We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful resort”
Review of Cassia Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cassia Cottage
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our room was quite big, clean and quite quiet, we had swimming pool views. The breakfast was great with some of choices: asian and western food. The staff were friendly and helpful (but not all, as i we met some staff who never smiled or greeted guests). The room rate was quite expensive compared to any resorts in Vietnam. As i did not find something boutique or exceptional.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gifts O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We are writing this review from our patio at cassia cottage. Pictures online really don't do it justice; having walked up and down the beach and peeked into several other properties, cassia cottage is by far the most beautiful and upscale. Grounds are immaculately groomed; rooms are well appointed with modern spa bathrooms. If one did not want to venture off the grounds, there is no need. Yet good food and fun are only steps away. Pool area is built to sit high enough to have a beautiful view of the sea. Prices are very reasonable by American standards. Taking advantage of the nicely stocked mini -bar doesn't feel like a scam, but instead a courtesy by the owners to make one's stay hassle-free.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank cynthia1828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

After two weeks of traveling around Vietnam in June 2014 we had 6 wonderful days at Cassia Cottage. We stayed in one of the Garden Cottages which are spacious enough for 2 people and very clean and comfortable. The rooms include a small terrace with seating opportunities, I especially liked the hammock.
For going swimming or just lounging around lazily you can choose one of the two swimming pools with sea view or the beach.
The Extras such as the welcome drink, cocktail happy hour and the fruit plate in the room on arrival are very corteous and make you feel welcome.

Even though the weather was not perfect (as we have expected as the rainy season already started) the amazing service and the gorgeous garden made completely up for that. The staff of Cassia is really, really nice and helpful. Whenever you have questions or need some recommendations about trips they devotes lots of time to their guests. They even spend half an hour convinced me to go scuba diving (Flipper Diving highly recommended) which was amazing. Thank you Jerome :-)

Of course Cassia Cottage wasn't the accommodation with the most favourable price on our Vietnam holidays but you can't compare Phu Quoc with Hoi An or Sa Pa or ... Phu Quoc is much more expensive and Cassia Cottage is completely worth it. Whenever I come back to Phu Quoc I will for sure stay at Cassia Cottage again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anke81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Cassia Cottage had a number of nice touches, particularly providing a free welcome cocktail party for guests on our first evening, and a free happy hour cocktail personally brought to you on the beach or by the pool each day. We also very much enjoyed the Spice Restaurant food and excellent friendly service provided by all the waiting staff. They were exceptional.

We were however disappointed as soon as we arrived with our accommodation. We were shown to our superior garden cottage which was a nice spacious cottage with a lovely small private garden, however there was a lot of loud banging and drilling from the adjoining property which we found unacceptable as we were expecting peace and quiet! We returned to reception immediately to ask about being moved, however the alternative offered was a smaller, darker cottage which was also near to a small building site on the Cassia property. The manager explained that unfortunately we had come in the low season and this was when maintenance work is carried out (not mentioned when we booked our peaceful beach haven!). We agreed to try the first cottage overnight however we were woken very early with loud vibrating drilling so we agreed to move and in fairness we did find the smaller cottage quieter as we were further away from all the building works. We then had to report the AC not cooling properly and it was noisy too however in the end we put up with it although I slept poorly because of it. Also oddly there was no space for chairs in the smaller cottage!
A very nice breakfast was served in a basic open sided restaurant which was only cooled by a few fans so it was very hot and sticky. A small construction site was next to the breakfast area so again there was some hammering going on during breakfast most mornings. We received confusing information over organising a taxi to take us to an alternative beach on the island, and even the new manager admitted to being confused by the receptionist's information. In the end we got charged for the half day south tour package although we didn't do the tour! We did not swim in the sea 2 days out of 5 because the sea was badly contaminated with general rubbish floating in it however Cassia staff did their best to clear the rubbish and keep their stretch of beach clean. The two swimming pools were very nice and always very clean so this was a good alternative for everyone.

Our overall stay was pleasant but comparing Cassia Cottage to all the other accommodation we stayed in during our Vietnam trip we felt Cassia was very overpriced for the facilities provided particularly as the cottages, and breakfast restaurant were dated and in need upgrading. The owners currently have plans to extend so hopefully they will advise guests in advance of expected construction noise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welltravelled92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome T, General Manager at Cassia Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear welltravelled92

First I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback that points out the strength that we have in Cassia cottage such as our staff attitude and our cocktail party's that concurred to the actual success of Cassia Cottage.
However I do understand that you weren't totally satisfied during your stay due to the noise firstly generated by our neighbors, by the problem with the Air Con then by the work that start far too early in front of the restaurant. I do apologize for that because our main goal as Hotelier is that your stay would be as relaxing and pleasant as you expect.
You have to know that we fixed since your last stay the Air Con and decay the beginning of the work that still need to be done to 10 AM in the morning. The low season is the only period that allows us to do improvements and modifications in order to better serve and accommodate our guests that expect every year better services and comfort.
I would be please to upgrade you to the upper room type the next time you would come to Cassia Cottage and enjoy our new facilities and service that we will have set up.
I am fully sure that then you will join our 90% guest that note us as 5 dot hotel on Tripadvisor.
I wish you a nice day and looking forward to welcome you at the soonest at Cassia Cottage

Very best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

One of the best holidays I've ever had. The property is amazing, rooms are clean, large and have air-conditioning. The breakfast served at the restaurant every morning is fabulous and we they have happy hour every day. Staff are absolutely fantastic! Very friendly and helpful - they even packed us a takeaway breakfast because we had an early morning flight back to Ho Chi Minh. Within walking distance of the town centre too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckerslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This place is just perfect. The resort is small and quite. The stuff is really friendly and makes sure that you are feeling good and that everything is fine.
The location is just great cause you can walk to town nearly all the way on the beach. The cottages are really nice, clean and quite..
We loved to stay at Cassia Cottage and would recommend it to everyone who is going there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Had a great vacation at Cassia. Nice room accommodation, great location, close to main town, adult and kids pool (top idea). Great service, excellent food and great wines albeit upmarket (quality) wines (but not overly expensive - which is great for a wine buff!!). Good advice from management and staff when wanting to do a day trip or excursion always looked after. Met the owner Mark and his QS (Ben) at a invitation cocktail party. New manger from France starting this week so fresh eyes overlooking an already well run practice. We were a family of 4 (1 x 9 and 1 x 6). They (kids) both thoroughly loved it. The Food menu is well balanced. Their website does not do the place justice. Fresh bottled water in the room every day (free). We were in BH 1. Best accommodation for a family in the house - 30 meters from the beach, 4 meters from the kids pool, 6 meters from the spa. Breakfast is good but could (and should) be much better. Note the less positive notes on breakfast should not put anyone off - it is GOOD its just we experienced some great breakfasts on our travels in VN and this place can offer more. Coffee is really good quality. 9 great days...

Room Tip: BH1 if you are a family. Do not compromise! The kids will love you for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
0.5 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 49 in Duong Dong
651 reviews
14.3 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Ganh Dau
492 reviews
1.1 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#2 of 117 in Phu Quoc Island
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
3.8 mi away
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
#6 of 117 in Phu Quoc Island
1,057 reviews
1 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#12 of 117 in Phu Quoc Island
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassia Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Cottage

Address: Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Cassia Cottage - The Spice House)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range: $83 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassia Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 comfy air conditioned rooms, many with internal connecting doors and all with verandas. Nestled in gardens of spices and flowers from our own collection. Infinity pool overlooking the sea, full Asian/Western breakfast and our special menu of fresh Vietnam-Mediterranean food. Evening films projected outdoors, daytime sun and beach. Tours of our own Spice Plantations for guests only, and all other services available, with Big Smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cassia Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Cassia Cottage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing