We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, stunning beach and best location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Antigua
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Resort is not bad, a little tired looking. Staff is so helpful and friendly. Rooms are huge and spacious, clean and cozy. The bathrooms are updated and modern kitchen was not but still functional. Loved chilling on the giant balcony. The pool and beach are so fantastic! Two pools to pic from, large and clean with lots of chairs. The beach is so stunning, one of the best on the island. All sand, no reef amazing!!! The venders are all cool and will leave you be. Location is fantastic you have the marina within steps, some great restaurants and night life to pic from. It's not a fancy spot but very comfortable! Hot showers, great bathrooms and comfy beds with good service. I would never stay at jolly hotel but I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PickyPrincessC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 407 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

After reading the mixed reviews did not know what to expect. I stayed in the suite 219 which was excellent. It had a kitchen, living room. excellent bedroom and a large bath with shower no tub, The furniture was nice though the couch which opened to a double bed was a little too soft. Full fridge, tabletop gas stove, microwave, toaster oven all the utensils and pans and dishes for you already there. This place is more a condo than a hotel though you have full use of the Jollie Beach Hotel and Pool on the same property for no additional cost. The beaches are white sand and beautiful. Though the island itself has a lot of poverty, this is located in a very nice part of the island. There is a grocery very close as well as many places to eat and small shops. Portofinos restaurant is excellent and offers dinner specials every night. The staff were friendly at the hotel and very respectful. I enjoyed being able to cook my own breakfast and sometimes dinner which really helped control the cost. Since this is in a bit of a tourist area the restaurants catered to tourists and were a little higher price than the local establishments. There are also free laundry machines and driers on every floor. It is about a 30 minute drive to the airport and only 2 turns to drive it or there are buses and taxies to the hotel. I would highly recommend this place. It also has 24 hour security and officers patrolling the resort all the time. Felt very safe all the time.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room, they have outside terraces with chairs and tables with a roof so you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PATRICK D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This was our second time in Antigua, but our first in Tranquility. The place is great, service too. Beach one of the best one we have been. We will recommend this hotel for families and couples. You have restaurants close by and night live. We are planning in going every year, we bought a timeshare. Looking forward to our next stay at Tranquility and seeing the staff that gave us so good service. G & B

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gina426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This resort sits on Jolly Beach which is a lovely location in a quiet area but has beach amenities like a bar and restaurant that has good food and drinks. The pools are nice and the beach water is calm and sandy bottomed. Clear water but not snorkel quality. beautiful sunsets. The resort itself has many restaurants but due to the lack of people staying when we were there and the reduced tourism on the island...only one restaurant was open on a given night. And the restaurant was full so not all quests could eat there. The rooms were alright and very clean, but the furniture on the back deck was more comfortable than the living room furniture! You are forced to have a backache or sit outside all the time. the deck is spacious. the general upkeep of the grounds and flowers and paint need to be concentrated on more. It needs a bit of a facelift. It is very convenient to be in walking distance to jolly harbor marina where the day boat trips leave from. Stay here but be warned of the uncomfortable furniture and lack of help at the front desk. Also, this resort does not offer complimentary snorkel equipment and the buying it at the boat shop in jolly harbor will run you $110 us. there is no where that rents it.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the water...if not...you only see a large palm tree!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cindy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had read a scathing review from just before we arrived so were pleased to see none of it confirmed. The room was spacious, the shower a delight, the kitchen well equipped, service regular and competent. The deck had little view to speak of (2nd floor), but was large and comfortable. We had every lunch and breakfast there amidst friendly birds.

The beach was among the loveliest in the Caribbean -- lots of white sand, gentle surf and uncrowded. Yes, shade was taken early, but you could rent an umbrella from a local cheaply for the week. We actually always found shade and lounges, but often in the morning and then when we returned ca. 3.

Town is a 30 minute local bus trip away. Takes you to the market and the trip is local color. Local supermarket is well stocked and restaurants are expensive, but we did enjoy several. We will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dwalkowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

These units are immediately adjacent to Jolly Beach Resort; they are slightly behind the Jolly Beach resort such Jolly Beach units are immediately fbeachfront but Tranqulity are just behind them. Our unit was 2 bedroom with 2 bathrooms; furniture is living room a bit dated but no big deal. Balconies very large extending entire length of living area + 2 bedrooms...that's the good news. Because entry to these units is from side clsest to beach, that means balconies face inland rather than face the water. There's a few 3rd storey units with end/corner balconies that could provide ocean view. Staff were nice and responsive but we found that in other places (e.g restaurants) that there seems to be an onus on tourists to commence conversation (as someone mentioned somewhere) such that when we first arrived we didin't think this the most friendly island, but when we recalled "hint" of us having to initiate conversation, staff were friendly. Our best advice for those who are thrifty and/or like their beer/drinks is to take in 4-6 happy hour at CrowsNest which is immediately outside the resort gate by the tennis courts. $25 Carribean for 5 beers!!

Room Tip: There's a few 3rd storey units with end/corner balconies that could provide ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snorkelface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed at Tranquility Bay from 3/21-3/28/14 via a Interval International "getaway" and had a wonderful time. A 2 bedroom condo for the week was only $1000 which I thought was a good deal.
The location is great - pretty easy 30 minute ride from the airport and lots to do in the Jolly Harbour area where the resort is located. We used the condo kitchen mainly for breakfast and a few lunches but splurged on happy hours & dinners - lots of restaurants located close to the resort.
We rented a car which came in handy when exploring the island but if the left-side of the road driving is too much for you (thank goodness for my husband) then I would highly recommend renting a golf cart at the resort for the week. Everything is within walking distance but sometimes it is nice to have a vehicle to transport all the other "stuff" (beach necessities, groceries, etc) or if you are dressed up in heels.
We encountered friendly & helpful staff at the pool, beach, local stores and restaurants in Jolly Harbour as well as at the various locations around the island. One of the best things about this resort was the location which includes a beautiful beach with fabulous sunsets and a terrific beach bar & restaurant "Castaways" right next door with "jugs" of rum punch for $19!
The Tranquility Bay condos could definitely use some updating but...it was clean, spacious and a good deal for the price. :)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank SDVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
8.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,884 reviews
2.6 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Starfish Jolly Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,319 reviews
0.5 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
836 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Antigua

Address: Jolly Harbour, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range: $162 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tranquility Bay Antigua 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility Bay, is Antigua’s only all-suite resort. Located on a breathtaking, mile-long stretch of white sand beach on Antigua’s southwest coast, Tranquility Bay boasts spectacular sunsets, majestic views of Montserrat, Redonda and St. Kitts/Nevis. Spacious suites, large balconies and calm blue waters make Tranquility Bay a haven for those craving peaceful moments away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Create a vacation as relaxing or active as you wish. You’re just steps away from water sports, golfing, tennis, spa, fishing, dining, entertainment, kids club and more. And, we’re just 30 minutes away from the airport and capital of St. Johns. Experience Tranquility Bay and you will never vacation in an ordinary hotel room again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tranquility Bay Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Antigua Hotel Bolans
Tranquility Bay Antigua Bolans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing