We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cocobay Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
COCOS Hotel Antigua(Jolly Harbour)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Hills(Saint Mary's)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sugar Ridge Resort(Jolly Harbour)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hermitage Bay(Saint Mary's)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Curtain Bluff Resort(Saint Mary's)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,440)
Filter reviews
2,440 results
Traveler rating
1,629
529
161
60
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,629
529
161
60
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoco baythe cottagesplunge poolmr gorewaterfront suitelower poolbreakfast and lunchrum punchsheer rocksdeluxe cottageour honeymoonpaninislobstersea viewplantation housemosquito netbuffet style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,899 - 1,904 of 2,440 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2007

My partner and I spent a lovely Christmas relaxing at Cocobay and it certainly met all our criteria for a memorable holiday.The cottages are simply delightful and the views are to die for with pelicans and humming birds constantly in view.

The food was fresh and imaginitive and unlike most "all inclusive" the evening meal was waiter service which is a welcome change from the normal buffet style.

To be honest Cocobay has an enviable position with fabulous views from all sides and after taking a trip around the island it soon becomes apparent that it dosen't get much better.

If you are looking for a top end hotel with all the trimmings this resort is not for you, however if you require peace, nature and to kick back from your city life - this is chillsville!

By the way Chris and Christine sorry we didn't get to say goodbye - I hope St Lucia was as good as Cocobay!? xx

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank CharliBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2007

We just returned from our week long honeymoon at Cocobay and it was fantastic!! All the negative reviews must be from those people who find fault in anything. We have no complaints! The bugs weren't too bad as long as you were prepared with bug spray. The food was good and plentiful. Although not top shelf, the alcohol was fine and always flowing! The beach and the pool were absolutely beautiful and the staff was superb. The grounds are amazing. I highly recommend a massage in the wellness cottage with views of the ocean! All in all, I will recommend this resort to family and friends and hope to return there myself one day.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
17  Thank melisathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2007

My wife and I wanted a short getaway, and hoped for a picture-perfect island spot. Boy, did we find it! Cocobay is a beautiful place, with easily accessible beaches and a wonderful bay for swimming. We didn't do any hanging around the pool or bar, but the open plaza design is inviting, seamlessly blending the indoors and outdoors and surrounding you with trees, birds, fresh breezes and views of the crystal-clear water. The food was good - dinners especially - with creative blends and generous portions. The staff was very attentive, and I have to give special recognition to Phyllis at the desk and Blondelle at the grill. Cab driver Benjy seemed very at home at the resort, and we were glad to have him as our driver and tour guide - he took us on a couple of special trips.

The downsides? The watersports guy at the beach leaves fairly early, so no late afternoon paddles or sailing. The lighting is very low, which is romantic in the bar and restaurant, but not convenient in the bathrooms when trying to put contacts in or shave. Tree frogs sing all night long, so bring earplugs! We didn't experience any problems with mosquitoes or sand flies/fleas, but I don't know if it was the time of year.

All in all, it was a most memorable and romantic vacation. Thanks Cocobay!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
20  Thank IslandTime007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2007

I highly recommend Cocobay to people who really want to get away from it all and relax and who do not want a conventional (read: Sandals, Club Med) all-inclusive experience. Cocobay has absolutely breathtaking scenery and beautiful grounds. We did nothing but sit (sit at the pool, sit on the beach, sit in our hammock) and left the resort only three times (Sunday at Shirley Heights, a morning trip to St. John's, a day trip on the Wadadli Cats circumnavigation tour -- do not miss it!!!)

The rooms are a little rustic (cabin-like), but I would not trade my bathroom overlooking the bay or the deck hammock for any nicer of a room. Make sure you get a seaview or sea front room.

The bugs (mosquitoes, sand fleas on the beach) are as reported by other readers; make sure you bring bug spray, especially for the beach. Although others at the resort looked eaten alive, we were fine with consistent application in the late afternoon and evening. The place is teeming with wildlife (lizards, cats, birds, tree frogs). It seemed like they sprayed every night at 7 p.m., which was loud, but certainly did not bother us that much.

The food is great. While there was the occasional odd item at lunch, we generally found what we wanted and did not feel hungry. Sheer is the most romantic and beautiful restaurant I've ever dined in - make sure to ask for a "real" table, which are right on the water. It was well worth extra money for the treat. The bar is well drinks only, so we drank daiquiris and coladas all week (its the Caribbean, after all!). The wine was excellent, cabernet and chardonnay from Mendoza, Argentina. There is tea every day (most guests were British and European while we were there), which made a great snack!

We went to sleep every night after dinner and woke up every morning shortly after sunrise. We did not miss the lack of entertainment one bit.

The staff was not the most friendly in the world, but this had the benefit of them leaving you alone. You will not be waited on hand and foot.

One of the nicest things about this resort (aside from the amazing views) is that it is really, really, quiet. No phones, no TVs, no e-mail, no kids, no yelling and screaming from other guests. It is very peaceful and relaxing and we would not have changed one thing about the vacation.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank LAF28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2007

We stayed at Cocobay from 24th Nov to 8th Dec, we had lovely time, on arrival check in was easy and quick we were given a rum punch and taken to room 8 which was a seafront cottage.

We didn't have a plunge pool and neither did our neighbours in room 9. At first we were very dissapointed and was going to be asked to be moved when a room became available, but after walking around and never actually seeing anyone using them we didn't bother. During our stay the bricks arrived for our plunge pool but we never saw any work taking place.

Our room was nice and clean with stunning view accross the bay, not a huge room but a reasonable size, our only gripe was there was nothing else to sit on in the room other than the bed, 2 chairs and a table would have been nice. The bathroom was a good size with double sinks and doors opening onto the balcony so you get a good view when you shower.

There is air con in the sea front rooms but it costs $8 a day we didn't bother with it as the ceiling fan was adequate, there is no air con in the rooms further up the hill but we felt when walking around the resort that they need it as they get the sun all day.

The resort is laid out very well and is very pretty with stunning views, its fairly small and compact but never felt packed despite being almost full.

The food was buffet for breakfast (Blondelle makes the best eggs) and lunch there was plenty to choose from (I am very fussy) and it was always hot and fresh. Dinner was from a menu with 3 choices for the starter, then soup and 3 choices for the main meal and then desert. With there 3 choices there was always meat, fish and veg to choose from. The food was very nice but the portions were tiny and fussy. It was like the resort appeared to be trying to make their food 5* when the resort is only a 3* hotel. We were often hungry even after eating our evening meal so do ensure you stock up at lunch and breakfast.

The bar area is nice but small and can get quite packed with people waiting to be served, David the barman makes lovely cocktails but they aren't premium brands so don't expect them to be, the drinks were nice but a little strong for my personal taste.

The pool area is small and gets quite busy but the pool is beautiful, the decking area around the pool though gets quite slippery when wet so do take care.

The beach is stunning, with plenty of sunbeds and space it was never packed.

The staff were friendly and polite, we never had a problem with any of them.

Evening entertainment, well there isn't any as such, one night there is a steel band, another night a guy on a keyboard sings in the dinner area and then another night 2 guys walk around singing, they are all very good but this could be more frequent really.

All in all we had a lovely holiday Cocobay is a relaxing oasis cut off from the world.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MrsLC2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews