We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place of Phu Quoc”
Review of Cassia Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cassia Cottage
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2008

We spent some great time on Phu Quoc till I got Dengue fever. During that time we were in the Cassia Cottage. This little hotel - resort is situated about 10 km out of the main village of the island. The rooms are neat, clean and very comfortable. The hotel is not very big but has everything out need to spend a great time and just relax after a long journey through Vietnam. A private beach (the ocean was about 29°C), long chairs, a pool a.e. The hotel offers free Internet access and they rent motorbikes - if necessary with Jim the manager as a driving teacher for less experianced drivers.
Jim who runs the hotel is a great host and when I was ill and need to travel back to Ho Chi Minh City for proper treatment he really cared of us and did everything he could to help us. Thanks Jim you were just great!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lemongras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

855 - 861 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2008

Adding to the excellent reviews of Cassia Cottage is starting to seem almost redundant but since I can't think of much, if anything, negative to add I'll just have to join the pack and praise the place.

We booked directly with the property and from our first contact to the moment we left service was nothing short of excellent.

Cassia Cottage offers two types of accommodation, the larger and sea facing bungalows with deep verandahs but no privacy from people passing and the simpler and smaller garden rooms with smaller verandahs but planted screening and hammocks. We stayed in a garden room and were more than happy with the simple furnishings and well appointed bathroom. Rooms were spotless.

The restaurant serves a good range of food at prices which are not too expensive for a resort and there's a good selection for breakfast.

Every member of staff from gardeners to management went out of their way to be pleasant, friendly and helpful.

The pool is clean and has enough loungers, the beach is a dream and the gardens lovely. A real bonus was the surprsingly well stocked library and and even a range of board games.

At first I thought the Phu Quoc habit of renting out motorbikes for four or eight hours was a bit of cheek and aimed at keeping you in the resort but after our first trip out we decided night driving was probably pushing it a bit. In any case a taxi is easily organised and there are plenty of Xe Om drivers around if you're looking for travel away from Cassia Cottage. (Ladies, you might want to pack a sports bra, the roads are pretty bumpy)

There are a good range of restaurants and other places within an easy stroll along the beach or on the road to town and a folder in the library gives reviews of the best of them.

A great place to stay, I'm already planning my next trip back.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

There are definitely better bargains on Phu Quoc than Cassia (we paid $85 per night), but we extended our stay from 4 to 6 days because we liked this resort so much. This is not a place to stay if you're looking for a five star, pampered experience. But if you have a sense of adventure and want a quiet place where you can just relax, this place is ideal. The staff are incredibly friendly and the rooms are spartan, but comfortable (all rooms have fridges, showers, etc.). The food at Cassia isn't the greatest, but breakfast is complimentary, other meals are cheap and there are a variety of other good restaurants just a short walk down the beach (we recommend Le Deauville).

Best thing we did was to rent scooters and tour the island. You can get set up for a half day rental for about $5. But I'd skip the squid fishing tour. We spoke to others who said it really wasn't worth it.

The beach is beautiful, but be aware that the fishing boats still throw some of their garbage overboard, so you may see the odd package floating in the water. But don't let that dissuade you, it's a lovely island.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rodger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

As promised here’s a few more thoughts on Cassia. First thing don’t rely on the web site…the place is a lot better. Have spoke to ‘Kiwi Jim’ the manager about this and he agrees. Talking of Jim, this guy is a real professional who will go out of his way to spend the time of day with you. He’s full of useful information and nothing is too much of a hassle. He has trained his staff to a high standard of service worthy of a five star hotel without the high price tag. Fortunately Cassia is nothing like an expensive five star establishment, with no over fancy foyers or ridiculously over priced mini bars. Instead you can luxuriate in the fact that with only 18 competitively priced rooms (that are all occupied at the time of writing) this place never feels busy and there seems like a one to one staff to guest ratio. Top points go for a lovely infinity pool, manicured gardens and well presented rooms. We are fortunate enough to be staying with another couple in the largest of the stunning two bedroom villas. There are two of these, complete with relaxing, well-furnished lounge, bar and cool terracotta flooring. Ask for Villa 3 that has expansive outside living areas with ocean views. There are different sized rooms in the main pool-fronting house and some nice garden rooms that are slightly cheaper.

Finally the beach outside Cassia is well kept and all the sun loungers are new and very comfortable. Nothing compares and this place deserves its current number one ranking on this site.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Trickey-Dickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

We came to cassia cottage through tripadvisor- and we were so lucky to get an garden view cottage altough we only reserved 2 days in advance. for our last night MAi didn`t have a room free for us, but she was so kind to organise a pavillion direktly on the beach at the neighbours. Cassia cottage offered us to use their infrastrukture for that time! we also rented a moto, which was perfekt to get around on the island. we really enjoyed the relaxed an very,very friendly athmosphere! Mai was helpfull in any case - she maneged everything perfektly!

Stayed: October 2008
Thank Bee80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2008

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank KerryandAndrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2008

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pbirkmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
14.3 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Ganh Dau
507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 50 in Duong Dong
685 reviews
1.1 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#2 of 118 in Phu Quoc Island
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
3.8 mi away
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
#4 of 118 in Phu Quoc Island
1,076 reviews
1 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#11 of 118 in Phu Quoc Island
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassia Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Cottage

Address: Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Cassia Cottage - The Spice House)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range: $81 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassia Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 comfy air conditioned rooms, many with internal connecting doors and all with verandas. Nestled in gardens of spices and flowers from our own collection. Infinity pool overlooking the sea, full Asian/Western breakfast and our special menu of fresh Vietnam-Mediterranean food. Evening films projected outdoors, daytime sun and beach. Tours of our own Spice Plantations for guests only, and all other services available, with Big Smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Cassia Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Cassia Cottage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing