We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful getaway...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful getaway...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We returned Friday 10/7/11 from an eight night stay at cocobay resort. Celebrating 25 years of marriage... What a beautiful place! Very quiet and secluded, and full of beautiful Antiguan people waiting to do everything they can to make you feel at home. Made great friends, served as inspiration for some great honeymooners, (I dare say) and we are totally rested up for 25 more years.

If your thinking about a vacation to cocobay, quit thinking and Just Do It! Enjoy

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NJbeachgirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,475
    488
    143
    59
    59
See reviews for
91
1,756
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

I love it here, we have been and come back several times and I can honestly say I never tire of the place.
Its not a super 5 star venue so don't book it if you want that but it is a super 4 star place in my opinion.
The all inclusive is fab for the money you pay, I have never felt hungry here and the option to have an 'al a carte' menu in the evenings is a great complement to the lovely buffet you get at lunch and breakfast.
The drinks aren't premium but to be honest with you I didn't really notice all that much difference other than I could drink maybe one or two drinks more than normal.
The bungalows are lovely, I am yet to stay in one with its own pool can't comment on them but if they are anything like the ones I normally stay in they are lovely, spacious and all you need for some time away from reality.
The winner of the resort is the pool and the staff, some staff are still there years after my first visit and the manager will help with anything he can. I can't tell you how much time I spent in their pool just taking in view of blue sky's and distant islands.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

We went for ten nights for our honeymoon the place was perfect. It was very quiet and more entertainment would have been welcomed but it didn't ruin our honeymoon. I would recommend the seaview cottage with air con ceiling fan and plunge pool. The plunge pool was fantastic. The hotel manager was always about and therefore this kept staff on their toes! We saw four weddings during our stay and the hotel staff made it very special. The food was delicious plenty of it, and always a good choice. My husband is very fussy but he managed to eat well. The evening dinner is very special and romantic. The staff always make sure you have a drink and water is constantly filled up for you. Think this is the first holiday we have ever had where we didn't have a dodgy tummy!!! The bar shuts at 11, there is a wide range of drinks available but the only thing we didn't like was the small glasses that you got your drinks in!! Our room was always nice and clean and upon arrival they looked very welcoming! The beach was lovely always clean with plenty of beach towels! It is a distance from the bar but there is a man with squash and water at the kiosk down there! Also there ard locals on the beach and people trying to sell you trips, but a kind no thankyou is all that's required! I wouldn't go back for a normal holiday but for renewing our vows or a second honeymoon, then definitly!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LincolnBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

The hotel, beach, and grounds are beautiful. We had a room upgrade with plunge pool. It is the way to go. We spent a lot of time in the plunge pool as the weather was very very hot. The hotel was rather quiet, it could do with some entertainment in the evenings. The hotel was very clean and the staff were all fantastic, so helpful nothing is too much trouble for them. While we were there, there was a tropical storm, we had to be evacuated to the jolly beach hotel, hated every minute of it, Couldn't wait to get back to COCOBAY. Very sorry to leave

Room Tip: you need to upgrade to room with ac and plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieH52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

While looking for vacation spots, we chose CoCoBay for its great reviews and very economical price. Both of which served us right!

For the price of this resort (call the resort, do not go through expedia or other websites), we were pleasantly surprised by the "amazingness factor."

Entrance to the resort is nothing special, it actually lowered our expectations (ha ha), but don't worry, as soon as you enter the lobby, you see the beauty of this resort. The first thing that impressed and wow-ed us was the color of the water and the view from the lobby.

Our cottage was simply decorated, with a view of the ocean! I did not particularly enjoy nor like the bedsheets (a little coarse) nor the hair left on the shower. The bathroom is very impractical, as the shower is quiet tiny and right in front of the toilet, with no barrier or curtain. When you shower, all of the bathroom gets soaked. The soaps and shampoos smell nice, though.

The food was particularly decent. We were unsure of the all-inclusive package, but were pleasantly surprised. We only had buffets for breakfast and lunch (and twice for dinner), apart from that we had menus to choose from for dinner. The food was pretty decent, there were enough choices for vegetarians and non-pork eaters. The only thing I had complaints about with the meals were: flies and no labeling of dishes. Also, the drinks were pretty sweet (and all free!).

The beach itself was pretty nice, a little rocky and wavy (we went in Sept...hurricane season) but still pretty nice. If you walk out of the resort and turn left, walk for about 0.5 miles, you will end up at the other side of the resort, where the beach is deserted, pristine and all to yourself. Thats what we did, and we basically had a private beach! Pretty nice!

Be sure to take a jet ski out to the ocean! marvelous!

All in all, it is a great resort with a lot of europeans. The walk up to the restaurants is beautiful, as you see the pool overlooking the ocean! Best part of each day!

Room Tip: Book by calling the resort, you will get a free taxi from the the airport and a bottle of Rum. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank n k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here for 5 days in September and felt very emotional to leave after such a relaxing stay. I know it has all already been said below but I can't emphasise it enough it's an amazing place to stay:
Staff - very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Go out of their way to make your stay as comofrtable as possible.
Food - FANTASTIC esp the dinners in the evening. As good as I would expect even in a 5 start resort. My incredibly fussy husband even had to admit it was delicious. Good wine also.
Rooms - worth paying a bit extra for the AC, very clean, beautifully furnished and good mosquito net although not many insects got in. Occasionally got a few tiny ants in bathroom but I think this is true of anywhere in a tropical country.
Beach - beautiful, not bad for snorkelling either and they give you snorkel gear for free.
Could have more beach towels and in peak season there would be a shortage of the sun lopungers. Also the overhead beach unberellas had holes in so not much use.
Bar - great cocktails and barman was also good mixologist so could make anything. Did occasionally get over-run with chavs though - the only downside of this resort.
Spa - good value and unbelievable view of deserted side of beach from it. Worth going just for that but also got good massage!
Overall - excellent value high quality all inclusive. Five start experience for a fraction of the price. I would not stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Pay the extra £12 a day for teh air con - it's much needed in the climate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SXR101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

this place is amazing , the staff cannot do enough for you , its very clean and the food is excellent , its exactly what the brochure says it is , i would totally reccomend this hotel to anyone visiting Antiuga , this was our honeymoon and it has left us with beautiful memories of the island and the resort , the view is spectacular from both the pool and the cottage , all the guests were happy to make friends and chat and we met 8 lovely couples which just made the experience even more special . The only thing i would suggest is is if you wish to experience the horse riding on the beach DO NOT do it through the guys on the beach ,do it through your holiday rep , i would recommend the helicopter over the island thats fantastic . i would like to thank the resort for giving us a great honeymoon and the chance to meet new friends however i would also like to stress if you ever have to evacuate your guests in the tropical storm season DO NOT send them the Jolly Beach you will scar them for life !!!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautiful but you defo want the sea view cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theline71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
9.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
1.7 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.6 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
4.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,218 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing