We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cassia Cottage
Nearby Hotels
$276
$216
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Daisy Resort(Duong Dong)
$75
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$112
$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phu Van Resort(Duong Dong)
$52
$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A74 Hotel(Duong Dong)(Great Value!)
$16
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,223)
Filter reviews
1,223 results
Traveler rating
893
254
55
14
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
893
254
55
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspice housebeach housephu quocfree cocktailmanager jimevery afternooninfinity poolthe cottagesoutdoor showeroverlooking the beachnight marketmosquito netgarden roomlong beachsea viewsao beachrelaxing holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
678 - 683 of 1,223 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We spent 3 nights here after 2 weeks travelling from North to South Vietnam and found it to be the relaxing paradise we had hoped for. The resort is small but nicely laid out so everyone has space, with 2 different pools or the beach to choose from aswell as the restaurant which is nicely spaced out across the grounds. It was the staff that really made it special though after falling off our motorbike they were all so helpful and caring, rushing to help us and calling a great doctor to the resort within half an hour to stitch us up. Each day they checked how we were and made the stay so enjoyable even though we were feeling a bit sorry for ourselves!
My only slight negative would be the price but this did seem to be the going rate for peak season on Phu Quoc so if you want to stay on the island I'd totally recommend Cassia Cottage however compared to the Caribbean for example it is a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma_loves_holidays1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

My teenage son and I recently stayed in a Garden Bungalow for 3 nights. If you really want to "switch off" this is the place to do it. No TV. Just lazing by the pool, on the beach or in the gardens. The property is in a lovely setting. Two inviting pools overlooking the sea surrounded by lovely gardens.
Out of sheer laziness we ate each night in the Spice Restaurant and found the variety of menu items more than adequate. The food itself was well cooked and very nice.
10 minute walk into the Night Market or a v cheap taxi.
Loved the various options for dining - on the beach, in the garden, outside bungalows, etc.
I did think the price for the bungalow was a little high given the standard of accommodation. There is not much competition on Phu Quoc so I guess this comes into play.
Special mention to Thomas who was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We loved our stay at Cassia Cottage! We arrived on a warm Christmas Eve with a holiday dinner set up for hotel guests on the beach... A pretty awesome place to spend Christmas! The staff are absolutely lovely! The grounds are beautiful and immaculate. The beach is white, soft sand. The rooms are charming and comfortable. We did not want to leave! Highlights for us: Renting a scooter and scooting around island, hiking on one of the many island hiking trails, eating at the night market... fun and amazing food! This peaceful little island is a great place for couples and families...The only downside was that the visibility was poor during our dive trip... but was fun to swim in the Gulf of Thailand anyway! I recommend Cassia and Phu Quoc wholeheartedly!

Room Tip: Choose a cottage close to the beach if possible
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laketahoegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at Cassia last year jan 2011 and paid $130 for a garden cottage which was reasonable. It seemed that it was new as decor was fresh and bathroom fittings new. As we loved Phu Quoc and enjoyed our stay at Cassia, we decided to book again for between Christmas and New Year 2011/2012. We made a booking in June and were quite surprised that the rates had gone up to $170. We booked nevertheless and in September got an email saying that they had forgot to inform us that there was also a compulsory barbecue dinner on New Years Eve for $40 per head. This did irk a little. Whilst the grounds remain lovely and staff are friendly and helpful, we didn't feel that it was value for money this time around. We stayed in other hotels in our 3 weeks in Vietnam, paying roughly the same at each but the quality of decor, furnishings etc was superior at each of the others. Service was also very good wherever we stayed. The room we stayed in this time was a beach front room ($180) and the furnishings were basic and the bathroom very tired. I understand that some rooms have had bathrooms refurbished but ours was not one, so it is a bit pot luck if you get one. Loungers and umbrellas on the beach are also very worn - some umbrellas had holes in them. it felt like Cassia was resting on it's laurels somewhat as it remains popular and was charging a premium for what you get. i am not sure about the discount for returning guests that is referred to in earlier posts - we did not receive any discount. I think for what Cassia is now charging they need to do further upgrades of furnishings to justify the price. It has never pretended to be 5 star and thought that last year they had the value for money right. interestingly they had vacancy throughout the time we stayed between Christmas and New Year.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are still quite far from the sea and some have obstructed views due to trees in front. Also note that they are not that private as the pool, restaurant etc is directly in front, so if you wantprivacy you need to keep the blinds of your room down.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoshLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Cassia Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Hi, and thanks for your comments.
you came at our peak peak season, and our hotel is fully booked months in advance. We did have two cancellations due family emergencies [ and we are letting those guests use their 'nonrefundable' deposits for later stays. Those rooms were re-sold during the holidays and if we had a vacancy it was because we declined guests who wanted more than two-in-a-room. We also refuse stays under two nights to keep out nervous people, so we'll sacrifice a few dollars for peace around the swimming pool
I'm not sure how your return guest discount got lost when you reserved, but we'd happily give it to you twice over if you come back.
Our Christmas and New Years dinners are noted on our website. For a $40 charge, there's great food- see the reviews of our lamb and turkey- plus champagne. Every other hotel has one, and ours costs half of La Verandah or Chen Sea or Saigon Phu Quoc. They were preceded by cocktail receptions, and almost everyone told us it was great.
Our sun beds do need repair- see my comments to reviewer Ly Antho above. We bought new ones this year, but our guy who makes them was overwhelmed by work and did not finish on time.
The umbrellas DO have holes in them- We cut them like parachutes to stop them flying away and breaking the struts in the wind. We thought it was brilliant, sorry if we did not pull it off well. They are faded, too. They're cotton and we like it that way, like a good pair of Levis.
If you were disappointed in your return visit we apologize. if we can have you back agin, we'd try to make it up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at Cassia Cottage for 8 days with our two kids 7 and 9 during New Year. It was a perfect place to stay. Very nice rooms, exellent food and very kind and helpful personel. I recommend the small fish and their lovely ice cream.

Cassia Cottage is situated on the Long Beach with their own beach chairs. In walking distance to a lot of other places to eat as well.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knuteoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews