen and towels daily. The housekeeping staff are very efficient and if your laundry is handed in early (by 9am) it is returned by lunch time beautifully ironed and shirts starched. I have to say this is even more efficient than our usual boutique hotel with a higher rating.

We found the food was very good, not a huge choice, but there was a choice with a buffet breakfast. The sliced pineapple was limited over Easter but we put it down to it being a holiday period for the locals. We could have done with a few more finger bananas which they grow on the island which are absolutely delicious and have a better flavour than the standard caribbean bananas. We cannot understand anyone saying the portions are small. There is a buffet lunch and everybody takes what they want and we witnessed some guests not of a british variety going back 3 times for a main course. The kitchen staff always replace the empty containers on the buffet with fresh so there is always plenty of food for everybody. The wine was better on our last visit than in December. There again, there is no choice, only red or white, and no rose, but it is quite drinkable. Dinner in Rafters Restaurant is from the menu and very good, with an appetizer then a soup course. All the soups at Cocobay are simply great. The portions are smaller in the evening because there are four courses, all I can say is if people want to stuff themselves to obesity then they should go on a "bucket and spade" holiday to Spain and eat burger and chips all day for £299 all inclusive for a week!

The restaurant staff were always helpful and on a couple of occasions I wanted something slightly different than as it was on the menu and they were happy to oblige. We are of the opinion if you treat them politely and friendly then they will appreciate that and treat you the same. O'niel the Hotel Manager is charming and most helpful, nothing is too much trouble for him.

The beaches are fabulous at Cocobay but perhaps a few more parasols would be helpful. There are 3 beaches in all so there is a great opportunity to walk and get some exercise. It must be appreciated that as all beaches on Antigua are public and the weekends are very much family time for the locals they do get busy but it is so nice to see all the families out enjoying there time together in such a delightful location. The majority are friendly and pleasant and they tend to keep to the far end of the beach nearest to the hotel so it does not spoil your time on the beach.

This is not the most expensive hotel on the island, in fact far from it, but £ for £ probably the best value. Cosmetic improvements could be made like an improved bar/lounge area with more comfortable seating, but improvements such as these would almost certainly see a rise in tariff and take this typically Caribbean hotel out of the price range of a lot of people and put it into the luxury boutique category.

  • Liked — Open air shower
  • Disliked — Lighting in cottage for doing make up !!!!!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank LadyJanetSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,500
    498
    145
    60
    60
See reviews for
91
1,791
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

We stayed at Cocobay for one week from 14th March 2008. Upon arrival - the hotel is simply stunning. We were greeted with a rum punch and then taken to our room, which was extremely pretty in a rustic style. The view was faboulous (room 41) - sea view is a must!, although we had actually booked a 'sea front cottage' and didnt get it - the view from number 41 was as good if not better.
The rooms were extremely clean and beds and towels changed daily by the very freindly maids - they even cleaned our hairbrush! Fresh flowers were also put in the room - a lovey touch. We thought the food choice was good - the menu was small but varied and of high presentation. We did eat out one evening at Sheer at a cost $180, however although the setting of Sheer was wonderful, we didnt think it worthwhile to use again - as the standard of the all inclusive Rafters was comparable. Our only disappointment is that we couldn't do the boat trip around the island - as it was cancelled due to the winds.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to return one day.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
6 Thank Summer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

We booked via Virgin Holidays, they offered excellent service. Cocobay was an amazing place to stay and so relaxing. At first we where put into the wrong cottage, but they moved us after a day, into a wonderful cottage. We both loved Cocobay, the staff where so friendly and so was the manager, we where made to feel very very welcome. I would so recommend.

  • Liked — The feeling that your where really in paradise
  • Disliked — Nothing Really
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank AngelsCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

We have been back a week and we miss everything about the wonderful COCOBAY, I think the people that have written some of the reviews below - have been to a different Cocobay! Hey we all thve our on opinions.

The Rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels.
The Food was excellent - breakfast was a buffet anything from scambled eggs to pancakes, the pastries were hot the bread was all hot - although i did never get my toast at the same time as my boiled eggs!!.
Lunch was buffet - All the soups (apart from the cold one, oneday) where excellent, there was always pasta, rice, fish and a meat dish , the salads where lovely and then a puddings which you normally had a choice of 3 (icecream, fruit salad or a cake)
The Dinner - A la carte - WOW so so nice. the few nights that they did the buffet we treated our selves and had Lobster which again was very tasty.
The Staff were very freindly and helpfull.
Beaches - take your pick ok you may get bitten by sandflies or stung by sea urchins who cares your on holiday to experience things like that! I think if you dont want to get bitten or see any bugs then go to the colder climates, all the beaches are wonderful.
A must when you go is to go on the Wadadli cat around the island, our 1st trip got cancelled as we had a land swell and the sea was very rough, but we ended up going 4 days later, it was fabulous i would advise you to sit at the front ( just near the windows) its wet and wild !!
Shirley heights on a sunday evening also is a must the views are amazing although it was cloudy when we went so the sunset not so good, the steelband where great, we had a burger which cost $9 again excellent.
All in all a great time, if we where to come back to Antigua we would stay at Cocobay again.

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank j1jua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

We went back to Cocobay for our 2nd wedding anniversary. Just a fantastic place. The staff were all excellent and we came away having made some really good friends. Not just the staff but other guests as well who we are still in contact with.
We thought it was great when we went there for our honeymoon 2 years previously but were amazed to find the same happy, friendly and smiling members of staff on our 2nd visit. Head waiter, who we nicknamed Nutty Proffessor and also Tameka, David and all of the other great people there. Location fantastic, room great, food excellent, beaches and pool always clean and immaculate what else can i say but if you are thinking of going to Cocobay, i couldn't reccommend it more highly. They had even put a bottle of champagne in our room while we were out 1 evening witha card alongside it wishing us a happy anniversary which we found when we got back to the cottage. Neither myself or my husband had organised this so it was a really lovely suprise!. Keep up the good work Cocobay. Can't wait to return!.

  • Liked — part open air shower
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank julia_miles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2008

Just arrived home after two fabulous weeks at Cocobay and are very surprised by certain nationailties reviews - they are just so wrong. We would certainly recommend it to everyone, it was a perfect two weeks, sun shone, resort was well maintained, very clean, staff were well beyond words, manager was always seen walking about resort if there were problems and sorted them!
We stayed in a superior cottage which was cleaned daily, never saw a cockroach the whole stay. Certainly there were mosqitoes and you do have to deet up well, but where aren't they when you go somewhere so hot.

Food - well what can I say, breakfast was buffet and was varied to suit all. Lunch again was buffet, during our two week stay I think we only had the same thing twice, but it was always so fresh. Dinner was A La Carte and plentiful, food was outstanding and you always had service with a smile and wine was always flowing and of good quality. Bad wine - it certainly was not! Some people seem never to be pleased and it seems to be the same nationalities time and time over.

The wellness (spa treatment) cottage was also to a very good standard - I recommend all ladies trying the pIneapple package!

We are just very upset by the bad reviews from people who were obviously there at the same time as us and we had a perfect two weeks - There is just no pleasing some people and bouy could some be rude to the staff when there was simply no need!

Oh by the way, David's cocktails have to be tried they are simply to die for and they are not watered down - service always with a smile always knew what you wanted without having to be asked - amazing after only one night!

JJ, Pe Pe and Benjay are always at hand at reception if you want a cab anywhere specific on the island, but they also can do your own island tour if you so wish to which you'll get a whole airconditioned car to yourselves! - They are so accommodating.

The pool is cleaned daily before breakfast and the beaches eitherside of the hotel are both clean, white sands with tourquoise waters.

We must stress the staff at this resort are wonderful and there are so many we could name but the list would be on-going.

Everyone must try this resort its your perfect paradise.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Piglet30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Oh, so sad! We had been looking very forward to a relaxing holiday in the sun. And while the sun was wonderful, the resort was far from.

Our room, albeit beautiful, was over-run by bugs. Small bugs, that crawled all over our bathroom and the items we stored there; larger bugs, that crawled all through our clothes, biting us as we dressed; and even larger ones....yes, the dreaded (while harmless) tropical cock-roach, which crawled up the bug net that draped the bed!! Ugh. And then there were the bed bugs! We left half-way through our week, as I had run out of places on my body to sport bite marks (not a word of exageration!). At the beginning of the week we mentioned it it the front desk manager, who listened with a vacant gaze, and responded accordingly....nothing happened. Upon checking out, part-way through our pre-arranged, and pre-paid stay, the manager meekly asked if there was a reason we were leaving. Oh," I am sorry" she said, you should have said something!

Sadly, the food was terrible also. The never-changing menu made us dread meal times. And, left-overs from lunch re-appeared, only slightly altered at dinner. The house-wine was boring, and despite the fact that the web-page boasts a "wine list" we were never able to obtain a different wine, even when we wanted to pay extra.

All in all, we left early and were thoroughly disappointed by our experience. I really would never return, and would highly recommend that anyone considering this hotel find another choice.

  • Disliked — bugs bugs bugs, being
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank CE1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
9.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,829 reviews
1.7 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
444 reviews
0.6 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
978 reviews
4.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,290 reviews
7.7 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, West Indies, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing