We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming B&B!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cassia Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cassia Cottage
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Charming B&B!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2008

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at Cassia Cottage on Phu Quoc. We followed our gut instint and booked despite finding very little information on TA or other forums. There was something that appealed to us before even getting there and our expectations were exceeded!

We were met at the airport for transport pick-up by a driver from a neighboring resort. The van was a bit rickety but it got us where we wanted to go (no charge).

Cassia Cottage is by no means a 5 star resort - but it is a very charming bed and breakfast on the beach with lots of comforts. The staff are excellent and very friendly - cleanliness and customer service are great. We had a seafront room that was very spacious - a side cot was added for our young daughter. Large bathroom with open shower but the room is big enough that you dont feel like the bathroom is all wet after use.

CC is run by Jim from NZ along with his very lovely wife and 2 children. They embrace this place with passion and are doing a great job. The staff are all locals who have great attitudes and appear to be quite happy with their work environment.

There is a cute little bfst area with plenty of cereals, fruits, juice, coffee, tea etc. to choose from - and made to order pancakes and eggs.

The pool area is lovely and very clean - looking out over the ocean. You are steps away from a nice stretch of beach that was very clean. The restaurant - the Beach Bar - is on the beach. Small umbrella tables in a garden area for lunch and dinner served on the beach. Great staff and the food is fine but could be improved. We ate bfst (which is included) and lunch on site but chose to have dinner at one of the many other beach front restaurants available. (highly reccommend Le Deauville which is about a 7-10 min walk towards the right)

CC is small enough that you easily have the opportunity to get to know Jim and family (if you choose) and others that are staying there. On the other hand if you choose to keep to yourself we found that everyone respected your privacy.

We were sad to leave CC - especially as we were moving to another pre booked hotel on the island for a few more nights.
We highly recommend CC and would definately come back - our kind of place!

  • Liked — charming appeal, friendliness of manager and staff, beautiful beachfront
  • Disliked — restaurant food was just ok
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Stilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    240
    50
    12
    5
See reviews for
241
585
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2008

I stayed with a friend at the Cassia Cottage for 4 nights in March 2008. The room we stayed in was lovely, very well decorated and to an excellent standard. The food was good, the location excellent and the staff very friendly.

The Cottage had its own beach area with lounges etc and a good sized pool to relax in as well. The staff were always available to offer suggestions for day trips (I would recommend hiring a bike) or you could snorkel / dive etc.

If you are looking to relax on the island and want to stay in an excellent quality hotel but slightly smaller and more friendly than the big resorts I would recommend Cassia Cottage.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camboland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2008

After 2 nights in busy Saigon we travelled to Phu Quoc and stayed at Cassia Cotteges for 3 nights (wish we stayed at least another 2!!). It was a truly relaxing/friendly place to stay in a perfect location on Long Beach. The pool is nice and the rooms are clean and spacious. The gardens are lush and well kept. We can't review the lunch/dinner service as we chose to go elsewhere along the beach because the prices at Cassia were higher than most other places. Dont let that put you off staying at Cassia Cotteges as I dont think there would be a better place to stay along this stretch of beach. Try the cinnamon icecream!!

  • Liked — Relaxing atmoshere/cleanliness
  • Disliked — Food/drink prices
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ozmanmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2008

Our travel agent booked us at the Cassia for 3 nights at the beginning of March as an alternative to the Veranda. The grounds are really lovely and the beach is but steps away from the lodging. We were initially surprised by the basic accommodations (e.g. no television, no phone and no internet in rooms, no lobby or interior restaurant) but its simplicity is, in fact, its true charm. The rooms are clean and spacious (we had an ocean facing double room) with ceiling fans and A/C although the latter can be inefficient because of the vaulted ceilings during the heat of the day. However, one does not stay in the room for any time -- rather you relax at the beach or poolside which has views of the ocean. Lounge chairs with cushions and towels are provided both at beach side and at poolside and the pool and beach size are comparable to other hotels/BB's in the area. All the local staff are friendly and charming (English is not spoken much) and one really feels like a welcome and valued guest because of the graciousness of Mai (the assistant manager) and the staff.

The Cassia serves food right on the beach as well as at tables within the grounds facing the water or at poolside. Dining is a relaxed, friendly, lovely experience with good service, good food and good wine and beer. A basic buffet breakfast (eggs, cereal, fruit, bread) is included and served on an open patio near the reception area (which has one or two computers available to the guests).

All in all, a really nice place where the atmosphere is one of basic friendly and relaxed intimacy. We looked at other more 'sophisticated' accommodations along the same stretch of beach (which is very close to the town) and we would choose to stay at Cassia again (even over the Veranda).

JAS March 208

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2008

What a brilliant place to spend 6 days!!

Our children and us loved the the beach in front, the pool to the side and cafe right on the beach. Eating dinner while wriggling our toes through the cool sand was bliss.

We did not have to move far to swim, eat, drink and relax in the hammocks and lounges in the lush tropical gardens and by the pool and beach. The friendly Cassia Cottage team were extremeely supportive and accommadating of our needs, particularly with our children. And our rustic, high ceilinged villa completed our paradise experience.

We're definately going back!

  • Liked — tropical paradise
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kev_and_Mon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2008

Cassia Cottage - the perfect place in Phu Quoc! Beautiful resort with a wonderful garden and a nice pool with view garden and sea view.
The bungalows are cosy and very clean.

Additional to the wonderful resort you will find vietnamese hospitality exeeding your expectations. As an example:
We booked 6 nights but we arrived one day to late without recognizing and informing Cassia Cottage. Jim (Manager) and Mai (Account Manager) reserved our bungalow although and waited for us. The best: we paid only 5 nights!!! Thank you very much!

  • Liked — Beautiful garden, hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Eifelheizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2008

The CC is a nice place to stay, stuff is very friendly (special thanks to Mae and Jim) and the hotel area (and the beach) is cultivated and clean. You may read in the internet that the beach is not too big - but it is still enough and there are larger beachs next door! No problem.
The bungalows are clean and nice. Breakfast was ok, fresh fruits and eggs, an adequate supply of fresh, good coffee and tea. But it was 7 days pretty the same.
The beach "restaurant" was really good and there is friendly stuff around to help you with whatever you need (e.g. Canvas chairs, drinks, food or towles).
It takes about 15 minutes to walk into town but there is no need to go. If you like to go out for a meal, there are several terrific restaurants around
If we would go to Phu Quoc again, we would stay in the CC again.

  • Liked — Stuff, rooms, location
  • Disliked — if, then it would be the variation of the breakfast (but it was alwasy nice)
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Teloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
14.3 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 44 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#8 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#1 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
1.0 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Famiana Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
#10 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassia Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Cottage

Property: Cassia Cottage
Address: Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Cassia Cottage - The Spice House)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassia Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 comfy air conditioned rooms, many with internal connecting doors and all with verandas. Nestled in gardens of spices and flowers from our own collection. Infinity pool overlooking the sea, full Asian/Western breakfast and our special menu of fresh Vietnam-Mediterranean food. Evening films projected outdoors, daytime sun and beach. Tours of our own Spice Plantations for guests only, and all other services available, with Big Smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cassia Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Cassia Cottage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing