We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Genuinely amazing place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cassia Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cassia Cottage
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Genuinely amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

This is truly a paradise on earth. Fantastic rooms, the friendliest and most caring hotel staff I've met, fantastic restaurant on the beach and very nice garden to chill out in. We stayed at Cassia for a week and no other resort we've been to even comes close to this experience. If you're going to Phu Quoc, don't miss this gem!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    231
    49
    12
    5
See reviews for
238
569
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

My partner and I recently stayed (4) nights at Cassia Cottage.

This beautiful resort getaway exceeded all of our expectations. It was such a treat after a previous 3 day excursion through the Mekong Delta.

We've stayed at many similar B&B resorts around the world and Cassia makes the top 5:

- beautiful gardens and well maintained and clean property;
- exceptionally friendly and attentive staff (very accommodating to questions and needs);
- the manager and assistant manager truly care that each of their guests are comfortable and happy;
- food is great and very affordable considering it is a mini resort (the weekly BBQ is a must!);
- despite other reviews, we highly recommend the garden rooms (especially 4C) for couples without children because these rooms are more private and quiet.

Couple things to consider:

- the Cassia beach (which makes up a small portion of Long Beach on the west side of the island) is relatively clean and beautiful, but it is not the white sand and turquoise water beach if that's what you're looking for - visit Sao Beach on the SE of the island;
- Cassia is located on the west side of the island so there is no direct sun on the beach in the morning. The sun rises over Cassia in the afternoon, so you'll have full sun on the beach by 2p. Then of course the beautiful sunset in the evening.
- this is a family friendly B&B/resort, so expect some noise from children by the pool or on the beach;
- some reviews have described Cassia as "rustic". The well thought and detailed decor contributes to the rustic feel, but by no means is it truly rustic. The rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with the typical amenities you'd expect in a boutique resort. This is neither a complaint or complement, just something for travelers to keep in mind.

Lastly, as others have commented previously, Phu Quoc is a fast changing island. There is a lot of development underway - and one hopes the eco vibe of Cassia survives the boost in commercial tourism this island will soon encounter.

Room Tip: Garden rooms (although smaller than the others) offer more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmednagar, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

I just spent two weeks at Cassia Cottage and enjoyed it immensely. I sampled most of the items on the menu, I had many spa services, I spent quite a bit of time chatting with the staff, I borrowed books from the library, took meals on the beach and in the garden, swam daily in the sea and in the pool, made friends with other guests and did a one-day snorkeling excursion by bus around the island. I hiked much of the beach and took advantage of every amenity. I was traveling alone and celebrated my 65th birthday in grand style with a fancy birthday cake. I used the birthday as an excuse to be lazy and self-indulgent, and I can't think of a better location for this, and I am very widely traveled. Most of the guests are well-to-do European couples, but there are a few families with kids - I did not meet anyone else traveling alone. I was very well looked after by the staff who seemed to be constantly concerned with my well-being, but were never intrusive. I will be making it a habit to return to Cassia Cottage every year. Although some may find it more simple than sybaritic, it is just what I was hoping for, relaxing and sweet-smelling, small and uncomplicated, well-situated and totally pleasurable. My bed was just soft enough and I never saw a single mosquito.

Room Tip: I was in Room 8 which has a lovely private garden, veranda, hammock, frog pond, and even a bathtub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank _kathill777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

After spending 4 weeks touring Vietnam, we spent the last 5 days chilling out, at the Cassia Cottages on Phu Quoc Island, and this was a great location on the beach to finish our travels.
We had a double room, with 4 poster bed, on the front overlooking the beach, a great spot for sundowners.
All the staff were great, which helped to make a relaxing atmosphere, would like to say how good the under manager,Tom was, a very enthusiastic member of the team, who seemed to be involved in all the resort activities.
Breakfast was good, plentiful, nice to try all the exotic fruits, and the unusual fruit juices.

A very nice touch was the complimentary cocktail at 4.00pm, different every day, but always very welcome in the heat of the day.
The Wednesday Night Beach BBQ, is a must, what a great setting with a waves almost lapping up to our table, and great food.

Will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Vietnam

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1B, which is in the centre of a block of 5 cottages, great sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamv53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Cassia Cottage, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Hello, Graham 53. Thanks for the compliments. The fellow who just below here was in the same room as you, a week earlier…. and burdened by noisy children. Maybe we got an extra point from you due the Happy Hour drinks. As they say " A slightly Lit-up guest is a Happy Guest".
And yes, our staff is making the place tick. Of course.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for our final four nights after hectic 3 week trip. We were eagerly looking forward to our stay so we could chill out before heading home. Room was spacious with four poster bed. However, not the best that we had stayed in however. Breakfast was adequate with all the normal fayre on offer but the big bonus of course was enjoying this with a great beach view. The staff were all so friendly & helpful. They were top class, particularly the French/Vietnamese Manageress who warrants special mention.
The town where the resort is located seems to be exploding with new tourist developments. As regards eating out on an evening we ate each night in the hotel. This wasn't really down to the attraction of the menu but more to do with the calibre of other restaurants in the area. Just felt at Cassia it was a lot more westernised than what we had experienced elsewhere on our travels. The resort restaurant does have a high tripadvisor rating but I feel that you need to appreciate what it is competing against. Had a tendency to push you a little too much when it came to purchase of drinks during your meals.

Our stay was also blighted by the presence of two French families with 5 particularly loud young children. They appeared to be ever present in the pool area which was close to a number of the rooms. That in itself wasn't the issue it was the noise they made meaning it was impossible to sit out on the verandah & enjoy any piece & quiet. This continued unabated even after it got dark !!! The parents showed no regard for the other guests by allowing them to bawl & shout constantly. My patience was very much pushed to the limit & this isn't something you really want when you are meant to be on a relaxing holiday. They do have separate pools for adults & children but they are located virtually together, so be aware.

By no means the fault of the hotel but it certainly had an adverse impact on our stay, as I know it did for many other guests. Perhaps we were unlucky but coming to a resort where "peace & quiet" was expected this turned out to be a very disappointing experience. Unquestionably the resort has many "plus's" which need to be acknowledged but factoring in all aspects/features it wouldn't feature on our itinerary should we visit Vietnam again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Cassia Cottage, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hello, Tom. Your comments about the noisy children are appropriate as regards you and your partner- you had the room front-and-center on the pool, which most people like. We should have given you a garden cottage, surrounded by greenery, not children. The laughter of the children in the pool is music to parents, and I also see that is not what you were after.

We have to decide if we are a "silver resort" or for young families. At this season, most of our guests are grandparents, not just starting off.

I should apologize if our staff seemed to push drinks. They just don't want anyone to be thirsty. It's not policy, it's [ what we thought was ] good service.

if you do choose to return, please take a garden cottage, or ask us to toss the children in to the deep water adult pool. No problem!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Room was lovely, large and spotlessly clean. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. The property is absolutely gorgeous. This is not a "posh" resort, but it is charming and relaxed. The grounds include an abundance of fragrant trees (including cinammon and jasmine), so the air smells absolutely wonderful. Great care is taken to ensure the environment is protected-they do not spray and have an organic garden, providing some of the fare for the restaurant.
You feel safe, secure and so very well taken care of.
Foot wear is optional...never wear shoes during our entire stay.
Two pools, neither of them overly large, but big enough for a cool of dip. One pool is reserved for adults only.
After a month of travel, it was wonderful to settle in and relax. We enjoyed the peace and quiet, and did not leave the property for three days!
The staff all seem very content, and genuinely pleased to help, in any way they can. There is a tip box at the front desk, and the tips are shared by all the staff.
This is a jewel of a place.

Room Tip: We were three women travelling together. Room A1 had a double bed and a single bed. They brought in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ottawamomabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipton under Wychwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of March after a tour of Vietnam. The property as described is a peaceful and rustic beach side location with a variety of sized accommodation. If you are looking for something different than a large impersonal resort to chill at the end of your trip, then this could be what you are looking for. The staff are friendly and service is in the main excellent. The Hotel has two small pools (one adult only) with comfy loungers which doesn't get too busy due to the small number of guests. The private beach is nice and the sea is warm, don't be afraid to buy fresh fruit from the ladies walking along the beach, we did most days, cheap and fresh! One nice touch was the free cocktail every evening around 4.00pm before sunset.

The food was a bit of a mixed bag to be honest. Breakfast wasn't bad some interesting fresh juices and a decent omlette/pancake station. I think they would benefit from an increased selection of breads, pastries and healthy cereals, but I also realise that this might be restricted due to the location. We had lunch and dinner several times at the Hotel due to the convenience and us being lazy - well we were on holiday. The spring rolls and chicken salad were excellent but on another occasion we had a very salty inedible salad and very fatty pork ribs. I'm not sure if this was a different chef or just bad luck? The ice cream deserts are excellent even if a little pricey for Vietnam. The weekly evening BBQ buffet was also pretty good $20 for all you can eat with some nice fresh fish and a mixture of food from the menu, the desserts weren't the best though.

We tried a few places for food in Phu Quoc, you can walk to the night market(around 30 mins) which has a buzzing atmosphere with lots of stalls with plastic seating and more fresh seafood than you can shake a stick at. It's pretty good value, but it's a little hard to communicate exactly what you want. If you want something a bit more refined (and expensive) then the restaurant a Veranda just up the beach is good (see separate review) and there are various beach side eateries offering local and western food. We weren't absolutely blown away by the food on the Island perhaps our expectations were too high?

The rooms have a nice feel, nice toiletries, good shower, air con, the bed was hard but we like that anyway, nice outdoor area with loungers and hammock. Make sure you bring your mozzy protection, the beds have nets but I still got eaten one night. One nice addition might be to include robes? My wife had a treatment in the spa and said it was excellent and reasonably priced and a much more private surrounding than a treatment directly on the beach.

Overall this place is very good without being outstanding. We have stayed at some similar properties in both Bali and Thailand which are a little more refined and offer a bit more luxury. By the size of the brand new airport it would appear that Phu Quoc is set to be heavily commercialized over the coming years. That will no doubt change the feel of the place, but I would imagine it will also increase competition for Hotels and restaurants on the Island.

Room Tip: Room 8 is quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Odie1kenobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
14.5 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 44 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#8 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#1 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
1.0 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#10 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassia Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Cottage

Property: Cassia Cottage
Address: Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Cassia Cottage - The Spice House)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassia Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 comfy air conditioned rooms, many with internal connecting doors and all with verandas. Nestled in gardens of spices and flowers from our own collection. Infinity pool overlooking the sea, full Asian/Western breakfast and our special menu of fresh Vietnam-Mediterranean food. Evening films projected outdoors, daytime sun and beach. Tours of our own Spice Plantations for guests only, and all other services available, with Big Smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cassia Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Cassia Cottage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing