We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tranquility Bay Antigua
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
COCOS Hotel Antigua(Jolly Harbour)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Ridge Resort(Jolly Harbour)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hermitage Bay(Saint Mary's)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Hills(Saint Mary's)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Galley Bay Resort & Spa(Five Islands Village)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveler rating
105
176
73
28
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
176
73
28
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roomwithin walking distancejolly harbourfull kitchenlaundry roombeautiful beachtime sharestove toplarge supermarketexploring the islandshirley heightsjolly divepatio doorslounge chairsst johnsunittimeshare
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
286 - 291 of 408 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I recently visited Antigua- July 28th to Aug 4th and were extremely disappointed with our accommodations at Tranquility Bay. Let me begin by saying we are NOT the type of people to write bad reviews. We have gone on several vacations and have never once written a bad review. We always check Trip Advisor and kind of ignore some of the bad reviews, thinking people are a bunch of complainers. Believe me read this review and take it to heart! Our vacation began with check-in, in a TRAILER. We asked the front desk what type of view we had and her response was, "well , we are really booked, so this room doesn't really have a view, but your building is close to the beach." We should've known from her tone we were in trouble. We received tacky glittery gold bracelets to wear at check in. When we opened the door to our room we were horrified. It was about 90 degrees in our room b/c the a/c unit was broken. The couches were old, dirty, and uncomfortable. There was no tub, only a shower which looked worse than a hospital shower. The bed was hard as a rock, and no dresser to put your clothes. The tv was so tiny and old- and I know what you are thinking, "why do you care about the tv, you are on vacation?"- well, yes I agree expect that it actually wound up raining for half our vacation and a nice tv would have been nice to have to pass some time. The "view" we had was of the security gate in the parking lot with overgrown weeds and wire fencing and an old concrete structure with a rusty ladder on it. We called the front desk and told them how disappointed we were and that we would like to switch rooms. Again, she told us they were at capacity. We actually called from our cell phones (b/c room phone wasn't working to make local calls) and racked up a phone bill trying to find some other resort on the island that we could switch to. We finally found another resort with an opening and checked out of Tranquility Bay immediately. We wound up staying at the all inclusive Verandah Resort and Spa and were extremely pleased with our room, view, the grounds, food, staff etc. We would highly recommend the Verandah- DO NOT STAY AT TRANQUILITY BAY!-

Room Tip: Room 106 was horrible!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Before the arrival:
We booked through interval international. We booked a two-bedroom timeshare. One week before our arrival interval started harassing us asking if we would consider downgrading to a one bedroom because they overbooked. We were refused, and Interval tried to placing us at other resorts on the island including the village of St. James and we declined.

We showed up half an hour early at tranquility Bay and our rooms were ready for us. We were given glittery gold bracelets to wear, room keys and two towels and shown to our rooms.

The two bedroom was large. Large master with king size bed and ensuite bathroom, second bedroom had 2 full size beds, utility room had washer/dryer and there was a second bathroom. There was a tv in the living room and in each bedroom. Two safes in the master bedroom.

The porch was the length of the apartment and you could open the bedroom windows onto the porch.

The unit has wifi, living room furniture was uncomfortable.

The beach was great, probably the best on the island.

We didn't eat at the restaurants in Jolly Harbour Marina but did enjoy dinner at Carmichaels across the street. We had overpriced drinks at SugarClub on a Saturday night while the Dj played.

There is a supermarket in the Marina and we did a bit of shopping to cook our own breakfast as food on the island is expensive.

I recommend OJ's and Shell's for a reasonable priced meal. The cheeseburger and bread pudding were good at Dennis,'

Nightlife is nonexistent on this island. The bands at Jolly Harbor were not specular.

Stay here for the beach.

The staff are nice and friendly and rooms
were cleaned daily

Stay in Sunset Delight to be close to the beach. Wadili and Captain ate close to the reception with better wifi reception and a little longer walk to the beach

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelingbarrister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our first-ever visit to Antigua and we stayed at Tranquility Bay in suite #113 in The Captain building. Ours is a self-catering style so the fully equipped kitchen was a good fit for us. I should mention also that complimentary laundry facilities were present in each building which enabled us to pack a little lighter. I think some of the larger suites actually have their own laundry facilities.

Two small maintenance issues upon arrival: We discovered the room safe inoperable and the toilet seat broken. We appreciated the maintenance department addressing both of these issues immediately.

The only real issue we had with Tranquility were the glittery ID wristbands they issue to guests. We have always been told to never wear anything sparkly while swimming in the ocean so those babies came off pretty quick. The wife was not wild about having a one-inch tan line around her wrist. We did get asked a few times about not wearing them so we always kept them with us (in our pockets or the beach bag). I understand the need for the whole wristband system, but I would recommend a different color or some other ID means. At least when you are on the beach, you can be identified by the resort towel you are using.

In planning our trip, we initially considered neighboring Jolly Beach Resort and even weighed its all-inclusive option. We are glad we did not. Our Tranquility accommodation gave us access to Jolly Beach Resort. We ventured down a few times and utilized a paddle boat, kayaks and the swimming pool. The pool was a nice diversion and everyone there appeared to be enjoying themselves (and drinking heavily, as per the all-inclusive style), but after seeing how busy and noisy the resort was compared to Tranquility, we did not at all regret our decision to stay a little further down the beach. This also confirmed our desire to never do all-inclusive. With all the restaurant options within walking distance around the harbor, all-inclusive made even less sense for us.

The proximity of the Epicurean supermarket, shopping center and restaurants there at Jolly Harbor was a tremendous convenience. Everything you need is within walking distance. If you are going for a basic no-frills vacation, there is really no need to rent a car. Of course, many do elect to get out and explore the island. We typically do a bit more exploring when we are in the Caribbean, but we just couldn’t pull ourselves away from the beautiful beach at Tranquility.

We did breakfast in our suite each day before heading out to the beach. We typically eat only one meal out per day. We tried nearly all of the restaurants in the Jolly Harbor area and really had only one sub-par meal experience.

The beach at Tranquility was beautiful and we have been on some of the best in the Caribbean. The water color was an amazing turquoise color. Clarity, however, fluctuated. Some days you had about six feet of visibility; most days only a couple. There were more vendors on this stretch of beach than anywhere we’ve visited previously. It does get a little old but is by no means unbearable. We always ending up spending a few bucks with them. The beach jewelry lady, Angie Baby, was a sweetheart and Rocky’s unique tee shirt designs were unlike anything you will find in a shop.

We had several more stops on our Antigua itinerary but couldn’t imagine enjoying ourselves any more than we did where we were.

Room Tip: Everything is within walking distance here, but there are several buildings in the complex and some are closer wa to the beach than others. Keep in mind that if you request a building that is closer to the beach, it may put you a little farther from the Jolly Harbor area. Of couse, the resort offers golf cart rental as a way to get where you are going.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sun-N-Beach-Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We came across Tranquility Bay via Interval International for a spring break trip and so glad we did! We poured over all the reviews we could find on TB as we had never been to Antigua. We were used to a low-key, chillaxin' environment as we have a timeshare at the St. Kitts Marriott and visit every summer. Tranquility Bay offers excellent accommodations and superb customer service. It has only 4 buildings (3 floors each), so the staff knows you by name. We stayed in The Captain which backs up to trees and a distant view of the harbor. It was quiet and peaceful. We requested the room again when we returned this summer. Only thing we would recommend bringing - round coffee filters (they don't provide them). Also, keep in mind the rooms do not have a dishwasher or regular oven. They do have a toaster oven. None of those things mattered to us, but things we noticed since we are spoiled with them at home!
We loved the local beach shacks, restaurants and overall culture of the people. Our 2nd trip we ventured out and did the Wadadli Cat snorkeling trip - highly recommend it (wrote a review about that as well). We were able to see several beaches and lodging locations along the western side of the island. This further confirmed that we chose the right location to stay in Antigua! Jolly Beach has one of the longest beaches (about a 2 beer walk). The beach at Sandals was very small and had other rental places that share the beach (very crowded even during "off season"). Jolly Beach has plenty of room to wander away from other people, yet has access to water toys and food/drinks if you want it. The grocery store is a short walk (about a beer away). You can rent a golf cart if you want, but we walked everywhere - even to the golf course with our clubs (20 min walk around the harbor at the most).
I must put in a plug for Bernice Marcus who is a massage therapist right on the beach. She has a small hut with lattice walls to let in the refreshing breeze while she gives you the massage of your life! She was better than any of the Massage Envy therapists I go to on a monthly basis! She only charges $40 USD for 1 hour. I got more than 1 massage each time I visited the island. Her hut is located on the south end of the beach near the other huts that sell souvenirs.
Also, since their "off season" is May-Oct, the beaches and restaurants are only half full, at best. I can't say enough about Tranquility Bay. We are looking forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: We loved The Captain building because it is quiet. There really aren't ocean view rooms at Tranquility Bay.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HeidiHoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My 11 year old daughter and I spent a week at Tranquillity Bay in April and so far my daughter thinks it has been her best vacation...no small feat since she is comparing to the likes of Costa Rica, Italy and the Grand Canyon. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable, gorgeous beach... and it was the best of both worlds with Jolly Harbor Beach Resort next door and the use of all their amenities, including being to by an all inclusive day pass or being able to take a different direction and exploring the island on your own (and not having to feel like you were paying for the all inclusive and not taking advantage of it). And I would like to give a HUGE shout out to Ray in water sports...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slam393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews