We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cassia is Beachin'”
Review of Cassia Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cassia Cottage
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cassia is Beachin'”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were traveling with 3 generations of our family. The concept of the beach house with 2 rooms is really brilliant. I will always be looking for this now. The kiddie pool and adult pool is also a fantastic idea. Thomas and Thanh Cho were so professional and truly pleasant. The kitchen was spot on, and the happy hour drinks was a really nice touch. The beach was impeccable. We have been to Phu Quoc before but this time we got really lucky with the beach being perfectly clear and calm. As I write this I am wishing we were there now. Phu Quoc recently opened a new airport and that is also picturesque.
Thanh, thank you for all your help with my baby. I was serious about my offer for you to come and stay with us in Singapore!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florezdesessions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    241
    51
    12
    5
See reviews for
243
592
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We are a family of six and stayed in September in one of the beach houses. Cassia Cottage is a lovely oasis with beautiful surroundings and lovely friendly staff. The beach house was very spacious, clean and very comfortable. When we arrived we were warmly greeted with refreshing drinks and helped to our beach house. The staff were fantastic with our children who are 15, 13 and two 8 year olds. The location of Cassia is a fairly easy walk into town and there were always plenty of taxis when the family were need of a ride. I can recommend Cassia Cottage and if we ever went back to Phu Quoc we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippi62013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed in the beach house with my parents and our 2 year old son. It was a beautiful space and the staff (esp. Thanh and Thomas) really went out of their way to make sure our stay was really enjoyable. The place was really well maintained and the beach was great for swimming; really idyllic. Menu was extensive and everything we tried was very good: 3.5-4 stars. My parents are vegetarian and the kitchen was very accommodating. Would definitely recommend a stay here and will be heading back next time I am in Phu Quoc.

Room Tip: The beach house is huge and really good for families traveling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discoking14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My family, including 2 year old daughter, stayed for 3 nights and 4 days at this wonderful resort. First night I had a major issue with the shower falling apart. Issue was fixed within 20 minutes of telling staff. I am a picky person about many things but would not hesitate to stay again. For USA travelers they have hired new managment personelle and have identified issues with language and cultural knowledge. They are trying very hard to move this hotel to the next level and for that they should be your next place to stay in Phu Quoc. Please let Thomas or Thanh know what you need and they will try their best to get it done. Looking forward to returning soon to Cassia.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here with our nine month old baby girl. Excellent service, staff attentive but not intrusive. Comfortable rooms, lovely grounds. Backs onto a great swimming beach. Kid friendly pool. Very important ly , the food is excellent. And it's not pretentious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mabel163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 8nights and loved it. The staff where really friendly and everything was relaxed and calm.

One of the new managers came for a drink with us and was very friendly. Making it feel like we where staying with friends or something.

The younger man who works there was especially helpful and tended to anything we needed.

Motorbike rental was a plus with the one we had being in good shape and well maintained.

All in all and great place to stay, with great company and idilic scenery. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Albiewelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This review is almost one year late. I stayed at Cassia in February 2013 and it was so wonderful here I am sitting at my desk in Vancouver BC, dreaming of Cassia Cottage and wishing I could be transported back there right this minute.

February is high season - Cassia Cottage was full but it never felt overcrowded. The pools were quiet (the adult-only pool is such a nice touch) and there were always lounges available on the beach. The beach!! So gorgeous and wonderful. The breakfasts were delicious (I was wide awake at 6 am every morning excited about breakfast). The rooms are comfortable and cozy and everything is very clean. The staff is superb. We only had dinner at the Spice House once as we walked to the night market for dinner the rest of the nights (we stayed 5 nights total). What we especially loved were the lunch specials - every day a different Vietnamese specialty for $5USD. Delicious!!!

I did not want to leave Cassia Cottage. We explored other high end hotels on the island but Cassia Cottage tops them all in my opinion. It has a homey feel, is not pretentious but offers luxury. Like I said, dreaming of my next visit....

I was travelling with my parents and they are going back in February 2014. Wish I could join them again!

I should mention we had the two bedroom villa looking out onto the adult-only pool. It was absolutely fantastic.

The reason I am marking three stars for value is because there is no question Cassia Cottage is a little pricey for Vietnam... However, I don't care, I will be back if I can.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
14.3 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 97 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 46 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#8 of 97 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#2 of 97 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
1.0 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#10 of 97 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassia Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Cottage

Property: Cassia Cottage
Address: Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Cassia Cottage - The Spice House)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassia Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 comfy air conditioned rooms, many with internal connecting doors and all with verandas. Nestled in gardens of spices and flowers from our own collection. Infinity pool overlooking the sea, full Asian/Western breakfast and our special menu of fresh Vietnam-Mediterranean food. Evening films projected outdoors, daytime sun and beach. Tours of our own Spice Plantations for guests only, and all other services available, with Big Smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cassia Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Cassia Cottage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing