We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply paradise”
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply paradise”
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Cocobay is the resort that we return to again and again. You will not get better attention.
The staff are all outstanding. The views are to die for. The food is excellent. Waiter service five nights out of seven is perfect. The cottages are peace itself. If you want 5 star luxury and prices to match do not come to this resort.
Cocobay is for peace, quiet (no children helps!), relaxation and making friends. As we arrive at reception and look out to sea, it is simply the best.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela131148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,500
    498
    145
    60
    60
See reviews for
91
1,791
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Metuchen, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

I stayed at Cocobay in April 2011 with my boyfriend and another couple. The resort looked like a movie set, it was beautiful and clean (but keep in mind that you will see some critters- lizards, frogs, etc). The all-inclusive package was a great value, especially because the liquor was included. The food was good, nothing to write home about, but we ate out for dinners to explore the island and try different places. There isn't much to do in the evenings at the hotel so plan on venturing into town for clubs/casinos. There was plenty to do on the beach, though, as far as jetskiing and kayaking. I would highly recommend getting the seafront cottage- it costs a bit more but they are the only cottages with air conditioning and they have the best views. Call or email the hotel directly to book (their website said the rooms were sold out but they were able to accomodate us on short notice) and they also give you a free minibar, bottle of champagne and complimentary transportation to and from the airport.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel for free perks :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leasha85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We went here for our first trip without kids in 7 years. This place did not disappoint. No clocks, no TV, no internet or cell (without extra charge anyway - there IS access if you HAVE to have it). The individual cottages were remote and perfectly laid out so you felt like you were the only guest. The service was wonderful. Food ok, only 1 restaurant in the all-inclusive part - not the most gourmet, but we managed to gain weight!! :-) It may have been the yummy coconut drinks. The beach was totally private - exclusive to the resort. And the infinity pool felt like you were looking into heaven. The hotel is located on the west side of the island - which we didn't realize until we saw the most amazing sunsets every night. This is a couples place - not kids. Would totally recommend this to anyone who really wants to get away. Not recommended if you like nightlife or can't be without connection. I personally used this as an excuse to shut off. It was perfect!!

Room Tip: Seaview cottage - upgrade with private pool avail
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denvertravel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Cocobay Hotel was everything the brochure promised - but so much more. I honestly thought we'd died and gone to heaven! Upon arrival we were greet by the Manager, Oneil, and introduced to the staff. The ice-cold towel cooled us down and rum punch warmed us up. All the staff were friendly, efficient and happy - particular thanks to Oriel for the 'Crazy Jumby' cocktail . The grounds and gardens were beautifully kept, the restaurant was delightful and offered such a variety of food on the all-inclusive deal that we had no desire to try the al a carte or the Sheer (Gourmet) Restaurant below.
The beach was quiet and stunningly beautiful, littered with giant white conch shells. There were vendors but a polite 'no thank you' was all that was required. No kids - perfect!
The view from our sea-view cottage was out of this world and the hammock on the terrace just perfect - a great way to lounge and watch the Humming birds flit from flower to flower, to see the Magnificent Frigate Birds soaring high above and the Pelicans cruising below in search of their next meal.
Just a couple of teency-weensy things: Apart from the large 6ft bed, which was extremely comfortable, the furniture in the room was a little antiquated. The Bathroom was a little tired - but what a joy to be able to open up the doors and shower whilst looking at the view! The infinity swimming pool was lovely but in need of a paint - steps hard to see under water and perhaps need to be defined. Also, the decking surround the pool was raised in some spots.
We were there to laze and chill out but did take a morning to hire a taxi to get to English Harbour. Our huge thanks to Austin as this simple taxi ride turned into a guided, circular tour as he took us through the rainforest, up to Shirley hights and then onto English Harbour.
A truly lovely holiday - paradise found!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AilsaBraunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

stayed at coco bay march/april had a fantastic time hotel was everything we expected and more staff were great nothing was to much trouble and were very friendly the accomadation was as described very rustic but very comfortable everything was catered for and i think gave us a better carribean experience than a normal hotel room the all inclusive basis was great the food was lovely there was nothing we didnt like and every day the menu changed the beach was one of the best i have been on white sand turquoise sea very warm and sometimes felt as if we had exclusive rights to it as it was never overcrowded all in all i would thoroughly reccomend cocobay and would definitely return for another holiday

Room Tip: try the seaview cottage great views of the ocean
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank leon202011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

we have recently returned from a week at cocobay i cant begin to tell you what a fantastic time we had. When you walk up the stairs to the bar and look out over the infinity pool to the bay on either side the blue of the sky and the sea seems to stretch on for ever truly breathtaking, we have visited other islands in the caribbean and this is the best view by far. The staff are fantastic but special mention must go to Sonia who serves the best eggs with the biggest smile for breakfast every morning. We paid extra for a sea front cottage which was well worth the extra money you couldsit in the hammock and just stare out at the sea watch the humming birds flitting about or the pelicans skimming accross the sea real relaxation at its best. I thought twice about writing this review as i almost want to keepthis place a secret to ensure it remains unspoilt. Thank you to everyone at Cocobay for making our holiday one to remember.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank leahellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

This was the second time we've stayed at Cocobay. Obviously we loved it first time, or we wouldn't have gone back!!! We weren't at all disappointed with our second visit. We had a room upgrade and a bottle of wine waiting in our room as second time guests. The rooms are simple, but perfect - no TVs or fancy gadgets - great! The cottage locations are quiet and we experienced no disturbances whatsoever. Not good for you if you like nightlife - there is none. But this suits us perfectly, as does the fact that there are no children allowed.
Our room was kept immaculately clean during our stay. All the hotel staff are pleasant, cheerful and helpful.
Meals were fresh and delicious and there was plenty of it. Drinks also plentiful and varied. Infinity pool beautiful, and a peaceful beach. There are a few sellers on the beach from time to time, but a pleasant "no thank you" is enough. We love Cocobay, and hope to return someday in the not too distant future!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jakpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
9.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,829 reviews
1.7 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
444 reviews
0.6 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
978 reviews
4.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,290 reviews
7.7 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, West Indies, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing